We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Refugio de Juanar
Nearby Hotels
US$60
Agoda.com
View Deal
US$246
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Claude Marbella(Marbella)
US$306
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
La Villa Marbella(Marbella)(Great Value!)
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Don Alfredo(Marbella)(Great Value!)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
32
37
15
8
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
32
37
15
8
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunting lodgedelightful placelog firetucked awaypine forestsandwicheshamgamememoirswinterwalksbirdscoastkmterracemarbellacharm
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We found the hotel, almost by accident, a couple of months ago, stayed for lunch and decided that we'de like to go back and stay. It was a delight. It's wonderfully quiet (just the sound of the birds), super food - full menu or snacks, lovely little bar and very personal and attentive service. Just outside the hotel, a short walk away are two miradors where you can look right down the valleys as far as the sea, miles away. We wil definitely be back.

Room Tip: There are some special rooms e.g. where General de Gaulle stayed and they are really up-market but they are pricey. They do deals on many rooms (which are still just fine), so ask for the best price.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QSMPEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

What a place in which to go hide away! Knockout honeymoon or romantic getaway spot. Scary, beautiful 2 lane road from Marbella that winds around the mountains. Up, up, up until you see the clouds covering the seascape below. Then, after the turnoff, more miles through silent pine forests with sun-dappled branches. Twists, turns, until you finally reach your destination: the amazing Refugio de Juanar, once a hunting lodge getaway for royalty, now a small boutique hotel.

The hotel itself is serene, quiet, an oasis in the deep forest. There are actually signs around asking for quiet so whoever visits can experience the peace that silence and nature bring. The furnishings are rustic, not luxurious. The food in the restaurant is mildly good to excellent, depending on what you order. The waitstaff are very friendly and immensely accommodating. The Internet service is good--and free (something we had a hard time getting in Marbella!). There is a pool, but we could not imagine using it in October with the cool mountain air. The many walking/hiking trails around the small Refugio reach out and beg to be walked upon.
All in all, for a serene, peaceful escape into the cool mountains, the Refugio de Juanar is top notch.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bzv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We booked into this lovely hotel after having lunch in it earlier in the week.
The area is charming and was a very peaceful experience.
The staff were very helpful, and though they might "dissapear" now and then, i found it just added to the charm.
The restaurant was a m a z i n g they were very helpful with the menu and worked around our dislikes and ended up making a new meal just for us. Excellent service the waiters were very friendly.
The room (Bravo Suite) was fresh and fully equiped with a/c, TVs, chimney and big hidro-massage tub and very rurally furnished, everything just fit perfectly.

The pool area was beautiful and peaceful, the pool very clean considering all the insects and animals around the area.

After a peaceful night, we got served a huge breakfast and a smile from the staff on the outside terrace.

We were highly satisfied with everything. And we will definitely visit again for a winter weekend!

Room Tip: If you are going to reserve a Suite, call before hand to make a reservation. Eating is a must at this hotel, the food is excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RafaClayre R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

For nearly 30 years we have been regular vistors to this undiscovered gem set in the Sierra Blanca only 30 minutes from the centre of Marbella. This former regional parador is in the middle of a national park close to the start of excellent sign posted walks through the mountains. The restaurant serves regional specialities, game, beef, lamb and fish to a high standard of simple cooking with first-class ingredients. It has a superb wine list dating back to when the parador hosted a wine tasting club. The guests, frequently Spanish, add to an authentice feel. Incidentally it was where General de Gaulle stayed to write his memoirs. The rooms are simple but very acceptable, some with fireplaces. There is a wonderful swimming pool for lazy summer days.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

We have popped into the hotel for a coffee previously, a couple of years ago, and there was certainly a sense of history about the place, random ornaments in the main reception area gave a welcoming feeling.
We decided to book a night there to take advantage of the great walking/hiking nearby, and paid approx 60 euros which seemed fair given the location.
On arrival we had to wait 10 minutes for the "receptionist" to finish up serving lunch to guests and were given the keys to a first floor room with en suite. the first thing that struck us was how dated everything was, furniture, decor, bathroom, bedding, tv etc. We attempted to ring reception as we were unable to make external phone calls and the advertised wi fi had no service in the room. after 20 minutes of nobody picking up the phone i went downstairs (at 2pm on a saturday) and the receptionist had disappeared completely this time, not even in the kitchen, lounge etc. i later found out he had popped out somewhere.

we were offered a ground floor room overlooking the pool so took it, but quickly realised our mistake. the room was full of damp, and a night there would have been a health hazard so we decided enough was enough and would leave immediately. guess what? the receptionist had popped out again so we left keys on reception desk and departed.

We did not stay long enough to be able to comment on atmosphere, food etc. but i would guess that service would be impossibly slow given the staffing issues.

Overall, really disappointing as we love the area and would be great to know there was a nice room to stay in from time to time, but next time we go there, it will be to have a coffee and nothing else.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rnlg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews