We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“FANTASTIC!”

Review of Chez Maison Bleue

Holiday cottage and bed and breakfast in the hills south of Carcassonne
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Holiday cottage and bed and breakfast in the hills south of Carcassonne
Well equipped kitchen (washing machine, proper chef's knives) & dining room Ground floor bedroom with WC and secret courtyard garden, perfect for a table for 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Holiday cottage and bed and breakfast in the hills south of Carcassonne
Well equipped kitchen (washing machine, proper chef's knives) & dining room
Ground floor bedroom with WC and secret courtyard garden, perfect for a table for 2
Spacious, comfy salon leading to roof terrace
Dine on your private roof terrace to the sound of cowbells
Chic leather sofa, books, games & DVDs
Ancient stone & beams & crisp white linens, the mix of old and new is delightful
A glass of bubbly and a long soak at the end of the day, views of the beautiful old church
Private & intimate at the top of the house
2nd floor twin room, perfect for children
Beautifully restored walls of our 18th century holiday cottage
Carcassonne, a World Heritage Site, an hour's drive
Medieval Mirepoix, the best market in the region,10mins drive or an easy cycle ride
Potter's fair, Mirepoix, August
Sandy beaches & turquoise blue waters of Lac Montbel, 5km, the 'wild' swimming is a tr
Fete des Roses, Camon, May, 5km
Cyclist friendly accommodation, hire bikes locally, delivered to your door from 15 euros per day
Surrounded by wild,flower meadows and fields of sunflowers
Cycle Languedoc and explore vineyards, Cathar chateaux and ancient towns & villages
Puivert chateau, 11km, barbeque by the lake and shop at the night markets, July, August
Deep in Cathar country, Chateau de Peyrepertuse, 40km
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Chalabre, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Margaret...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“FANTASTIC!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just had a truly wonderful 12 night stay at Chez Maison Bleue. Carolyn and Nick's hospitality was second to none. We were absolutely spoiled rotten during our stay. We have never ever been so well looked after in our 40 years of travelling. The accommodation, the ambience and the location was superb. Nick's cooking was to die for! Nick said to us one evening that they would like to think that their visitors arrived as 'guests' and left as 'friends', well, all I can say is that they must have 'bucket-loads' of friends'!

Go on, give Chez Maison Bleue a try, you will NOT be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
keshyy
England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven!”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

If it's peace and tranquility you're after, Chez Maison Bleue doesn't disappoint. But it doesn't stop there. From the peaceful rolling hills south of Carcasonne, to the warm and welcoming smiles of the owners Carolyn and Nick, its everything you ever wanted as a home from home. Chez Maison Bleue is situated in the prettiest town square I've ever seen and is like something off a movie set. Very safe for young kids to play as there's only one entry and exit and cars rarely come into it anyway. If you like rustic charm, old furniture, wooden beams but all set out tastefully in a clean and relaxed environment, then this is the place for you. As if that wasn't enough, Nick is a a Cordon Bleue chef and his simple and tasty meals utilise fresh produce from his own allotment - Magnifique! Breakfast on the square or on the verandah at the back looking up at the hills is a treat.

I stayed with my family (two teenage boys) and I think the place is suitable for families, bikers, cyclists and walkers alike. Not only do I recommend this place enthusiastically, I'll probably see you there next time.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bethgill
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a find!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We were in the area for a wedding and Chez Maison Bleue turned out to be an unexpected highlight. Nick's cooking was the best we have had in France for a long time and he's an Englishman! Helped of course by eggs from his own hens, fruit picked straight from the trees and veg from his potager. For our second dinner Nick asked us what we would like and then surprised us by using his Cordon Bleu skills to add a special twist to the food. Wish we had been staying longer - Carolyn and Nick made us feel so welcome.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Denise, very glad you enjoyed your stay in our rambling old house on our pretty little square. Hope to see you again soon, Carolyn & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MT333
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Quiet, relaxing and very pretty”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

The room at Chez Maison Bleue was one of the loveliest I've ever stayed in - airy, simple wood furniture, lovely big windows looking over the perfect little square, comfortable bed, lovely linen etc. Everything was spotless and crisp. The house was homey and it would have been lovely to spend more time in the lounge or on the terrace. Carolyn and Nick were very accomodating and friendly and prepared good food at good value. I hope to be back to spend more time at the house and explore the area more.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
So glad you enjoyed your stay at our French country home, hope to see you again soon for drinks on the square and breakfast on the terrace, Carolyn & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill D
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent experience in all areas”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Stayed 15th to 17th June on a solo cycling holiday from my 2nd home in Mougins France. The facility well maintained & renovated to good standard. The food 1st class & service & most important the hospitality 1st class delivered both by the hosts Nic & Carolyn. Would certainly stay again & will hopefully return with my partner & 2 children. The area being 300 mtrs above sea level delivers an ideal temperature of 25/28c during my stay & cooling to 20c in the evenings.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hospitality of Nic & Carolyn
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
It was great to see someone cycling from the door along the quiet roads and tracks that lead from the village. One of the best ways to explore the area, and routes to suit all abilities. See you again soon for more adventures, Carolyn & Nick
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catharine...
Leyburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We're going again”
Reviewed 3 February 2014 for a stay in September 2013

We have just booked our third stay at Chez Maison Bleue after visiting twice in 2013(June and September). The house is perfect, beautifully restored,well equipped, tastefully furnished and very comfortable with toiletries and other goodies provided by Carolyn and Nick. They are a great couple, thoughtful and very helpful. Nick cooks delicious food which you can book in the B&B. (We've stayed in there too and had a fabulous room). The local area is full of interest with lots to do and all of it set in the amazing scenery and stunning countryside. Fabulous markets, wonderful ancient castles and churches, fascinating museums, excellent restaurants, irresistible patisseries, walking (gentle or strenuous), swimming, eggs from Carolyn's chickens, apple juice from the farm next door, concerts with local music, the ancient Cite of Carcassonne, the gentle sound of cow bells on the hillside behind the house, the peaceful square where we sat outside savouring the local Blanquette and Cremant de Limoux (sparkly) in the warm evening sunshine. On our first visit we took our daughter and 4 year old grandson and Carolyn provided some toys and a scooter which was a great hit. The roads are quiet and driving easy and spectacular if you go up into the mountains. I could go on but I guess the only way is to experience it for yourself. Thats why we're gong back again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$142
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing