We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value and location”
Review of Los Helechos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Los Helechos
Reviewed 9 January 2010

SInce I was traveling solo, depending on arriving via bus and had a large piece of luggage I wanted a hotel that was in the lower town. This hotel is well located near the main square, Plaza Cabildo, and only about a 10 minute walk from the bus station. I arrived before noon and my room was not ready - no problem. I stored my luggage at teh hotel and went on to my tour at La Gitana bodega. When I returned around 1:30pm the room was ready. The staff was very friendly. This hotel is peaceful and quiet but still in the heart of everything. A big plus (for me) - hotel now has an elevator. Rooms are a bit old looking but very spacious. Restroom was quite large with plenty of counter space. There was no blowdryer in the room but they had one available at the front desk. I paid 45.9 for one night (double for single use) including VAT, breakfast not included.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CathyDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2009

Staff very nice, location good, facilities and room fine. Los Helechos would have been good value except for the fact that you couldn't breathe through the cigarette smoke. The night we were there, a Spanish tourist group set up camp outside our door at 3 in the morning -- drinking and talking loudly (and did I mention the smoke?). We had almost no sleep and will never, ever, put price over reliable comfort again.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizesqe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2008

There are three 'hotels de charme' in Sanlucar: Los Helechos, the Posado de Palacio and the Duques de Medina Sidonia. All are elegant and good value. I looked at them all and decided on Los Helechos which, at €71 a night for a double room plus free garage, was the best value. It's very attractive with the rooms on three floors around a large courtyard. Our room was on the top floor: very clean and spacious with a good sized bathroom (although the shower could be improved). It opened on the communal roof terrace which was large enough to feel private and have a glass of wine. I was delighted with the hotel and stayed on for three nights. The beach at Sanlucar is not the best so we went too nearby Cipriano beach which was lovely. I would recommend all three of these hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Colombel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2007

We stayed just one night in this pleasant Andalusian town house hotel. The pretty courtyard is a delight but that apart the place lacked a bit of charm - a case of nearly but not quite! The heating is decidedly creaky - via the air conditioning and takes a while to have effect. What is beyond dispute is the good value that this hotel represents - we paid just 50 euros for a decent sized double. There is is a cafe-bar attached which served light suppers and breakfast - popular with locals. The hotel seems to have a tie up with the restaurant round the corner where we had a decent supper. Sanlucar is a nice town and great places to lunch down by the beach - up stream from the pier.

Stayed: January 2007
6  Thank housered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2006

We spent a week in Sanlucar from June 24. All nights at Los Helechos, which is a well-located, quiet hotel in traditional Andalucian style with goodviews to the old part of the town from the roof terrace. We were four people (2 kids, 2 adults) sharing a relatively basic quadruple for only 90 Euros/night. However, access to the sundeck at the roof as well as the unbelievable quietness at night made the stay extremely peaceful. They are about to install a seemingly nice little pool on the roof terrace which will be open by August. We had cheap breakfast at a very nice sidewalk cafe at the lovely Plaza Cabildo close to the hotel. The colourful market is close as well as the interesting, old, upper part of the town. Sanlucar is a peaceful place with surprisingly nice and peaceful beaches with great views to the Donana National Park across the river mouth. Food is good, but the many fish restauratns can´t match Galician and Basque seafood. With a car, places like Sevilla, Jerez, Cadiz, and El Puerto de Santa Maria are easily accessible. Chipiona - a somewhat basic resort for Spanish families 8 km away - has a good ocean beach.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank SjurOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2006

My wife and I have stayed here a few times. The Helechos is close to the centre of town, but in a secluded back street - right next to a Convent (with associated bell - but not intrusive). Staff are always very friendly and there's a bar for breakfasts and coffee. Sanlucar is famous for it's fantastic restaurants and the best seafood in all of Spain (and that's up against some pretty stiff competition) as well as being the producer of "Manzanilla" - a dry, fresh, sherry; so notmany people eat in their hotels, anyway. Come to think of it, I've been visiting Sanlucar for about 15 years now, and I haven't eaten in a Hotel yet! There are plenty of little restaurants within a couple of minutes stroll.

The hotel has NO LIFT. There are a limited number of rooms accessible by wheelchair, so if disabled access is a must, you have to book it in advance.

Otherwise, the rooms are clean, the staff are always helpful, there's a garage in the basement (and no charge for parking) and it's one of the most easonable hotels in the area for price. We'll be using it for many years to come.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Tim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Silvia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanlucar de Barrameda hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Guadalquivir
Hotel Guadalquivir
#5 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
abba Palacio de Arizon Hotel
#8 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
248 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
Hotel Boutique Alcoba
#1 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Barrameda
Hotel Barrameda
#2 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
386 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Macia Donana
Hotel Macia Donana
#6 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
295 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Casa Sanlucar
La Casa Sanlucar
#3 of 11 in Sanlucar de Barrameda
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Los Helechos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Los Helechos

Address: Plaza Madre de Dios 9, 11540 Sanlucar de Barrameda, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cadiz > Sanlucar de Barrameda
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 Hotels in Sanlucar de Barrameda
Price Range: £42 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Los Helechos 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Stayforlong S.L., TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Los Helechos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Helechos Sanlucar De Barrameda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing