We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of heaven”
Review of Hacienda Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hacienda Minerva
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zuheros
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
129 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Slice of heaven”
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I loved this hotel. It's a extensively renovated olive oil mill and lacks for nothing as a boutique hotel. It's nestled into a hillside near the picturesque "white village" of Zuheros next to the Via Verde bike path (built on old railway). Ideal location for cycling or hiking. The views over the valley of olive groves is lovely. The owner is charming and gave me the best analysis of Spain's economic issues of anyone I met there. Wifi and kittens everywhere. Order the red wine from Juan Gil in the restaurant. Only 20Euros and outstanding.

Room Tip: You want to look over the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suebird6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    72
    34
    6
    6
See reviews for
46
176
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We selected Hacienda Minerva based on great online reviews, and because we wanted a place not too far from where we live, but kind of away from it all. It was our ten year anniversary, and we has two nights away from our kids. Super relaxing! The grounds are lovely, with spectacular views. If you want to eat in the restaurant, reserve a spot early, particularly the corner of the terrace overlooking the castle of Zuheros. The food is very good, their own take on local dishes, with large portions. We especially loved dessert, a goat cheese cake with cinnamon cookie crust and wild blackberry jam. Yum! We were surprised by the number of families with young children. They were a little noisy for a romantic dinner, so we made a later dinner/ tapas reservation for the 2nd night.

We really enjoyed the grounds, the library, the views, the QUIET, a simple but clean room with plenty of hot water, the breakfast and dinner meals, visiting local sights, and lounging by the pool for hours. The staff were very nice and helpful.

What could be improved? The shower head in our bathroom connected to the wall in an awkward position, which flooded the bathroom unless you held it in hand. The tv did not have many channels, but we weren't there for that!
I saw some reviews by people concerned with noise from what I suspect is the water pump. I would try to avoid rooms 11 or 19, if noise is a concern. My husband is pretty sensitive to noise. Too hot to hike much, but we went to visit the bat cave, which was ok, though lots of steep stairs. If you don't make a dinner reservation, you may be out of luck, and I'm not sure you could find another place to eat, either, because there a only 3 or 4 choices in Zuheros and everything else is a bit of a drive.

Overall, I would highly recommend this place, and would visit with either just my husband or with our young kids in tow for a few days away from it all. I plan on returning!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hansandjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loja, Andalucia, Spain
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We booked a 2 night stay at Hacienda Minerva to sample the northern subbetica mountain area of north central Andalucia. It turned out to be a gem. If you want a feel of the good life in real Spain this is where to find it. The Cortijo converted into a hotel has features that a designer must yearn over, from the internal courtyards with splashes of colour from the plants and flowers, to the ancient olive mill in one area. The bedrooms are spacious, air conditioned with courtyard and olive grove views.The restaurant uses a terrace overlooking the olive groves and Via Verde ( an old steam railway line, now a footpath / cycle track) And the food is the stuff of dreams - expensive but good value for money and excellent but friendly service. If you want to see some of the best scenery within Andalucia from a top class base don't hesitate!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreatGrandadDavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We were on a bike tour when we stayed in this darling Hacienda. It is located in a beautiful olive drenched hillside that takes your breath away. The hillsides are filled with goats, gardens, and wonderful bike paths. Our host filled us in on his family's history and the hotel's colorful past. The view from our room was a perfect picture, the white village of Zuheros. We loved the ambiance, the food and the lovely staff.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of Zuheros, not sure if all of them do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GVtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, FL
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

Minerva is delightful, in a splendid village, with its own castle view. Spectacular restaurant, galloping goats. Cool caverns of Zuheros. Wonderful pool. Unforgettable library. Endless supply of swallows!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pbran1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

We stopped as many people biking southern Spain (Andalucia) do, along a bike path, near the castle of Zuheros and found every part of us taken care of. First of all the Innkeeper who may have been the most interesting person we met in Spain, the food was great, the baths were soothing and...you wake up in the morning to the sound of birds singing in the olive groves that go on for miles. Beautiful restoration of the hacienda, accomodating staff, touches of beauty everywhere.....and increased understanding of olive oil on top of it all. A total treat.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the olive orchards. Spring for the bath and massage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nmster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2012

We thought this was a stunning hotel. Luis gave us a tour of the property and a great discussion of the olive oil industry. Loved the views, the location on the bike path. Delicious food in the restaurant. Room could have had a bit more light, but the public rooms (indoors and out) were fantastic!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paulandsarahthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuheros
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
#1 of 1 in Dona Mencia
117 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#2 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
MS Fuente las Piedras
10.2 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#3 of 3 in Priego de Cordoba
35 reviews
19.5 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Minerva

Property: Hacienda Minerva
Address: Carretera Zuheros | Doña Mencía Km 9,8, 14870 Zuheros, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Zuheros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zuheros
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hacienda Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing