We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Last holiday before baby”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
12 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Vinuela, Province of Malaga, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mike C
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Last holiday before baby”
Reviewed 15 October 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This place was wonderful from the first email to the owners, Gill was very helpful and lovely, we both thoroughly needed this holiday. Great info and details and able to gain access even though arriving in the middle of the night !

We got off the plane into our hire vehicle and followed the directions, it was one am and in a thunderstorm so not the easiest conditions to find your way in a strange place. The roads are a little different to England in this area but i found them amazing, some driving skill is required so if a nervous driver perhaps not the best choice. We got a little confused with directions (turns out a sign was missing) so with much regret we had to call for help at 2am, Gill was a star and came and found us and took us to our home from home.

What a wonderful little space!! Fantastic views (day time) and so out the way a perfect peaceful retreat, without being too far from anything really. A wonderful Spanish feel about the place. The lake is fantastic and some incredible restaurants within 15 mins. Chez spice was a treat and Restaurante El Pantano, both fantastic food and we oddly had both to ourselves on our visits. Spectacular views at both also!! All the local villages and towns were wonderful and friendly folks, however if you do not speak Spanish it might get a little tricky in the hilltop countryside towns, most local areas not an issue.

We trekked from the Sierra Nevada to Campillos to Fuengirola we don't mind a drive whilst on holiday!

The Apartment has everything you need, the shop is a fair distance so make sure you get everything first time! The cat and dog visited us daily and kept us company, did not come in if not wanted, the pool area was for our use and it was fantastic, we only dunked legs sadly as a little cold this time of year but wonderful in the summer months i am sure!

There are a number of stairs so if mobility is an issue might not be what your looking for, the bed was great and the bathroom HUGE with a shower i never wanted to leave, i will visit it again for sure!
Left to our own devices but our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful at every interaction.
There are balconies on both sides so good all day and sunbeds and chairs by the pool. Some lovely places to walk right from the front door and a stunning Buddhist stupa a couple of miles from the house, the aura of the place is quite something and the views breathtaking WELL worth a visit. We spent hours sat in silence enjoying it, and we are rarely lost for words!
I still miss the goats coming down the hill daily with their bells, so much so i bought a bell and brought it home to close my eyes and take me back.

I can not get back to this destination soon enough to be honest and they said they have a cot so we can take the baby, cannot wait!

Perfect romantic getaway or new family destination, i am quite tall so had to remember to duck in a few spots around the place but not an issue, tons of space, tv internet and cooking was all great. Washing machine if needed and info for everything.

Thank you soooo much for our stay (sorry review took so long) Baby is fine and growing up fast ,we are looking forward to showing her around one day :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, i really cannot decide, i'd move in tomorrow if i could!
Liked least: The missing sign on the mountain road. Mainly, That i had to leave!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2015
Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review, so pleased you enjoyed your stay at the Attico before the arrival of your baby and hope you can re-visit with your bambino - congratulations and best wishes to you both!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cockfield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 March 2014 for a stay in September 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: leaving!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michael C
Blackpool
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“A little scruffy”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
10
people found this review helpful

2km from the main road, up a narrow winding steep single track road. It's ok until you have to go on the unmade dirt road, half a kilometer. Make sure you have full cover for the under carriage of the vehicle if using a hire car, if not careful you will take out the exhaust and damage the underside. A little scary especially at night.

Large pool area but could do with tidying up. Area not swept and kept clean with debris around the seating area and the edge of the pool. The pool itself at the bottom was full of debris the whole time we were there and not cleaned out. The floating debris was cleaned each morning. The tables around the pool area were dusty and grimy and only wiped down on the third day there. The whole area looked grubby and scruffy considering the owners lived below.

The rooms themselves were spacious enough for two with a lounge andTV, large selection of DVD's. Adequate kitchen area with all the usual appliances. Two terraces, one at the front and one at the back. Again, both areas were not swept at all whilst we were there, full of leaves and dust. The back terrace looks onto another scruffy area that is in desperate need of tidying up. The air conditioning either did not work or the control was removed so I cannot comment on the effectiveness of this. The bathroom again was scruffy and in need of re decorating, the shower area looked quite bad. Plenty of hot water though. The Wi Fi can only be picked up either on the back terrace or the bed, move from these two points and the signal disappears. Towels are listed as being changed once per week. Who uses a towel for a week?

The good points
The view
Nice and peaceful stay
Private
The owners are helpful
Good directions to the house

The bad points
Too many to list

A little love and attention to detail, (daily cleaning) could bring this place to a decent place to stay. Until then, give it a miss.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The piece and quiet
Liked least: Place needs cleaning
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2013
The property is on a mountain side, 1,500 ft altitude and approached by a mountain road and track, all clearly indicated in the photos on the website. This should be no problem for a competent driver in a suitable car. Why refer to this after you chose to rent the property? If you don’t want to drive on a track book an alternative property.

The property is in a mountain environment and subject to seasonal winds, which move around leaves and dust, the ‘debris’ you refer to. The pool and surrounding area are cleaned twice a week and the pool netted daily, the water quality is tested weekly. A rental of £33per night does not cover the cost of a full time pool attendant. You booked a self catering holiday and were free to net the pool yourself at any time. Glass table tops in the pool area despite being cleaned were a bad choice by us and will be replaced in due course.

Both roof terraces were swept when the property was cleaned prior to your arrival, also the property is not advertised with air conditioning. The scruffy area you refer to is where maintenance materials and equipment are kept, no pretty but essential, and this area is not in the eye line of the views from the property and is not part of the rental area. No one else has had a problem with Wifi, maybe you need a more powerful device. You are entitled to your view of the bathroom decoration. This is a rural cortijo with a simple basic rustic style, clearly indicated in the photographs. One set of towels are provided, as per property details. If you wanted or needed more, you only had to ask, and there is a washing machine in the kitchen.

The property is advertised as a peaceful rural mountain style holiday for visitors who want a more ‘Real Spain’ type vacation. Some of your comments and observations clearly indicate that you mis-booked, it is your responsibility to research where you are going, the local facilities and environment etc. We are sorry your visit to rural Spain fell below expectations and hope it doesn’t put you off visiting Spain again, maybe a villa by La Vinuela or hotel on the Costas next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LandBPlum...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay at the Attico!”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Attico for 10 days at the end of April to plan our Wedding in the area. We really enjoyed our stay, the apartment is well equipt for all your self catering needs with a very authentic spanish feel.
It is up in the Mountains so we had beautiful views from our balcony where we ate breakfast most mornings. Also the mountain location is brilliant for walkers with many trails to follow!
Ideally located near lake Viñuela and only a 10-15 minute drive to the local towns and beaches so perfect for anyone looking to get away but not too far away!!

The owners of Attico were really friendly and accomodating and we would be very happy to stay again :)

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing