We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Urban Villa
Nearby Hotels
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$59
Booking.com
View Deal
Refugio de Juanar(Ojen)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$244
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$183
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Claude Marbella(Marbella)
US$290
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Villa Marbella(Marbella)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Don Alfredo(Marbella)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Hotel-Apartamentos Puerta de Aduares(Marbella)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Central(Marbella)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
110
20
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
110
20
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsking suiteother guestsromance suitethe ownerboutique hotelstunning viewshidden gembeautiful roomlarge balconydelicious foodstayed for nightsicing on the cakeromantic placecookiesa wonderful stayhonesty barafrica
Filter
Updating list...
62 - 67 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The awe inspiring location of this small hotel is only one of the amazing experiences of staying there.
The accommodation is unique and excelled all expectations. The ambiance, food, service and facilities were excellent.
I have stayed in many hotels and self catering villas in and around Marbella over the last 20+ years and have never been more comfortable than my stay at the Urban Villa last week.
I will definitely be staying there the next time I visit Marbella.

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique .....follow the description on the web site.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Norma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheUV, Owner at The Urban Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 November 2012

Big thank you for your amazing review, it always makes us feel good when reading such great reviews. We are always so enthusiastic to ensure our guests have the best stay ever but after reading your review it just gives us an even bigger push and are even more enthusiastic & working even harder!
We agree with you & are so fortunate to have such a privilaged location with "awe inspiring views" above Marbella where you can see the coastline of Africa & Gibraltar. It is true, all the beds are definately so comfortable.
Shame you won't be able to stay over Christmas as we have all sorts of nice surprises installed & house decorated in the festive mood.
Enjoy the UK & have a great trip back to America.
See you both soon.....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

The Urban Villa truly is a little gem in the hills above Marbella - everything you could want from a small boutique establishment The Urban Villa offers complete relaxation(!), yet is still only a few minutes drive from Marbella Town. We arrived with the intention of staying 1 night ... 5 nights later we regretfully left!! Having finally risen from our magnificent 4 poster bed, most of our days were spent on the sunloungers on our private balcony! In the evenings we ventured to our favourite restaurants and also experienced 'Casanis' in the heart of Marbella Old Town (on recommendation from Linda, the owner of The Urban Villa) - similarly we cant recommend this restaurant strongly enough now!! One of the evenings we opted to stay 'in' and had a light dinner on our balcony with a drop of vino - dining in the outdoor air as the sun set, you can't beat it! We were then invited by Linda to join her for a g & t on the terrace off the main sitting room - a wonderful evening of stories & adventures & in such a picturesque setting! As a couple that like to literally put their feet up & switch off on holiday, The Urban Villa IS the spot in which to do so!! We can't recommend The Urban Villa strongly enough! Best of luck Linda in your new venture - the perfect host & as guests, assured a truly memorable stay! Looking forward to returning very soon! x

Room Tip: The King Suite - top floor of this beautiful traditional villa to yourselves with private balcony offering uninterrupted views of Gibraltar & North Africa
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chopper24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

The Urban Villa has amazing sights and we even managed to see the rock of Gibraltar so clearly due to the clear skies and the evenings were so special with the lights from over the sea in Morroco. Staying in the King Suite was so special and was such a great feeling just sunbathing on the private terrace, so picturesque with views of the cliff on one side & Marbella below. Breakfast was one of our favourite moment, chilling out on the terrace. Even though the villa is so peaceful it was only a short drive to places to eat and the host recommended some great places we would never have found alone. Luckily the owner emailed us a map to find the place as it is not on the beaten track. Overall a special place where we would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anton p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheUV, Owner at The Urban Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Thank you so much for your review, we always put in a lot of work to ensure that all guests have a wonderful stay as it is very important to us.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay & hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again to The Urban Villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We stayed in Deluxe Urban Suite for 10 days in 7-17th of August,2012. A perfect boutique hotel, with amazing views on mountains and sea and relaxed atmosphere all around the place.
BUT! Before booking we read a lot of positive reviews on hospitality of the owners, perfect service and home-alike attitude. Unfortunately, Michaela and Michael run out of the business just before our arrival, so Villa now has ner owners. Frankly speaking, we expected a little bit more hospitality:
1) The breakfast is awful, each day the same meal; moreover, each time we had to wait for it around 20 minutes (even if in the evening we asked to do it up to 9 a.m. we got it nearly at 9.30). As we had a car and planned a lot of trips all over Andalusia it was actually a problem. Moreover, we were always offered eggs just after we have finished the meal, not in the beginning - ???
Fresh juices were served only twice during the stay; other times we got juice out of the bottles.
2) In the middle of our stay some friends of Linda arrived in the middle of the night and became so noisy, that my father had to told them to keep silence (that was about 2 p.m.). It's not appropriate for such kind of Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redphoenix K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheUV, Owner at The Urban Villa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2012

Thank you for your feedback on The Urban Villa as we take all clients comments very seriously.
We are sorry that you were not satisfied with our breakfasts, but appreciate your input. We have taken your comments on board and recently sourced a varied range of local produce which is served fresh daily, and are able to provide breakfasts to suit all ages, diets and cultures. We can also provide, on request, a breakfast buffet at no extra charge, for clients needing an early start for flights or day trips. This can be served at any time during the night or early morning, and is already proving to be very popular.

The noise issue has been taken very seriously, the Urban Villa prides itself on providing a tranquil and relaxing atmosphere, for all its guests. It transpires that the problem you encountered during your stay was an isolated and unfortunate incident, and not something which will be tolerated in future, by the management or staff . Please accept our sincere apologies.

We endeavor to be flexible, open to new suggestions and amenable where possible adding special extra touches, as our goal is to ensure that all guests have the best stay possible in The Urban Villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stunning house, beautiful views, perfect location... we went home and re booked for later in the year immediately! Recommend that you have a car or taxi's back and forth could get expensive. The rooms are lovely and all with spectacular views. The King Suite...wow! Breakfast is spot on and the owners are on hand but never intrusive. A less than 10 min drive and you're in bustling central Marbella but its a lovely feeling to get back to the villa in the evening...so peaceful. Loved the sound of cockerels and birds in the morning and the views of Africa across the sea. The house has been decorated to such a high standard and feels so homely. I just can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: I wouldn't be disappointed with any of the rooms here
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews