We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel in Palma Del Rio (Cordoba)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Monasterio de San Francisco
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palma Del Rio
Reviewed 11 July 2012

An out of the way hotel, with very large rooms, big bathroom, big courtyards, large pool, and very good food. We were there in the second week of May 2012 with a Bike Tour Group, and the accommodations were terrific. Weather was in the high 90's so biking was a bit hard, but returning to this Hotel was like an Oasis. The breakfasts were very good and staff all spoke English.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

What a special thing to be able to stay in an old monastary. I loved the property and the town, which was celebrating a festival. The gardens were great! Food was good and it was a perfect base for biking (which brought us there). Only thing making it less than perfect - I didn't mind the somewhat dirty pool, but the chairs needed help! And our bed wasn't very comfortable. Also, despite the fun of the festival, it was really noisy all night long.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulandsarahthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just a random choice for a night's stay but wish we had stayed longer. We arrived relatively late but wandered around the property in the morning. A fascinating history with Columbus and Father Serra having stayed in the property. Of course, the rooms were somewhat smaller.

The property is a former monastery and some of the rooms are beautiful. The furniture is a mix of antique, antique parts made into furniture, and modern pieces but all designed to look appropriate. Our particular room was large with a sitting area a step below the sleeping area. The bath was somewhat cramped but again this is an old and remodeled building. As someone else pointed out the soaps, lotions, et al are L'Occitaine.

Dinner was very good with some local foods; one of our most authentic meals while in Spain since we had spent the first week at a Marriott resort.

The pool area was inviting but the weather was still a little chilly even in June. One criticism I have is that the paths from the building itself to the pool area are dirt paths through raised vegetable and flower beds. This leads almost invariably to muddy feet.

A church is actually attached to the building and there are various ceremonies and services which can be either disturbing (early morning church bells) or an added bonus (weddings, etc.)

Great location between Seville and Cordoba and with sites to visit in between.

Room Tip: Check them website to view some of the rooms and pick one you like. They are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Restored monestary with gardens and orange grove is tranquil and a unique opportunity to stay in a converted historic building. Church bells will wake you at 7am. Beautiful courtyards and loads of flowers adron the walls of this former monestary and hospital. Orange grove in the back is said to have the original orange trees from which all American trees are descended.Swimming pool in gardens---cold in October! Modern bathrooms and upgraded rooms. Each room is unique. Located within walking distance of restaurants and taverns.

Room Tip: You're probably going to hear the church bells at 7am no matter where you are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

What a lovely place, huge and rustic and rambling. Eclectic furniture, vege gardens, super lap pool, extremely clean. We ate diner and breakfast, both good. Very reasonably priced. Beds were super comfy with great linens, L'Occitaine bathroom goodies.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoleFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Lovely place to stay, old cells were changed into rooms but we can still feel the peace inside, the water falling in the fountains and in the pool. Good breakfast but dinner was expensive and not worthwhile even though the restaurant was awarded a prize. The swimming pool was amazing but a little bit dirty. A good place to stay between Sevilla and Cordoba. Make sure to visit the castle at Almodover del Rio on the way to Cordoba and Medina Al Zahara.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mtemaximo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

We stayed at the Monastery for one night. We drove there from Cordoba on our way to Seville. We drove there at night and had a difficult time finding it in the dark, but eventually stumbled onto the sleepy town of Palma Del Rio and found it. When we got there, the hotel staff said to us, "you know about the parade tonight?" We did not and it was already 11pm, so we were like "huh?" We settled into our room which was nice. The best part was the bathroom which felt as big if not bigger than our room, with marble, a nice two person shower and a separate bath. The room was ok, nothing special, the bed was comfortable and we had extra blankets at our request. At midnight, the town came alive with a parade that included 2 or 3 marching bands, fireworks, and church bells going till 2AM. The parade was for a religious ceremony and culminated at the church connected to the monastery. We found the whole thing fascinating and reveled in the culture and fun. Other patrons that were trying to get some sleep were not as pleased. The grounds are really beautiful and the reading rooms and chill out places in the monastery were pretty cool. We did not have the opportunity to try the restaurant, but looking at the menu it did not look like our cup of tea. All in all it was a nice stop and something a little different from the norm. My wife did say that while we were there she felt very paranoid about ghosts, but that is for you to decide. I did not see any myself.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kilosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma Del Rio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castillo
Hotel Castillo
#2 of 2 in Palma Del Rio
44 reviews
14.8 mi away
Infanta Leonor
Infanta Leonor
#1 of 3 in Ecija
201 reviews
12.3 mi away
Hotel Maria
Hotel Maria
#1 of 1 in Posadas
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
El Rincon de las Descalzas
18.5 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#1 of 2 in La Carlota
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hospederia Convento de Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monasterio de San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monasterio de San Francisco

Address: Avenida Pio XII 35, 14700 Palma Del Rio, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Palma Del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palma Del Rio
Price Range: £59 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Monasterio de San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Monasterio de San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio De San Francisco Hotel Palma Del Rio
Monasterio De San Francisco Palma Del Rio, Province Of Cordoba, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing