We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel that offers old world charm in a nice setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Santa Brigida
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We were not disappointed by this hotel based on the high expectations we got from the reviews of Tripadvisor. Nice and friendly staff, excellent buffet-style breakfast and a restaurant that offers a wide variety of menu options. The location of this hotel is ideal for exploring the island as you can reach nearly every place within one hour by car.
Although we could always find a parking place for our car in front of the hotel, we noticed that there are sufficient opportunities to park your car in one of the side streets.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FransenCo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketingh, Departamento de Marketing at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,

We would, first of all, like to thank you for taking part of your valuable time sharing your experience through TripAdvisor.

We very much appreciate your comments. Please, allow us to take this opportunity to inform you that our hotel is a 100-year-old building which has been rated a Heritage building.
It is completely refurbished while keeping the charm of the XIXth century, still seen in our magnificent garden and other ornamental details.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our cuisine, since this is one of our main assets.

Thank you once again and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Lourdes Barbero Bretón
Departamento de Marketing
HECANSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 176 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

We chose this hotel because it is not too long a drive from the airport, well located for the Caldera de Bandama and the botanical garden as well as being a short drive into Las Palmas. We were happy with our choice. Stayed two nights. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. There was a wedding party one evening so some music but that did not go on late and it added to the vitality of the place. We didn't have a parking problem - the staff explained to us that we needed to park so that we did not block the pavement which is fair enough. Tried the taster menu - not cheap but it was good value (there is a discount for hotel guests) and it introduced us to Canarian specialities. Excellent breakfast buffet too. The hotel seemed very quiet on the second night.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
4  Thank doopydoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketingh, Departamento de Marketing at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2012

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for having taken part of your valuable time sharing your experience through TripAdvisor.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and particularly our restaurant, where we always try to offer our customers the essence of Canary cuisine with our chef’s special flair.
We are also delighted to know that the hotel location was convenient for your trips and excursions to areas of interest on the island as the Caldera the Bandama and the Botanical Gardens.

Thank you once again for your trust.
We look forward to seeing you back soon.

Lourdes Barbero Bretón
Marketing Department
HECANSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We went to Puerto Rico for holiday but wanted to explore more of the island so we stayed in Santa Brigida for 2 nights. It was lovely to be in an environment that was completely relaxing and different from a resort. It was very quiet, off season in the hotel. It felt like there were only about 5 rooms occupied in the whole hotel but it suited us. We hired a car and had no problem parking outside on the street or on the back street to the hotel. The gardens and pool area were well maintained and clean.

The rooms were spotless and the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times. The bed was comfortable. We used the gym, which looked like it hadn’t been used in a few months. It’s in the basement and very eerie getting to it, down a dark silent hallway and into a small room that has everything in it that you would expect in a gym. But if you fainted in it, I doubt you’d be found for a few days. Pity it's so hidden and unused looking.

The breakfast was poor, chopped fruit, toast and the other general sweet croissants with chocolate you get at a buffet breakfast?? On the second day, they had a breakfast menu on the tables offering hot food but we didn't see this until we had eating all the toast and fruit so didn't bother asking for it then. The menu for the restaurant wasn't appealing or great so we didn't eat dinner there. Instead, we went across the road to a fantastic place called Bentayga which had the best pizza and best food in the area for a really cheap price. (Pizza and wine for 2 = €14), worth a visit for sure.

If I were going to Santa Brigida again, I would stay here and I would recommend to a friend for sure.

Room Tip: All rooms look like they would have a similar view and even if they didn't it wouldn't reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsMBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketingh, Departamento de Marketing at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear guest,
First of all we would like to thank you for dedicating part of your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
We are happy to know that you were pleased with our hotel. It is an emblematic building with over 100 years of history. The hotel facilities are adapted to the original structure of the building. Our maintenance and cleaning staff make periodical visits to all the facilities, so they can attend any incidents.
We are sorry that you could not enjoy our warm breakfast menu and we hope that you will be able to enjoy our restaurant next time, which offers a great variety of Canarian cuisine.
Thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again.

Lourdes Barbero Bretón
Marketing Department
HECANSA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

We had a good week's stay at the good hotel. Staff were friendly and food was good. However, 3 months later, back home, we received a traffic ticket saying we'd parked on the pavement and been a danger to pedestrians. Well, the staff told us to park there. In fact we didn't see anywhere else TO park! I'm not sure if the parking fine, 200 euros, is genuine. It looks it, and it looks very harsh in the circumstances. I'm not even sure how I can pay it from England or check whether it is a genuine fine. Can anyone help with this? (rgj32@hotmail.com if you can please)

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger_Chris32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketingh, Marketing Department at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2011

Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for your kind words published on Tripadvisor. It has been a pleasure to welcome you at the Hotel Escuela Santa Brígida and we are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.

We regret to hear that you have received a traffic ticket and we will do our best to help you with it.
As our staff told you, parking online is allowed on a part of the main street so that we would like to know more details about the matter to find out what happened. Please send us the documents you have received, (marketing@hecansa.com) and as soon as we have any information on how to proceed in this respect we’ll contact you.

Kind regards,

Lourdes Barbero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

I have used many hotels in Las Palmas de Gran Canaria, but once I discovered this I do not even bother about staying in the city.
I visit Canaries on business and luckily some of my clients live up in Santa Brigida which is a very green and beautiful town up above the city.
The Hotel Escuela is right on the main road and about 15 minutes by car from the city or 25 to the airport. Road communciations are verty good and there is also a bus top very near.
It is a beautiful building, probably about 75 years old and has a Colomial feel, The gardens are marvelous and the pool fantastic.
Take a supieror room and look out over the valley and the surrounding hills. You are in a different world up there, and it great for both busines or pleasure. I am not sure if thet have wifi, but your stay is very rlaxing. If you are on walking Holiday you are on the road to the monuntains further up.
The staff are very pleasant, sometimes you ahve a student, but there is always someone else to help out.
Everyhting is quite simple but very clean and very comfortable.

Room Tip: Take the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 11alexis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marketingh, Departemento de Marketing at Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Dear Guest,

Firstly thank you for taking part of your time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We take this opportunity to inform you that the hotel is provided with wi-fi in all areas, and as well there is a computer at the reception available to customers.
Thanks for all your comments, your proposals help us to do it better every day.
Thanks again and we´re looking forward to see you soon.

Lourdes Barbero Bretón
Marketing Department- HECANSA.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

There is a lot more to this hotel than meets the eye - but a bit of investigation is needed. There is a gym, a reading room with a lovely roof terrace overlooking the pool area, a bar (only open when weddings are on). It is a school to enhance the service provision of tourism in Gran Canaria, so lots of people coming and going a lot of the day. There is a nice pool but not heated, with a terrace which has the sun most of the day. Across the road is a good bar which sells some of the best pizza I have ever tasted - and they freeze their glasses, which is a nice touch. I would recommend a car, although I'm led to believe public transport is fairly okay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheilaM62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights. I usually stay with friends, but this time we stayed at this hotel. So I can't really compare it to other hotels on the Island, but I was happy here. The internet worked. It seemed to struggle when we first tried to get on and once in a while after that, but I was able to skype back to the US several times. The first night, I felt the beds where to firm for my liking, but I must have gotten use to it quickly because it didn't bother me the following nights. The rooms were clean and I enjoyed the breakfast, which was free. We ate only 2 of the days and didn't relax long enough to eat anything other than the buffet, but it was sufficient. One night I was hot, the A/C didn't seem to work with great consistency, but this hotel is up higher and the air is cooler. Our window was right near a street light so we couldn't leave it open. Most nights I slept great. We had to cheat and leave one of our cards in the sensor so the A/C would stay on while we were gone. I would be very comfortable staying at this motel again. They staff was awesome. I speak spanish but they speak english as well as I speak spanish.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Brigida
14.8 mi away
RK Hotel El Cabo
RK Hotel El Cabo
#2 of 8 in Agaete
173 reviews
8 mi away
Hotel El Refugio
Hotel El Refugio
#2 of 4 in Tejeda
167 reviews
14.3 mi away
Elba Vecindario Aeropuerto Business & Convention Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
La Aldea Suites Hotel
La Aldea Suites Hotel
#1 of 1 in San Nicolas
110 reviews
14.7 mi away
Hotel & Spa Cordial Roca Negra
1.9 mi away
Hotel Rural El Mondalon
Hotel Rural El Mondalon
#1 of 1 in Marzagan
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida

Address: Calle Real de Coello 2 | Santa Brígida, 35310 Santa Brigida, Gran Canaria, Spain
Region: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Santa Brigida
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Santa Brigida
Price Range: £53 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Escuela Santa Brigida Hotel
Hotel Escuela Santa Brigida Gran Canaria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing