We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of La Bergerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
La Bergerie
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rugy
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel is terribly old and outdated. The rooms are extreemly small and smelling like 1950's. The location of the hotel is not very far from the highway. Breakfast is okay but does not have a wide variety. Food in the restaurant accross is average of quality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 141 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed her one night, and had we think the bad luck that also a bus arrived full with Dutch tourists. The hotel looked nice and friendly and we immediately decided to stay. . We had to wait fifteen minues before some one was able to help us . When we asked to show us the room the woman looked very stressy and disappointed and after a quick thought she showed us the room But she was running! And do did we, not so relaxed.
She told us that the restaurant was open at 7.30 but then all the tourists entered with much noise so we decided to wait an hour. When we arrived and were seated we noticed that not only our receptionist was running all the waiters were and the restaurant was narrow so just along side our table . We asked to sit outside and that they also did not really like It was discussed but we coud sit outside ( not the only guets who chose that) . When the waiter gave us the menu I had to translate it from french it taks soem ytime, but now the waiter was notrunnin He was standing with jhis blocknote and pen besides our table I told him we needed some time and he told us ( it was before 9 pm) that the kitchen would be closed in 10 minutes becuase it was sunday. i told him that that was not normal amd he left angry
Fortunately he came back and took our orders . I think it was an accident but he brought the aperative after he served the meal .
Ok that was the bad thing
the goos\d thing is that the hotel looks very nice we liked the dinner and especially the wines . And to be honmest after that incidents we were served eveything normal and not in a quick tempo
It is difficult to review normal we would have given 4 stars. The room was nice the food was good
The noisy Dutch and the unfriendly staff ruined it. Perhaps a nice staff is more important then all the other factors .... You can accpet noises and a delay when you bring it with a smile and hospitality

Room Tip: do not go when you see a bus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hans b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We were on a stop over from Florence to Glasgow via Amsterdam and wished to see Metz ( what a lovely city ). We arrived a little late due to the traffic , but we were so pleased to have selected the hotel. The bedroom was a little small but was comfortable and perfect, but dinner was the way it use to be - just good french food perfectly cooked as requested and with good old fashioned service.

A keeper!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rogercampbellcrosbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

If you are looking for somewhere to stay en route without going into Metz then La Bergerie is ideally placed just off the auto route. We booked a twin room with parc(garden) view via the Internet the night before arriving & got a good price. The quiet room(no.37) was adequate with pretty curtains & matching headboards , bed was comfortable & the bathroom & seperate toilet with no washbasin was modern & clean. We ate in the restaurant & enjoyed our meal but thought it was a bit pricey. The restaurant staff were very friendly & attentive. We paid an extra 10 euros each for breakfast the next morning for just a basic spread of cereal,cold meats ,cheese, croissant & breads. We felt the hotel staff were not welcoming but not completely unpleasant & as we were staying only one night we felt disappointed but not enough to complain.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 37 on the parc( garden) side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I remember when I was young, this was the favorite restaurant of my grandpa, and it was always a big pleasure for me to go there, the location is great and charming (when the weather is sunny it's like being on vacation) and food was amazing... but as it was long time ago, I decided to turn back there... and it's still that great :)
I love the food, the staff is friendly, and the selection of wine is fitting perfectly with the menu, it's always a nice moment !

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Siestica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2012

We arrived a little late on a Sunday 1:15 and although the manager was unfriendly, cold but perhaps because it was a special Mothers day lunch. Saying that we had one of the best Sunday lunches ever with friends it was fantastic and The waitress’s and waiters were brilliant ! It started with an Amuse d Bouché then a Starter Foie-gras with a small individual baked Brioche loaf & onion comfiture with hint of cinnamon, The fish course was great flavoured sea bass followed by tremendous veal pieces in light pastry with fabulous demi-glaze then local chesses and it ended with fresh wild raspberries in a pastry made of caramel topped with cream. This was a fabulous Sunday lunch that was found by accident.
Although the restaurant was full the service was superb well worth the effort of finding it!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank golfer1157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2010

We've stayed 2 nights at la Bergerie and I must say that we would have chosen an other hotel if all the others wheren't sold out.
The lady at the reception was arguing with one of her collegues as I walked in and even if she saw me she kept on arguing with the other lady. She was not that friendly at check in, she wasn't sure about the room and she gave me a bunch of numbers in one minute: the room number, a digit codeto op the door to the rooms, the openings hours of the restaurant and the opening hours of the breakfast area. I must say that it would be easier if they gave that in writing !

The rooms are small and dated and the bathrooms are EXTREMELY noisy! It' realy absurd, when you are in your room and your next door neighbour is taking a bath you would think that he's in your bath tub!

We had dinner in the restaurant. The food was ok, we tried the menu the territoire = +/- 24 euro for a starter, an entree and dessert which was a very nice price ( the entrees on the menu are all +/- 23 euro!) but the restaurant itself is hidious!!! Paintings everywhere, mirrors, chinese decoration, modern decoration, ancient decoration = just way to much decoration everywhere.
In the breaffast area and lounge this are also overdecorated and that's really a pitty because it looses it's charme and becomes messy.
Breakfast was not that great, not a lot of choice and things wheren't filled up as they got empty....

I would suggest that they sell all of their tacky decoration and make over the hotel.

The only advantage was that it was close to Metz which is a great city!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophietje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugy
10.5 mi away
La Grange de Conde
La Grange de Conde
#1 of 1 in Conde-Northen
265 reviews
4.5 mi away
Golden Tulip Amneville
Golden Tulip Amneville
#2 of 8 in Amneville
495 reviews
16.5 mi away
Le Domaine de La Klauss
Le Domaine de La Klauss
#1 of 1 in Montenach
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Novotel Metz Hauconcourt
Novotel Metz Hauconcourt
#1 of 1 in Hauconcourt
668 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Diane
Hotel Diane
#4 of 8 in Amneville
162 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel La Maison d'Hotes
Hotel La Maison d'Hotes
#3 of 8 in Amneville
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Bergerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Bergerie

Address: 10 Rue de la Bergerie, 57640 Rugy, France
Region: France > Grand Est > Moselle > Rugy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rugy
Price Range: £54 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Bergerie 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Bergerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing