We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Posada de Palacio Gastronomical Hotel
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“beautiful hotel.”
Reviewed 24 August 2008

The most beautiful hotel. But as someone else said; bring your earplugs. The location is up on a hill. , but just a few min from the center square. Again, very beautiful!

  • Liked — beautiful settings and surroundings. Great staff. very clean and spacious rooms.
  • Disliked — you could hear everything
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank charlotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    37
    28
    15
    12
See reviews for
15
84
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sevilla
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2008

We booked through rumbo.es - The hotel is easy to find as it is well sign posted - in the Old Town by the Town Hall and the Auditorio La Merced and close to the market. Its is really quiet and very comfortable. Its only about 20 minutes walk from the beach and Bajo de Guía.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trotamundos10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2008

I loved this place, it's wonderful. It's been tastefully furnished with family-heirloom quality Spanish pieces as well as items from the Far East - fantastic carved furniture, tapestries, lamps & mirrors. There are many sofas for a quiet read, as well as a huge flat-screen TV in one sitting room. We'd booked a 4-bedded room, but got two bedrooms and a sitting area, with sofa & TV, plus a big marble bathroom, all reached via a roof terrace. The main bedroom had a little 'gentleman's dressing room', a walk-in wardrobe made of cedar, with a mirror and lots of little drawers. The room was very quiet at night; no sound from the street or other guests. We got lost on the way here, San Lucar is quite a large place but the centre is fairly compact - remember that the hotel is in the old town, so head for Centro Cuidad. A tip - It's opposite the Town Hall, the 'Ayunamiento' so follow signs for that; it's better sign-posted than the hotel, and people will know it if you have to ask. We ended up arriving at midnight, and they didn't look thrilled to see us, but the next day the receptionsist was giggling like a schoolgirl when she talked to us; if you want an insincere 'Have a nice day' don't come to Spain!
There are a few parking spaces allocated to the hotel, directly outside, and we never had a problem parking. There's a good place up the street to buy sherry, and a bar round the corner that was still serving food after midnight. Our first meal in Spain was there, a big plate of mixed, fried, wonderfully fresh seafood & a chilled manzanilla. Fantastic. Go onto their own website for more photos.

  • Liked — Its beautiful furnishings and its individuality
  • Disliked — Getting lost trying to find it
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MirandaGoshawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Margaret's at Cliffe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2007

I can't deny I am an incurable Hispanophile, but Sanlucar de Barrameda has to be one of the most unspoilt of Spanish towns you can visit, and the Posada de Palacio the best hotel in town.

The location is excellent (unless you can't do steep hills), the building is in a typically rambling Andalucian Senorial Mansion with interior patios, wells, antique furnished salons, tiled floors, 12 ft high wooden beamed ceilings, pillars, and a great series of roof terraces with both sol y sombra! It is only a short walk downhill past the bustling municipal market to the town's two main squares and a great selection of bars. A tapas 'must' is the local speciality, the tortilla de camarones - a kind of shrimp fritter - accompanied by a glass of chilled manzanilla, the local very dry sherry. Barbiana's Bar on Plaza Cabildo is the best, with Casa Balbino in the same square coming a close second!

We stayed in a double suite on the ground floor opening onto the main ground floor patio (room 27). It consisted of a bedroom, small sitting room and a huge bathroom with a really good shower. some may find the rooms a little dark, but you have to remember that the authenticity of the house has not been compromised - small windows onto big rooms kept Spanish palaces cool in the intense heat of summer.

But you have aircon too, so no need to worry about that!

Other reasons to stay here include the nice breakfast served in the cosy bar or in one of the patios, friendly staff (not much English spoken though) and a fab bar/restaurant just round the corner - El Gallego - the biggest portions you will find in Sanlucar - you have been warned!

One warning- you may need earplugs - the tiled floors can be unforgiving if your neighbours wear high heels.....

  • Liked — authenticty
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Conchwillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2007

Dark, dampish room. Surly reception staff, very poor breakfast! All a great shame as it is a lovely building, well placed in a lovely town. Sanlucar is said to have great seafood but this is all down at the beach and when we were there we could not find a single restaurant open in the town itself, only tapas bars!

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank e-zenith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sanlucar de Barrameda hotels

Makati, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2006

Stayed here in the summer of 2005. First off, Sanlucar de Barrameda is a lovely town worth visiting and is a few minutes drive (not walk) to some beaches like Chipiona.
About the hotel, it is very charming and tastefully decorated in the Southern Spanish way ( the colored tiles) with good antique pieces splattered all over the place. It used to be a palace according to the owner. The room we had was quite large (compared to other hotels in Spain Ive stayed at) with 2 good sized double beds. It could've been better though if they just put a queen instead. Our room was airconditioned, has a balcony and television and has its own unique character since they arent all decorated in the same way. You won't be dissapointed at all with the bathroom since its very clean and modern, with a tub, like a 4 star hotels.
I loved breakfast time cos you can take it in a lovely courtyard, with typical Spanish breakfast of toast and jam, but they throw in a few slices of fresh tomatoes and jamon too, plus fruits and coffee of course.
The service was good and friendly though I am not sure if they speak English though.
Unique Qualities: I loved the pocket courtyards upstairs, by the lobby and near the breakfast area, where you can just longe, read, have coffee, smoke, chat with new people, or play the guitar (if you have one).

  • Liked — ambience/friendly service/very reasonable price!!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank piccolita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2006

Another Trip Advisor recommendation which came up trumps. A very friendly hotel with ensuite rooms built in the native style many with verandas looking up the valley towards Bolivia The hotel also has a llama trekking centre and the animals keep the grass short round the swimming pool. Simple but tasty dinners are served in the comfortable reception area. A good place to relax for a day or two (£24 per night for a double)

Helpful?
1 Thank matelot67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanlucar de Barrameda hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Barrameda
Hotel Barrameda
#3 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
#1 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
391 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Macia Donana
Hotel Macia Donana
#6 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Guadalquivir
Hotel Guadalquivir
#5 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
#8 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Casa Sanlucar
La Casa Sanlucar
#2 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada de Palacio Gastronomical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada de Palacio Gastronomical Hotel

Property: Posada de Palacio Gastronomical Hotel
Address: Calle Caballeros 9 | Cádiz, 11540 Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sanlucar de Barrameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Sanlucar de Barrameda
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Posada de Palacio Gastronomical Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former palace of the eighteenth century located in the historical and artistic center of the most beautiful cities in the South: Sanlúcar de Barrameda , filled with noble buildings and beautiful wineries set ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Posada de Palacio Gastronomical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada De Palacio Hotel Sanlucar De Barrameda
Posada De Palacio Sanlucar Barrameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing