We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, relaxing, just amazing...”
Review of Hacienda Minerva

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hacienda Minerva
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zuheros
Reviewed 16 August 2013

There isn't a bad thing I can come up with for this hotel. It is nestled in amongst the olive groves of Andalucia about 2 hours drive from Seville. After driving down a rough track to the hotel (no good if you have a low slung sports car) we were met by a collection of white washed buildings that would not been amiss in a Zorro film with fountains surrounded by orange trees, jasmine climbing the walls, filling the air with its sweet scent, and cobbled courtyards. Our room carried on this traditional feel with a living room downstairs and the upstairs bedroom with on suite bathroom - all spotlessly clean and air conditioned. The fridge was a nice touch to keep cold drinks in after touring the surrounding area in the sweltering sun. The restaurant had a great choice of locally sourced spanish fare and a fantastic wine list. If you needed a 'lighter' lunch then the taverna was just as good - especially when a cold beer was required. Add to all this the swimming pool overlooking the amazing vista of endless olive trees and the arab baths with massage option if required, the whole peaceful ambience plus with the value of the place then you just cant lose....

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tecrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2013

after touring through andalucia for about 5 years now (we generally do 5 hotels in 3 weeks, super well advised by LAS PERLAS DE ANDALUCIA) and this is by far the most typical hacienda we've seen

we really recommend it : 80 € per night for a beautifull room, a very good cuisine with local foods (fresh !) and a charming 'pueblo blanco' nearby (zuheros)

the via verde (a former railway track, quite flat, about 150 km) is at 20 metres - you can have a bike in the hacienda (really exceptionnal)

luis, the owner, speaks french too, and is a charming guy

a superb place

fred & gudrun hamerlinck - raemdonck

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We stayed here for three days as a slow-down in what was otherwise a pretty whirlwind Spain trip. The location is gorgeous (hotel is set off by itself, so you have views of olive groves and hills -- especially soothing from the pool), the rooms are very comfortable (we had a suite, which was spacious, and had its own rooftop deck), and the owners are very friendly and welcoming. They have bikes to rent, and there's a nice hike up the gorge nearby. There's also a fascinating cave just outside of Zuheros that has neolithic paintings. The food is also outstanding. This is a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

We spent 3 nights at Hacienda Minerva , using it for a base to explore the area .I would describe it as a 'quirky boutique hotel '. Very quiet relaxed atmosphere , well fed cats and dogs (always my concern when I travel to Spain ), lovely flower laden patios with little fountains , and some beautiful antiques scattered around.
The room we reserved was rather small for a 3 night stay (albeit a lovely view ) so we upgraded to a suite which also had a spacious terrace . Swimming pool had great views and we had it mainly to ourselves !
We ate in the hotel restaurant and found the food , the atmosphere (dim lights and soft music ) and the service very good.
The only negative points were, the terrible shower which we were unable to angle correctly ,resulting in flooding every night ! and the lack of umbrellas (shade) on the breakfast terrace , which had panoramic views of the area , but would be most uncomfortable to sit here during the hot summer months .
These pointers did not detract unduly from our wonderful break , but would certaily improve the hotel at minimum cost

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

The hotel is situated on a small hill overlooking the beautiful town of Zuheros There is a nice walking path leading to the town center ,part on an old railway transformed to a biking and walking trail ,When you get to the town there is a steep climb up
If you select this charming hotel beware !!!! There are some rooms like one I got with no windows so if you thought to enjoy a nice breeze and a view beware of rooms 17 and 18 ,there are other rooms like that so better make sure upon booking.....

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank Mikmak48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaciendaMinerva, Propietario at Hacienda Minerva, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2013

Dear Tripadvisor user: Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about our hotel.

I'm quite surprised for your comment because in Minerva, every single bedroom has at least, one window. I’m confused, maybe you were talking about a different hotel but is not possible, because I know very well all the hotels in the area and all have, at least, one window per room.

Next time that you come to the Sierras Subbetica's Natural Park we invite you to visit us and show our installations.

Thank you again for your time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

A charming hotel close to a quiet hilltop village. The hotel is a restored farm complex; it's just gorgeous, relaxing and welcoming. We had a two bed suite as we are a family of four. We ate in the restaurant and the food and service were excellent. They have a few bikes and so we hired them and took advantage of the cycle path which is just next to the hotel. The path is an old railway track, so flat, with a few old stations converted to cafes on the way. A really great family hotel as well as a romantic place for couples. Loved it!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JEAPGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Very nice place to spend a couple of days and explore the area. Before checking in we looked at 2 rooms and choose the one above the entrance. This one had more light and a nice view. Both the restaurant and breakfast are really good. Make a reservation if you want to eat in the restaurant, because it can be busy. Another option is to go into Zuheros for dinner but those restaurant do not match the one in the Hacienda.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Woudan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuheros
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
Hotel Rural Zuhayra
#1 of 2 in Zuheros
144 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
Hotel Mencia Subbetica
#1 of 1 in Dona Mencia
124 reviews
7.7 mi away
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Palomas
Hotel Rural Huerta de las Paloma...
#3 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
MS Fuente las Piedras
19.6 mi away
Hotel Caserio de Iznajar
10.2 mi away
Hotel Las Rosas
Hotel Las Rosas
#4 of 4 in Priego de Cordoba
36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hacienda Minerva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hacienda Minerva

Address: Carretera Zuheros | Doña Mencía Km 9,8, 14870 Zuheros, Spain
Region: Spain > Andalucia > Province of Cordoba > Zuheros
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Zuheros
Price Range: £45 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hacienda Minerva 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hacienda Minerva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing