We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good Hotel”
Review of Hotel Macia Donana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Macia Donana
Granada, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very good Hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A really nice 4 star hotel in a good position for the beach and promenade. The hotel is very clean and is decorated in a simple classic way. The rooms are also decorated with a modern touch and are simple but generous in proportion. It looks like rooms on the first floor overlooking the pool and terraces have a large terrace and not a balcony. Other rooms have a balcony either looking over the pool or the front of the hotel onto a car park.
The bar area and staff are very nice and drinks are reasonably priced.
We did not eat in the hotel as we were socialising with visiting friends so can confirm that there are some very good eating places near by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.First floor rooms have a very long terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    130
    72
    14
    7
See reviews for
68
134
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel is well situated, close to the beach and with lots of seafood restaurants just around the corner. Also close to the quay from which boat trips to the nature park leave. The tourist office is also just around the corner in an old Ice factory. The hotel has good facilities and a good pool area, however its a relatively modern international hotel with not a lot of character or atmosphere. The evening meal is buffet style and was OK but nothing special, breakfast much the same. Nothing to complain about, but is the sort you could visit anywhere in the world. The hotel has a paid parking garage, but you can park for free on the road directly outside. Unfortunately we had a room above the main entrance, overlooking the road, and could hear the main doors opening and shutting all the time which was a bit annoying. Try getting a room with balcony at the back ! When using the GPS to find the hotel we discovered that several roads were now one way and had to take a big detour to get there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a balcony and overlook the pool area, much nicer than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulsXperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We spent 10 days in the Macia Donana. From the 24th July to the 2nd August 2011.

We really enjoyed our stay there, and would certainly recommend it. The food was excellent with plenty of choice, and with the option of eating on the patio, which was peaceful and secluded. All the staff were friendly and the bar never too busy. Everything is within walking distance, including the beach which is only five minutes away, and the centre which is no more than ten.

The Donana is one of the few four star hotels in Sanluccar and certainly deserves the designation. The room was clean and spacious, with a good sized balcony, although the sea view was partly blocked by a sports centre.The beds were really comfortable, with little or no noise from the hotel or outside. The only mirror in the room was near the door and one a bit more central would have been appreciated.

Our room also overlooked the pool which is big enough, and very popular in the afternoon. A shortage of sun beds, however, was a bit of a drawback, and people were having to use their towels to sit on the grass. (late July, early August). The food in the hotel was excellent, but there are lots of restaurants and beach bars at the front, and in the centre there are numerous tapas bars.

The new promenade is a great boon to the town, and during the day it is a lovely walk. Sanluccar is very Spanish and livens up at night. Quite often there is a feria on with lots of music,entertainment, and local produce.

All in all, we had a great time at the Macia Donana, and Sanluccar in general, and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marbella Spain
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Hotel situated close to the beach. Has underground parking. Rooms adequate no english tv at all. Good free wifi access. Friendly helpful staff. Buffet breakfast one of the worst we have encountered. Hot food looked like it had been cooked the day before. Horrible coffee from a machine and juice not fresh. Everything badly presented.
Very interesting area to visit, we took the river trip but did not see the birds and wildlife we expected but pleasant boat ride. Did not eat in the restaurant as there are so many to choose from on the nearby riverfront.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We had previously stayed here a couple of years ago and were pleased that we got rooms with views of the mighty Guadalquivir river. All the hotel seemed to have been renovated in the last few years. The price of our stay at 55 euros per room including full breakfast for two was excellent.

Parking is free and easy outside the hotel and the hotel is situated a short walk from the excellent fish restaurants on the river nearby. We asked for ice for the room from the bar and this was provided without a problem. Good to bring in to the hotel a bottle of the local Manzanilla sherry and enjoy it on the balcony of your room.

Breakfast is a bit of a scrum downstairs but there is plenty of food to choose from including the usual hot breakfast dishes.

Sanlucar is a beautiful town with much to see around the historic Old Quarter and we walked to it from the hotel and back in the afternoon. a taxi would have also been cheap.

Internet is free but make sure you get the password from reception. The hotel also has a nice outdoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camborne Cornwall ENgland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2007

This is a frienly holiday hotel for predominantly Spanish tourists. This is not the Costas, which makes it delightful. The pictures of the rooms on the various websites do not do it justice. Although we had a room without a balcony at the front of the hotel it was large, light and airy with a big picture window. The beds were very comfortable and the air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was not large but perfectly acceptable. The public facilities were adequate but not luxurious although they do have a central computer in the lobby with free internet access for all.
The swimming pool is small and clean adjacent to the large poolside bar. Reception and bar staff were very accommodating and helpful. There is a choice of free outside parking or garage parking at a very low charge. Breakfast is good and very cheap at 5.5 euros a head. We have seen criticism about a lack of nearby restaurants. This is wholly untrue. The hotel is situated one street from the river beach. There are at least eight restarurants adjacent to each other overlooking the river and within 200 yards of the hotel. Of the several we used all were excellent although a bit pricey. Fresh fish and shellfish are their speciality, which is not surprising for this area. In the opposite direction there are a few beach bars that serve more simple food that is ideal for lunch and excellent value. The town centre is an easy ten minute walk and is very pleasant with a vibrant market. We would highly recommend this hotel and categorise it as a 3 star plus and better than many hotels with a 4 star category

  • Liked — Friendly and relaxed atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2006

Hotel Donana, Sanlucar

Not impressed with this hotel at all. Although the web site states that it is near restaurants and bars, it isn’t! It is certainly situated very close to the beach but the surroundings leave a lot to be desired. It is a good 20 min. walk into the old town, which is great. Our hotel room was clean enough, with a balcony overlooking the pool, but it was purely functional. The towels in the room were quite threadbare and, although obviously washed, looked as though they had seen better days. Breakfast was self-service buffet, as in most modern hotels these days, but not a lot of choice. Secure underground parking is available but we managed to park right outside the hotel without a problem; however, it might get busier at the height of the season. We took a bus from the bus depot (about 15 min. walk depending on how quickly you walk) into Cadiz as we have found that driving in Spanish cities is a nightmare; it’s about 1 hr.15 min. on the coach. Cadiz is OK – depends on what you want – but we personally were a bit disappointed. Perhaps we had been spoilt by Cordoba! Would not return to this hotel again.

Helpful?
4 Thank pamypete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanlucar de Barrameda hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanlucar de Barrameda
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barrameda
Hotel Barrameda
#3 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
346 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Guadalquivir
Hotel Guadalquivir
#5 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
#1 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
0.8 mi away
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
#8 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
213 reviews
0.8 mi away
Posada de Palacio Gastronomical Hotel
Posada de Palacio Gastronomical ...
#9 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Donana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Donana

Property: Hotel Macia Donana
Address: Calle Orfeon Santa Cecilia s/n, 11540 Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sanlucar de Barrameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sanlucar de Barrameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Donana 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of Bajo de Guía ancient fishing quarter where the typical local restaurants where you can taste and exquisite and varied menu (seafood, vegetables, stews, wine sanluqueños as chamomile, ...). Opposite the hotel we Doñana National Park unique natural paradise. We are 100 meters from the beach and 10 minutes walk from the city center, where the Plaza del Cabildo, essential place to begin a path of typical tapas bars in the area (shrimp omelettes, anemones, galleys, ... ). And to know our history and culture that goes back to Roman settlements, Visigoths and Arabs. Although met its peak during the sixteenth century as the seat of the Captaincy General of the Ocean Sea Fleet settlement Indies starting point and arrival of the first stars of Discovery: Columbus, Magellan, Elcano.Hotel completely renovated, has 96 rooms, snack bar, restaurant, swimming pool and solarium, private garage, ample parking, laundry service, room service, Wi-Fi and free internet corner and 5 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Macia Donana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing