We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking - and Luis is the greatest host!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hacienda Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Minerva
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zuheros
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Breathtaking - and Luis is the greatest host!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

We thought this was a stunning hotel. Luis gave us a tour of the property and a great discussion of the olive oil industry. Loved the views, the location on the bike path. Delicious food in the restaurant. Room could have had a bit more light, but the public rooms (indoors and out) were fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulandsarahthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    70
    31
    6
    5
See reviews for
44
172
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

and I think that was also the view of the majority of the people on this cycling trip through Andalucia. The old olive farm has been very sympathetically restored with many nooks and crannies and courtyards to explore. I could have spent days exploring the library - looking at the pictures in the art book, even if I couldn't understand the Spanish, or relaxing on the rooftop terrace just enjoying the view and the peace and tranquility. Luis gave us an interesting guided tour explaining many things about the process of producing olive oil.

The rooms were large, spotlessly clean and we even had the luxury of a duvet (the only time on this trip). Being in the middle of the countryside it was quiet and peaceful so we had a really good night's sleep. The staff were all friendly and helpful and we had an excellent dinner of local specialities.

More than one person said they would love to go back and spend more time here, me included. If you are cycling along the Via Verde then this should definitely be a stopping place for you.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windinmywheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2012 via mobile

We stayed here right after Christmas, two couples, one single and 2 kids. We had terrific rooms, staff was great and the food in the restaurant was outstanding. Owner is a great guy with excellent advice and we enjoyed a lovely hike with him. I'd advise few days to enjoy the walking in the area and just sitting on the balconies at the hotel. Well worth the trip.

Stayed December 2011
Helpful?
Thank traveltravel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaMinerva, Propietario at Hacienda Minerva, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear traveltravel01: I still remember to all of you. Great hiking in the Canyon and the terrific lunch when we arrive walking to Zuheros. It was a fantastic experience. Thank you for your words in the title of your comment "...a destination in itself". It was our dream when we bought the ruins of Minerva in 2004, make a great hotel in a great location but so beautifull and different that could be a destination in itself. I hope that your stay in Andalucía was so pleasant like in Minerva and i hope to see you and your friends and family in the future.

Thank you again, all the best.

Luis "Duritz"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

The manager Luis and his staff were extremely knowledgeable of the area and its history, they had very useful tips on what to see and do. Rooms were very comfortable, in the rural location noise was not an issue. Food and bar service were excellent, breakfast at the rooftop location was memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alvin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs
Level Contributor
786 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2011

Located off the Via Verde trail, this old olive mill has been lovingly restored as an inn. In the middle of the Parque Natural and millions of olive trees, this unique property has courtyards, a library a salon with an inviting fireplace and gorgeous views of the mountains and hills and even the castle in Zuheros, about 2km away. Rooms are large and vaired, with updated bathrooms and facilities. Restaurant has local specialties and is cozy and inviting. Small bar with Fernando, the nicest barkeep in town! Very relaxing and welcoming. Luis, the owner/manager is an incredible host and shares the most fascinating stories about the property and Spain!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Castle at Zuheros---but you really can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryKop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed two nights at Hacienda Minerva as part of a one week bicycle tour of Andalucia. The Hacienda is right on the Via Verde de la Subbetica bike path. We could not have asked for a more delightful place to unwind after a day of biking. The views are spectacular, rooms large and inviting, and in particular the hospitality of Louis, the manager of the Hacienda, was everything one could ask for. Make sure to eat at the Hacienda's restaurant for a taste of Andalucia.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RT0625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

Unfortunately we had only 1 night at this beautiful location. WHen i saw the bird nest in the reception i knew that this place was something special. Great people, great place in a peaceful land. We recommend this place for anyone ...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guzata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuheros
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#2 of 2 in Zuheros
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
#1 of 1 in Dona Mencia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
7.8 mi away
MS Fuente las Piedras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Minerva

Property: Hacienda Minerva
Address: Carretera Zuheros | Doña Mencía Km 9,8, 14870 Zuheros, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Zuheros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zuheros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing