We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Floure
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed at the Chateau de Floure for six nights, while we visited several castles in the Cathare region. It was very well situated, being within a short distance of Carcassonne and the canal du Midi, as well as the chateaux of Peyrepertuse, Queribus, Montsegur, and the chateau at the medieval town of Foix in the Pyrenees.

The Chateau de Floure is in a most attractive setting, with a lovely formal parterre garden of low box hedges and fruit trees.

The accommodation includes a large bar with conservatory and French windows onto a small garden. There is a large salon, which serves as a lounge, with another large room off which includes a grand piano. On the first floor of the main chateau there is a grand formal salon which is decorated with ancient tapestries.

There is a large terrace which is used for breakfasts in warm weather, and for pre-prandials. The breakfast room is reached across the terrace - from our ground floor room - or via staircases from the main building.

There is a secure car park, with a code operated electric gate at the end of the garden.

We had chosen a ground floor room with private terrace, which suited us very well. We had French windows opening onto the main courtyard on one side of the room, and double French windows onto our terrace which faced south east, only losing the sun at about 5.00 p.m. There were two sun lounges and two deck chairs. The room was a reasonable size with all the usual furnishings, TV, occasional chairs, table, desk, and air-conditioning. Wifi was reasonably consistent and certainly adequate for emailing etc.

Breakfasts were good, with plenty of choice, buffet-style, hot and cold, and coffee was freshly made by Nespresso and other individually operated coffee machines. Plenty of fresh fruit was available.

Service from the management at the hotel was first class. They were most attentive and helpful, making suggestions for visiting sites of interest, booking restaurants, and a cruise on the Canal du Midi, all of which were greatly appreciated.

We had opted for half-board during our stay as my husband wanted to enjoy wine with his meals without worrying about driving afterwards.

Chateau de Floure used to have its own restaurant, the highly regarded 'le Poet Disparu', within the main chateau building, but this closed some years ago. Guests on half board can now walk through the garden to a part of the chateau which has been leased out to another company, who operate a restaurant called la Brasserie d'Alaric.

This brasserie is very convenient if one is staying for just a couple of nights. It has a dining terrace which faces onto Mont Alaric. The menu is somewhat limited, but the staff were very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: We had room 30 which was sunny and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Makushla-O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    53
    22
    21
    10
See reviews for
32
119
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

This chateau is a magnificent place with a pool and tennis court. The reception staff were all, excellent BUT - that's where it finished. After breakfast there were no other staff around and It wasn't possible to get a coffee or any other sort of drink once breakfast has closed, and in four days there the bar was never open. When we asked we were told the reception staff covered the bar when needed ! The restaurant was not owned by the hotel and the food was simply not good enough leaving the only option of travelling every evening to neighbouring towns. Plus poor wifi.
Could be great - but staff needed - a hotel is about service - not just the building as magnificent as that was.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnPerryvintage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

We stumbled across this lovely place in the small town of Floure. Check-in was a pleasure and the girl at reception showed us our room and around the historical rooms. Room was very good with nice bed. Pleasant walk in the garden and relaxing mood in the bar with background piano music. Breakfast is more than adequate with some warm items like sausages and eggs (not always an option in European hotels).

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hein_Ria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

A magnificent hotel with beautiful suites and rooms, magnificent formal gardens, baronial lounges, Louis XVI sitting rooms and a lovely terrace bar. The restaurant "La Poète Disparu" is worth a visit itself for the excellent food and evening views of Mont Alaric.
The owners are warm and welcoming providing excellent service and personal attention. Well-regarded among the locals "in the know".

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2014

A short drive away from Carcassonne and an ideal base for exploring the wider region.
With friendly staff and outstanding service, this hotel is set in beautiful grounds which offer ample opportunity to relax and unwind. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped. Wifi reception can be slightly patchy in some rooms.
The restaurant which has received splendid reviews previously appears to have changed ownership and is no longer the draw it once was. There are plenty of fine dining opportunities, within a 20 minute driving range.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tsionthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2013

Delightfully situated close to Carcasonne and the Canal du Midi an idyllic retreat
Excellent service and wonderful food with pretty outside space and great spa
The building is charming and has wonderful gardens

Room Tip: Especially nice is the room in the tower
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steamside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We have been coming to this hotel now for several years and have fallen in love with it. We choose to stay in room 42 away from the main hotel only because the room is charming, quiet, has a lovely view of the Montagne d'Alaric and wonderful smells of the box hedging in the grounds when the windows are open.
Everything about this hotel is wonderful. M. and Mme. are the most congenial hosts and Karine in reception (who speaks very good English) is very welcoming and attentive. The food both at supper-time and at breakfast is of exceptional quality and the dining room is so very beautiful. Ask about the automated piano!
I'm sure this is a very good base for exploring Carcasonne and the Cathar country but when we get here and put the car into the secure car-park we just want to be calm and composed. What a wonderful place!

Room Tip: Try room 42. Ricketty staircase but beautifully quiet and everything you need
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank provence1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Floure
6.6 mi away
Hotel de la Cite Carcassonne - MGallery Collection
5.6 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
6.5 mi away
Hotel du Chateau
Hotel du Chateau
#4 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel le Donjon
5.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
7.8 mi away
Le Domaine d'Auriac
Le Domaine d'Auriac
#7 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure

Property: Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure
Address: 1 allee Gaston Bonheur, 11800 Floure, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Floure
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Floure
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure 4*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Since ancient times, the "Hôtellerie du Château de Floure" has been acknowledged for its tranquillity, its conviviality and its serenity. Let yourself fall under the spell of the discrete charm of this residence of Exception. The gardens have regained their splendour from yesteryear, the guest rooms have successfully maintained the warmth of this castle loaded with history, and the fare blends freedom and gastronomy in tribute of the "Dead Poet". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotellerie du Chateau de Floure reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotellerie Du Chateau De Floure Hotel Floure
Chateau De Floure Carcassonne
Chateau De Floure Hotel Carcassonne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing