We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and good location”
Review of Hotel Macia Donana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Macia Donana
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The Hotel Donana is a block back from the beach in Sanlucar and about 10 minutes walk from the main town square inland. Our room had a lovely balcony and sea view and was very comfortable. No fridge though. Air con was fine and the bathroom spotless. The public rooms were light and airy and the breakfast buffet was very good.
The swimming pool was in a walled garden with plenty of loungers but no mattresses and the hotel provides towels for a 1.5 euro/day fee.
In mid September the town was very quiet and the fish restaurants round the corner on the harbour side were extremely quiet. The tapas bars in town were lively after 8pm
We went to the Donana park by boat, nice but low key, and to a sherry bodega Pedro Romero where we had a good tour for 6 euro each including tastings
Sanlucar is VERY Spanish and we were the only non-Spanish in the hotel
Overall a pleasant stay

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view on 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank njwoodhouse1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (295)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 295 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2012

I went to watch the horse racing with some friends, and this was the only hotel close to the beach we could get into. The prizes were very high (€134 per night) and I think this was just because of the Carreras de Caballos. Its not a true 4 star hotel.

It was a great location, close to the beach. Great selection of restaurants close by.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room not facing the main road as it would be quieter at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SerahO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

A really nice 4 star hotel in a good position for the beach and promenade. The hotel is very clean and is decorated in a simple classic way. The rooms are also decorated with a modern touch and are simple but generous in proportion. It looks like rooms on the first floor overlooking the pool and terraces have a large terrace and not a balcony. Other rooms have a balcony either looking over the pool or the front of the hotel onto a car park.
The bar area and staff are very nice and drinks are reasonably priced.
We did not eat in the hotel as we were socialising with visiting friends so can confirm that there are some very good eating places near by.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the pool.First floor rooms have a very long terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The hotel is well situated, close to the beach and with lots of seafood restaurants just around the corner. Also close to the quay from which boat trips to the nature park leave. The tourist office is also just around the corner in an old Ice factory. The hotel has good facilities and a good pool area, however its a relatively modern international hotel with not a lot of character or atmosphere. The evening meal is buffet style and was OK but nothing special, breakfast much the same. Nothing to complain about, but is the sort you could visit anywhere in the world. The hotel has a paid parking garage, but you can park for free on the road directly outside. Unfortunately we had a room above the main entrance, overlooking the road, and could hear the main doors opening and shutting all the time which was a bit annoying. Try getting a room with balcony at the back ! When using the GPS to find the hotel we discovered that several roads were now one way and had to take a big detour to get there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back have a balcony and overlook the pool area, much nicer than the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulsXperience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We spent 10 days in the Macia Donana. From the 24th July to the 2nd August 2011.

We really enjoyed our stay there, and would certainly recommend it. The food was excellent with plenty of choice, and with the option of eating on the patio, which was peaceful and secluded. All the staff were friendly and the bar never too busy. Everything is within walking distance, including the beach which is only five minutes away, and the centre which is no more than ten.

The Donana is one of the few four star hotels in Sanluccar and certainly deserves the designation. The room was clean and spacious, with a good sized balcony, although the sea view was partly blocked by a sports centre.The beds were really comfortable, with little or no noise from the hotel or outside. The only mirror in the room was near the door and one a bit more central would have been appreciated.

Our room also overlooked the pool which is big enough, and very popular in the afternoon. A shortage of sun beds, however, was a bit of a drawback, and people were having to use their towels to sit on the grass. (late July, early August). The food in the hotel was excellent, but there are lots of restaurants and beach bars at the front, and in the centre there are numerous tapas bars.

The new promenade is a great boon to the town, and during the day it is a lovely walk. Sanluccar is very Spanish and livens up at night. Quite often there is a feria on with lots of music,entertainment, and local produce.

All in all, we had a great time at the Macia Donana, and Sanluccar in general, and we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanH38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2011

Hotel situated close to the beach. Has underground parking. Rooms adequate no english tv at all. Good free wifi access. Friendly helpful staff. Buffet breakfast one of the worst we have encountered. Hot food looked like it had been cooked the day before. Horrible coffee from a machine and juice not fresh. Everything badly presented.
Very interesting area to visit, we took the river trip but did not see the birds and wildlife we expected but pleasant boat ride. Did not eat in the restaurant as there are so many to choose from on the nearby riverfront.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We had previously stayed here a couple of years ago and were pleased that we got rooms with views of the mighty Guadalquivir river. All the hotel seemed to have been renovated in the last few years. The price of our stay at 55 euros per room including full breakfast for two was excellent.

Parking is free and easy outside the hotel and the hotel is situated a short walk from the excellent fish restaurants on the river nearby. We asked for ice for the room from the bar and this was provided without a problem. Good to bring in to the hotel a bottle of the local Manzanilla sherry and enjoy it on the balcony of your room.

Breakfast is a bit of a scrum downstairs but there is plenty of food to choose from including the usual hot breakfast dishes.

Sanlucar is a beautiful town with much to see around the historic Old Quarter and we walked to it from the hotel and back in the afternoon. a taxi would have also been cheap.

Internet is free but make sure you get the password from reception. The hotel also has a nice outdoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanlucar de Barrameda
0.6 mi away
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
#1 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
424 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Barrameda
Hotel Barrameda
#2 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
386 reviews
0.8 mi away
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
#8 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Guadalquivir
Hotel Guadalquivir
#5 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
222 reviews
8.4 mi away
Elba Costa Ballena Beach Hotel
11.1 mi away
Hotel Playa de la Luz
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Macia Donana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Macia Donana

Address: Calle Orfeon Santa Cecilia s/n, 11540 Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sanlucar de Barrameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Sanlucar de Barrameda
Price Range: £34 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Macia Donana 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the entrance of Bajo de Guía ancient fishing quarter where the typical local restaurants where you can taste and exquisite and varied menu (seafood, vegetables, stews, wine sanluqueños as chamomile, ...). Opposite the hotel we Doñana National Park unique natural paradise. We are 100 meters from the beach and 10 minutes walk from the city center, where the Plaza del Cabildo, essential place to begin a path of typical tapas bars in the area (shrimp omelettes, anemones, galleys, ... ). And to know our history and culture that goes back to Roman settlements, Visigoths and Arabs. Although met its peak during the sixteenth century as the seat of the Captaincy General of the Ocean Sea Fleet settlement Indies starting point and arrival of the first stars of Discovery: Columbus, Magellan, Elcano.Hotel completely renovated, has 96 rooms, snack bar, restaurant, swimming pool and solarium, private garage, ample parking, laundry service, room service, Wi-Fi and free internet corner and 5 meeting rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Macia Donana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing