We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique in Europe - fantastic”
Review of Viajes Donana

Viajes Donana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This beautiful stretch of undeveloped wilderness is home to hundreds of birds, deer, pigs and other wildlife.
London
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Unique in Europe - fantastic”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We took the 3 and 1/2 hour boat and 4x4 bus tour which was great. In September the park and it's wildlife is all about water. There is precious little available and so the wildlife tends to be handily gathered together wherever water is to be found. Our guide knew all the places to find them. We saw wild boar, deer, wild horses, a magnificent Imperial Eagle and the tracks of an Iberian Lynx, but alas no sightings of the elusive predator. But the different habitats within the park were breathtaking and the trip through the sand dunes by Mercedes Unimog was great fun. Without doubt this was the best 40 euros we spent. A wonderful place and I'd love to go back in spring when the dry lake bed would be flooded and home to thousands of wading birds.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Robertsclubman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    85
    43
    15
    8
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frigiliana, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Promises More Than It Delivers”
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We took the 'combinado' tour at 30€ per person, which involves crossing the river on the ferry and then boarding one of the waiting four-by-four buses for a tour of the parks different eco systems, followed by a sail back up the river to Sanlucar on the Real Fernando. Total time taken is between two and a half and three hours. Unfortunately, on this tour the commentary is entirely in Spanish, and wildlife tends to be seen from a distance rather than close to.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank payasoru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dungarvan
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Coto Donana Natural Reserve”
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We visited this natural reserve over two days in August. We enjoyed one of the looped walks near the visitor centre and the patterns of animal movements from our hotel balcony overlooking the park in El Rocío. However the highlight of our visit was the four hour tour run by the Cooperativa Marsimas del Rocío, from the visitor centre. This tour must be booked in advance. It involves a drive on an all terrain vehicle through the different ecosystems of the park. There are two per day, we booked the 4.30 tour. Our guide / driver spoke excellent English and was brilliant. I can't remember his name now, he was Dutch. He was so knowledgeable and informative and took care to ensure we got the most from the tour. The physical beauty of the different ecosystems combined with the variety of wildlife and the informed descriptions of life within the park make this an unmissable experience. An experience I would repeat if I could.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank eoinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“beautiful but beware in high summer”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

a stunning place but bring plenty of mosquito repellant. I have never seen so many anywhere in the world, nor had so many bites. Long sleeves and trousers the order of the day!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Arxitravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Estepona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
126 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
“Impressive in size and beauty”
Reviewed 20 October 2012

Depending on personal interest and ambition you can spend one day or more in this parc. You can join a kind of 4 x 4 safari tour or go out on your own in your own car in restricted areas, and walk around were permitted. Nicely convenient bird spots are available, take your camera with telelens with you and surely make some fabulous pictures. There are museums that explain nature in an instructive way, added with beautiful photo pictures. Nicely presented. At the end of the day you'll be satisfied and pleased having observed and watched the animals within this abundant natural beauty.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank pbmeyersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viajes Donana also viewed

Sanlucar de Barrameda, Province of Cadiz
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Province of Cadiz
 
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Province of Cadiz
Sanlucar de Barrameda, Province of Cadiz
 

Been to Viajes Donana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing