We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So near and yet so far”
Review of The Urban Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Urban Villa
Ranked #1 of 3 Ojen B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So near and yet so far”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We thought that being outside Marbella would spare us from the nightmare that I got every time I thought of the costa del sol. Fortunately, we were right.
However, Urban Villa is something of a double edged sword. On the one one hand, the villa itself is fantastic. It's a modern build in the old style. Think plenty of wood and white walls. I believe the house was built to be two magnificent apartments but it is now one. We stayed at the top of the house in the King suite and it is magnificent up there. The bed is considerably wider than it is long, (go look at your bed to see how luxurious this must feel). There is a huge private balcony, a jacuzzi and the wet room in the bathroom is about as big as my whole bathroom at home. It is situated far enough from Marbella that the town is just part of the phenomenal view yet if you want to drive into town you are only a few minutes away.
Right, that's the good bit. Weirdly, we couldn't quite put our finger on what we didn't like but I've had a chance to think about it so here goes. It turns out that the person running the show has rented the villa and is running it as a business. As a result, there is a certain home from home feeling missing. It felt to us like we were staying in a business rather that being invited into someones home and I think for us that is the difference between a good B&B and a great one. I'm sure that if you bear this in mind you will not be disappointed but if you are looking for the personal touch and warmth of staying in someone's home then look at my review of Meerlust instead.

Room Tip: The king suite is very private, very huge and very luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChefSebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    19
    5
    1
    3
See reviews for
24
81
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Urban Villa was a wonderful place to stay in Marbella! The villa itself is beautiful, but the panoramic views of Marbella are the real treat. Linda was so nice and helpful and has great recommendations for restaurants, things to do, etc. Also, the breakfast spread was one of the highlights - delicious selection of charcuterie and cheese along with all kinds of breads, pastries, yogurts, cereals, juices, etc! Linda also has a very nice selection of local wines available, which we definitely took advantage of for relaxing on the terrace and enjoying the views.

I stayed in the "Relax" Suite with a friend, which was perfect because we each had our own bedroom. The room shares a very nice lounge/sitting area with one other suite, but it felt very private - we never even saw the inhabitants of the other room while we were there. The room also opens up to a gorgeous terrace with some lounge chairs and an unbelievable view (also shared with the other suite).

Only about 15 minutes to get to Old Marbella and the beach. We took taxis, which were never difficult to get, but having a car might be easier. Would definitely stay here again... definitely a great way to experience Marbella!

Room Tip: the relax suite has two bedrooms and shared access to a large terrace with unbelievable views
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Becca_G813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Had a great time at the urban villa!
Beautiful location, beautiful bulding, our room (King suite) was a dream - furnished with attention to detail, very comfortable sunbeds on the terrace, beautiful grounds, beautiful view, very clean. Quit on the hill but only 15 minutes to Marbella. Thank you Linda!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Urban Villa is a great place with greats views en great service.
Our room was very basic, but for us it was fine. The minute we stepped out for breakfast, someone came in and cleaned our room. Loved it.
Breakfast was great, always fresh orangejuice and croissants.
The view was great!
Staff friendly and always ready to help.
Loved the dog roaming around and being cheecky.
Close to Marbella and supermarket and everything else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marije1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I stayed here in Nov 2013. We were traveling from Sevilla by car and planned to stay only 2 nights. After staying 2 nights we decided to do 1 more night. Really enjoyed the peacefulness, the accommodations, the view, and the staff. We happened to be here over Thanksgiving and we had a nice "Spanish/Thanksgiving" Meal with everyone. Great location -- we actually drove to Tarifa one day and then Granada another day. It was a bit of a drive to those locations but it was nice to know we had a nice, comfortable place to come back to.
We went to the grocery store near by and bought wine, meat, cheeses, bread and other snacks and ended up just eating dinner on the porch. Really relaxing and what we needed after spending the previous weekend touring Barcelona.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Kings Suite 1 night and one of the basic suites the other 2 nights. Both were great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coreye30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawkinge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
427 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,274 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a hectic stay on the Costa del Sol and it offered us just the peace and relaxation we were looking for. We stayed in the Eden Suite which was a lovely Mediterranean style room with a private balcony and views down to the sea plus a shared kitchen, and a sitting room and large terrace shared with one other suite. It felt like we were private guests in a multi million pound villa. Slightly off the beaten ttrack and yet only a 4 minute drive down to Marbella town centre and the La Canada mall. Secure parking. Beautiful gardens and a nice little pool which we didn't try. It was so comfortable - lovely couches with wraps and blankets. Huge comfortable beds. The breakfast was lavish, top quality and totally delicious. One of the best I have experienced in a long while. Linda the owner is very friendly and full of helpful information. I can only thoroughly recommend it and hope to return again soon.

Room Tip: They are all fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alliebdive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Most beautiful suite (Deluxe URBAN suite), with sauna (with sea view!), swimming pool at our door step, view over beautiful Marbella, the sea, the mountains and even Gibraltar and North-Africa. At the same time close to the beach (with promenade for extensive cycling and walking) as to the maintains and to many fantastic cities. All this with lovely weather conditions.
Last but not least, Linda and her team did all to provide us with fantastic service and personal care (with suggestions about things to see and do in the neighborhood, as well as a delicious chest nut dinner evening on the spot).

Room Tip: For sauna lovers, the Deluxe URBAN suite is highly recommended. Follow closely the owner's ins...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MagdalenaOVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ojen
2.1 mi away
La Villa Marbella
La Villa Marbella
#2 of 70 in Marbella
1,444 reviews
3.7 mi away
Ecohotel Puerto de Ojen
2.1 mi away
Hotel Claude Marbella
Hotel Claude Marbella
#1 of 70 in Marbella
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Marbella Heights Boutique Hotel
4.0 mi away
Puente Romano Beach Resort & Spa Marbella
2.9 mi away
Gran Melia Don Pepe
Gran Melia Don Pepe
#5 of 70 in Marbella
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Urban Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Urban Villa

Property: The Urban Villa
Address: Hacienda Los Canasteros 5 | Carretera de Ojen, 29610 Ojen, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Malaga > Costa del Sol > Ojen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ojen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Urban Villa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Urban Villa - Marbella's hidden secret!The Urban Villa is an abode recommended among friends... An idyllic Boutique Villa Hotel with four stunning suites above the city of Marbella. This luxury residence, or as it is called these days 'Boutique Casa' is a haven of peace and yet so close to the famous beaches, golf courses, exclusive Puerta Banus marina & the exciting Andalusian lifestyle only minutes away... Each suite is uniquely furnished with a great sense of creativity combining traditional style with an artistic modern twist, creating a cool contemporary chic atmosphere and magical ambiance. Each suit has individual special features, such as a large private Finnish sauna, Jacuzzi with amazing views, large old fireplace, huge panoramic terraces & even a romantic canopy bed under rustic old wood beams. This privileged private location with breathtaking views of the coastline, Africa and Gibraltar Rock, really make this bed and breakfast stand out from all others!Staying at The Urban Villa is as inspiring as it is comfortable! For those intrigued, we welcome you to come and discover this hidden oasis. The Urban Villa - Boutique Hotel - Marbella ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Urban Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing