We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place”
Review of Domaine de Fraisse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domaine de Fraisse
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuc
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a great place”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

This place is great, staff where always happy to help, my nice even went ridding on two occasions.

What can I say, if you want a great location that is French to the core, then you MUST stay here, thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kabarthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    15
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
26
15
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,308 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 647 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2010

Stayed at Domaine de Fraisse for 2 nights as part of 2 week Spanish / Fench road trip with kids

Booked entirely on spec and purely because of its location in relation to Carcasonne and the famous Castle

The hotel is, in fact, a farm / stables located in stunning rolling vin yards outside Leuc - SatNav is handy!! - and comprises a number of simple buildings, with rooms and apartments

We paid about 400 euros for 2 nights half board and got a 2 storey, 2 bed apartment

The accommodation is basic but clean - the bathroom fittings looked quite new

Its funny because if you turned up at a place costing the best part of 200 pounds per night in the UK where the decor was so basic and no 2 pieces of furniture didnt match, you would run a mile - here it simply seemed to work

Dining is a fixed menu, 4 course affair, and was pretty good - be careful with kids though, our meals included a rabbit liver entree one night and a roast rabbit and mustard sauce main course on the other - which was nice, but is perhaps an acquired taste

Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay

I would agree with one reviewer who commented that you had to find out things for yourself - I didnt find out about the honour bar till we were leaving, I really fancied a late night beer the evening before too!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MJH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2009

Stayed here for three nights as part of a week's holiday in the area. We booked a triple room the week beforehand. When we arrived it turned out we had a suite to ourselves, with two triple bedrooms, a hall, a bathroom and our own table and chairs on the wooden deck in front (though the deck was also the through route to other rooms). The deck in turn overlooks a small courtyard; the facing building contains a games room with a pool table and a few other diversions. It also has an honesty bar - you take what you want from the fridge, make a note, and they'll charge you at the end of the stay. The location, a secluded spot in the hills, is idyllic.

We booked half-board. Dinner was served on the terrace, and in true French style it occupied most of the evening. Cooking is traditional French: a set menu of a starter followed by a meat course then a selection of tiny cheeses (the goat's cheese with honey on top was curious but pleasant) and finally a dessert. Lots of local produce is involved. The house wine is produced just down the road and is quite good.

Breakfast is self-service, standard French fare (croissants, bread, jams, yogurt etc.) but don't leave it too late to turn up as things do start to run out after 9am.

The staff are generally helpful and friendly, though you may need to prompt them to explain where things are.

The Domaine's main selling point seems to be its riding stables, which might explain the high proportion of girls and their mothers staying there when we visited!

They also claim to offer bike hire, which works on the same basis as the drinks: you go to the dark, cobwebbed barn containing an array of aged bikes, pick one out for yourself and make a note on your honesty bar sheet. As a cyclist, though, I have to say that the state of the bikes was appalling. I've seen a more roadworthy selection at my local council tip. They should either look after the bikes properly or not offer them at all.

The rooms are beautifully decorated but lacking air-conditioning, which makes them very hot on summer nights even if you've kept the shutters closed all day. We left the windows open at night for the breeze and had a nasty shock when an intruder started rustling around the room at 3am one night. Fortunately it turned out to be one of the resident cats!

The owners will provide you with a map for a "twenty minute walk" (ahem, half hour) to a lovely spot by the river where you can go bathing, and we occupied a pleasant afternoon with this.

The tourist honeypot of Carcassonne is less than half an hour's drive away, but frankly, after a couple of hours there you'll want to get back to the peace and serenity of the Domaine. Try taking a drive south to some of the interesting monasteries and villages to be found that way.

Overall, despite a few minor quibbles, it was a relaxing few days and we would happily have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KingAlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2009

This is an incredible place to stay with great scenery and a warm welcome from Marie Claire and Beat, the owners.

It is just a short drive from Carcassonne, but seems like it is in the real wilderness. It has miles of land and breathtaking views of the Pyrenees and is a great retreat after a hard days sightseeing - with a cosy restaurant and real log fire.

I haven't been on a horse-riding trek, but even though I've never riden a horse before I'd love to return to do one one day because the countryside around is incredible and everyone seems to have an incredible time.

If you want a holiday experience with a difference - and a real welcome - I would heartily recommend the Domaine de Fraisse.

  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BritishBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leuc
5.4 mi away
Mercure Carcassonne La Cite Hotel
3.4 mi away
Chateau de Palaja
Chateau de Palaja
#1 of 1 in Palaja
5.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
13.7 mi away
Chateau des Ducs de Joyeuse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Chateau de Cavanac
Chateau de Cavanac
#1 of 1 in Cavanac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
Hotel La Bastide Saint Martin
#1 of 39 in Carcassonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
8.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Moderne et Pigeon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Fraisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Fraisse

Property: Domaine de Fraisse
Address: le Fraisse | 14 km de Carcassonne, 11250 Leuc, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Leuc
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Leuc
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A confortable and relaxing stay and 250 acres of liberty - only 8 miles away of the world renowned "Cité de Carcassonne"!The estate's three hundred year old country mansion guarantees a most comfortable and relaxing stay. Sit in the shade, under the mulberry trees in the well-tended flower gardens and enjoy the convivial, charming atmosphere of the Domaine.Superb rustic dining room with fire place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your Domaine de Fraisse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing