We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended hotel in beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Mirador de La Franca
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Franca
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Highly recommended hotel in beautiful location”
Reviewed 20 September 2009

My group had very little spanish but we had no problems with the extremely helpful staff in this great hotel. Website pictures don't do the location justice, it is simply breathtaking, but make sure you pay extra for a sea view room.

The rooms were fine and the food was excellent oncluding a buffet breakfast which had everything. If you are looking for fish and chips and real ale you'll be disappointed (thankfully). The food is all local although the menus have english translations. It's about an hour from Santander ferry port so handy enough for the brit traveller. Llanes is 20 km down the road and well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank piebaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    49
    33
    3
    9
See reviews for
33
71
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cornish
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We booked a golfing break through Brittanny Ferries with whom we have used before.
We found our selves having been provided with good diirections at this most fabulous location.
This really is on a parr with the best coves and beaches that cornwall or devon can offer.
The hotel aws clean, quiet and well managed. The food was beautifully cooked, exquisitely presented and a joy to consume in fantastic surroundings. What a fantastic place to take the kids. Lovely fine sand in a safe environment. Great golfing nearby with spectacular views at the municipal course.
I highly recommend this to all except single sex groups of youngsters looking for a lively time.

  • Liked — It's fantastic location right on the beach
  • Disliked — the door to the bedroom difficult to unlock
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank CornishNimblefingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fife
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2008

This was the first holiday abroad that my partner and I have taken my four year old son on. I dont think i could have picked a more family friendly hotel! The staff say that they dont get many British families, mainly spanish, or older couples from the UK. The staff went out there way to accomaodate us in a suite with two bedrooms over looking the wonderful beach. The rooms were kept extremely clean and tidy, the food was wonderful, the breakfast was a feast in itself! My only problem was that there were no window locks on the windows in the room, enabling a four year old to think it might be a good idea to step out of the window onto the tiles of the roof over the restaurant area! However one strict warning and he didnt attempt again! May is a quiet month in Asturias and we mainly had the daily cleaned beach to ourselves most of the time, the caves and rock pools kept my son, myself and partner occupied for hours! We will be back! The funny smell mentioned by previous reviewer might be the trees outside, when it had been raining there was a musty smell from them which lingered in the room if the windows were open, other than that we didnt notice any other strange smells!

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyneth73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry, Vale of Glamorgan, Wales
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2007

We stayed here to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary in June and the photos do not lie, it is in a wonderful position. We were upgraded to one of two rooms with a terrace and walked out of our room down a few steps straight onto the pristine sand. We never saw more than 30 people on the beach even on the hottest days (we had a couple of days of rain as we expected). The hotel was quiet and very little English is spoken, however the receptionist was very helpful although we found the restaurant staff a little formal. Meals were very substantial and beautifully cooked but sometimes we would have liked to have had the option of buying a snack. The buffet breakfasts were to die for with everything you could possibly wish for and the view from the restaurant is quite wonderful. The location is excellent for the mountains as well as the coast and the highlight of our trip was walking in the Picos mountains after taking the cable car at Fuented De. We will definitely revisit this area as it is unspoilt and flights from the UK to Santander are very cheap amaking this an affordable area for a wonderful holiday.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ytrops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2007

Nice family friendly hotel, beautiful beach. Only drawback, the campsite is right in back and they use the same beach which becomes crowded as it is not very large (I suppose that's only in summer high season). Beach caves are beautiful but found trash in some. Our hotel room and parts of the hotel had a strange odor that we could not identify. We did not complain because the staff was very nice. Food was good. Overall pleasant experience.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
5 Thank hope55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 3 November 2005

We arrived to the hotel at night, so we did not see the view until we came down to breakfast. What awaited through the windows was astonishing. This is one of the most beautiful places I have ever seen. The rooms are nice enough, the hotel has a wonder character and the food is fantastic. There is no need to eat anywhere else. The beach is absolutely GORGEOUS, you will not be disappointed.

Stayed April 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 18 April 2005

I can totally agree with the previous comments. I have travelled fairly extensively on golfing holidays and by far this is the most stunning place. The views of the nearby mountains are phenominal and the secluded cove of the hotel is pristine. A return visit is a 'must'. The golf courses at La Cuesta and Santa Marina are totally different and both hold hidden dangers for the errant shots. Myself and my partner 'carried' on the very hilly Santa Marina course and, though I am almost 61yrs old, I found that the lush fairways did not make for an overtiring walk. The concrete cart tracks do pose a problem if your ball happens to land on them. However, our only disapointment was that the greens had just been hollow tined and sanded which made putting a lottery.
A long way on a boat for a short stay but overall I would say it was well worth the effort.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Franca
1.8 mi away
Hotel Rural Valleoscuru
7.4 mi away
Hotel Balcon de la Cuesta
8.9 mi away
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
Hotel Faro De San Vicente
#2 of 10 in San Vicente de la Barquera
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
El Molino de Tresgrandas
El Molino de Tresgrandas
#1 of 2 in Tresgrandas
123 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Miracielos
Hotel Miracielos
#1 of 2 in Barro
151 reviews
12.8 mi away
Hotel Kaype - Quintamar
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mirador de La Franca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mirador de La Franca

Property: Hotel Mirador de La Franca
Address: Playa de la Franca, 33590 La Franca, Spain (Formerly Arcea Hotel Mirador de la Franca)
Region: Spain > Asturias > Ribadedeva Municipality > La Franca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in La Franca
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mirador de La Franca 3*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mirador de La Franca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing