We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christopher Columbus stayed here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Monasterio de San Francisco
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palma Del Rio
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Christopher Columbus stayed here”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I loved this hotel. So did Christopher Columbus who stayed here when it was a monastery and he was friends with the Franciscan monks. It may be old but it doesn't feel dated. Our room was spacious and bright and overlooked the backgarden and pool. There was a great shower and separate big bathtub and two sinks in the bathroom.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    68
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
28
98
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

We chose the Monasterio because we just loved the look of the place. As it happened, it was at the halfway point in our trip and after spending several days exploring Granada and Cordoba we were ready for a day off. Let's get one thing clear straightaway, there's not much to see or do in Palma Del Rio but this was a perfect stopping off point on our trip from Cordoba to Seville. When we are arrived we were greeted by an English speaking receptionist who checked us in earlier than prescribed and showed us to our room. The place is larger than we expected but beautiful and on our way to our room we saw the gardens, courtyards and restaurant that we'd seen in the pictures and were not disappointed. Our room, on the first floor was large with a good sized bathroom containing bath and seperate shower cubicle. Both rooms have valuted ceilings so are cool and airy if a little dark. There is a walkway outside and hence a slight compromise (light versus privacy). During our stay we ate lunch, dinner and breakfast at the hotel and spent the afternoon by the pool. The food is excellent - lunch and dinner we could not praise highly enough and the dining hall is an equisite room in which to be served. We asked the waiter for a recommendation for wine with dinner and he actually recommended the cheapest on the list at around 11Euro's but it was superb and the 5 course tasting menu we had that evening was excellent value. Parking is available in the hotel for a fee but we parked outside on the street and felt perfectly confident in doing so. This place is a wonderful setting for weddings and such events and romantic breaks "getting away from it all"; you might tire of the area after a couple of days but the hotel was just the place for us. One thing to note, not a problem for us and it goes with the territory, is that the hallways are a bit echoey if people walk past or are chatting, but that's to do with the structure and was not an issue for us; afterall how often do you get to stay somewhere that's over 500 years old

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeilFoley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenbrae, California
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

An out of the way hotel, with very large rooms, big bathroom, big courtyards, large pool, and very good food. We were there in the second week of May 2012 with a Bike Tour Group, and the accommodations were terrific. Weather was in the high 90's so biking was a bit hard, but returning to this Hotel was like an Oasis. The breakfasts were very good and staff all spoke English.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

What a special thing to be able to stay in an old monastary. I loved the property and the town, which was celebrating a festival. The gardens were great! Food was good and it was a perfect base for biking (which brought us there). Only thing making it less than perfect - I didn't mind the somewhat dirty pool, but the chairs needed help! And our bed wasn't very comfortable. Also, despite the fun of the festival, it was really noisy all night long.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulandsarahthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level 6 Contributor
398 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Just a random choice for a night's stay but wish we had stayed longer. We arrived relatively late but wandered around the property in the morning. A fascinating history with Columbus and Father Serra having stayed in the property. Of course, the rooms were somewhat smaller.

The property is a former monastery and some of the rooms are beautiful. The furniture is a mix of antique, antique parts made into furniture, and modern pieces but all designed to look appropriate. Our particular room was large with a sitting area a step below the sleeping area. The bath was somewhat cramped but again this is an old and remodeled building. As someone else pointed out the soaps, lotions, et al are L'Occitaine.

Dinner was very good with some local foods; one of our most authentic meals while in Spain since we had spent the first week at a Marriott resort.

The pool area was inviting but the weather was still a little chilly even in June. One criticism I have is that the paths from the building itself to the pool area are dirt paths through raised vegetable and flower beds. This leads almost invariably to muddy feet.

A church is actually attached to the building and there are various ceremonies and services which can be either disturbing (early morning church bells) or an added bonus (weddings, etc.)

Great location between Seville and Cordoba and with sites to visit in between.

Room Tip: Check them website to view some of the rooms and pick one you like. They are all different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
850 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2011

Restored monestary with gardens and orange grove is tranquil and a unique opportunity to stay in a converted historic building. Church bells will wake you at 7am. Beautiful courtyards and loads of flowers adron the walls of this former monestary and hospital. Orange grove in the back is said to have the original orange trees from which all American trees are descended.Swimming pool in gardens---cold in October! Modern bathrooms and upgraded rooms. Each room is unique. Located within walking distance of restaurants and taverns.

Room Tip: You're probably going to hear the church bells at 7am no matter where you are!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2011

What a lovely place, huge and rustic and rambling. Eclectic furniture, vege gardens, super lap pool, extremely clean. We ate diner and breakfast, both good. Very reasonably priced. Beds were super comfy with great linens, L'Occitaine bathroom goodies.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Palma Del Rio
0.2 mi away
Hotel Castillo
Hotel Castillo
#2 of 2 in Palma Del Rio
43 reviews
14.8 mi away
Infanta Leonor
Infanta Leonor
#1 of 3 in Ecija
191 reviews
24.7 mi away
Parador de Carmona
Parador de Carmona
#1 of 7 in Carmona
1,093 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Maria
Hotel Maria
#1 of 1 in Posadas
35 reviews
18.6 mi away
Hotel Carmen
Hotel Carmen
#1 of 2 in La Carlota
44 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hospederia Convento de Santa Clara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Monasterio de San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monasterio de San Francisco

Property: Monasterio de San Francisco
Address: Avenida Pio XII 35, 14700 Palma Del Rio, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Palma Del Rio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Palma Del Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Monasterio de San Francisco 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Monasterio de San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monasterio De San Francisco Hotel Palma Del Rio
Monasterio De San Francisco Palma Del Rio, Province Of Cordoba, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing