We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge room”
Review of Hotel Regio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Regio
Reviewed 13 June 2014

The Room was huge, it had three big beds. Two of them together and a separate one on the other side. There was a small hall and then a bathroom that was big. Staff was helpful. Breakfast did not have a good variety that was to be expected. Dinner was a little flavorless. Carrot soup was ok, Fish was not salted, potatoes were ok. Desert was only fruit.
The location was a little away from everything on the outskirts of Salamanca with an abandoned house across the streets and sheep roaming around. The Room was huge, it had three big beds. Two of them together and a separate one on the other side. There was a small hall and then a bathroom that was big. Staff was helpful. Breakfast did not have a good variety that was to be expected. Dinner was a little flavorless. Carrot soup was ok, Fish was not salted, potatoes were ok. Desert was only fruit.
The location was a little away from everything on the outskirts of Salamanca with an abandoned house across the streets and sheep roaming around. The Room was huge, it had three big beds. Two of them together and a separate one on the other side. There was a small hall and then a bathroom that was big. Staff was helpful. Breakfast did not have a good variety that was to be expected. Dinner was a little flavorless. Carrot soup was ok, Fish was not salted, potatoes were ok. Desert was only fruit.
The location was a little away from everything on the outskirts of Salamanca with an abandoned house across the streets and sheep roaming around. The Room was huge, it had three big beds. Two of them together and a separate one on the other side. There was a small hall and then a bathroom that was big. Staff was helpful. Breakfast did not have a good variety that was to be expected. Dinner was a little flavorless. Carrot soup was ok, Fish was not salted, potatoes were ok. Desert was only fruit.
The location was a little away from everything on the outskirts of Salamanca with an abandoned house across the streets and sheep roaming around.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Todor K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2014

We used the Regio as an overnight stop on the way from Seville to Santander to catch the ferry. Our main priority as to have somewhere to park the 3.5 tonne Luton van we had hired for the journey without too much hassle. The Regio was perfect in this respect as it has a huge, well laid out car park and is just out of Salamanca.

Although it is about 4 miles outside Salamanca central, it's not in the middle of nowhere, Santa Marta de Tormes is a great little town in it's own right and the bus to Salamanca was 2.20 euros and every 15 mins). The hotel itself was a very pleasant surprise considering how little it cost.

Particular praise for the friendly & helpful staff and superb cleaning standards which were exemplary throughout. The whole experience certainly exceeded my expectations.

The only negatives I can mention would be the slightly dated décor (mid 90's Spanish resort styling) but it actually had a bit of charm in that respect. My only other observation was the somewhat unstable WiFi (but as it was free, I do feel a bit guilty grumbling!)

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSkegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Of the 8 campsites we stayed on during our 2013 tour this was the one that disappointed. On paper this one looked good. In reality our faces dropped.

As we arrived during the low season the reception building was closed so we booked in at the reception desk in the hotel.

As we drove onto the site it looked as if there had been no maintenance since the previous season. Grass on some pitches was knee high and there were no bins.

We found a pitch were the grass was not to long and was reasonably solid underfoot.

The sanitary block looked as if it had not been cleaned for a few days. The toilets themselves look as if they had been recently refurbished but the showers had not and were quite dated.

Upon arrival we received a discount voucher for a meal in the hotel. We used it and experienced the worst meal we had in Spain - ever.

Campers are able to use the extensive facilities in the hotel including tennis courts and swimming pool.

There is a good bus service which picks up at the site and goes into the centre of Salamanca.

As we left on 31st May the mower man arrived. Things might be better maintained during the summer but we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barsar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

So for the camping here it's good, plenty of hot water, good showers and clothes washing facilities. This next bit might sound odd to some, but if you've camped in Spain and Portugal you will understand, the sinks have mixer taps that stay on, toilets have seats and paper, the electric supply is ample and there is WiFi all over the site, the also take ACSI cards here.
If you are camping you can get discounts for the cafe/restaurant at reception, there is no problem using the reception area and bar, I sat there using the internet and letting our little girl run about a little, there is a play area for kids but it was a bit wet while we were here for her to use it. There is a pool but it's closed in the winter.

As for the Hotel, the rooms are clean, there's a mini bar and the usual TV etc, there was no lock in the safe, I guess you probably have to pay extra for this. We did have a problem with the shower head, but this was change and then the shower was good.

In the off peak season the rooms offer reasonable rates and it makes very little difference to include breakfast (I've not checked the peak prices), the breakfast itself is good, it offers the usual cereals, croissants, bread rolls etc, but it also offers toast and a cooked breakfast selection.

The staff are bilingual friendly and helpful.
It was a pleasant stay, the only down side I guess is it's quite a long way from the center of town, there is a bus that runs every hour, but it does go about the houses a bit on the way into town.

Salamanca is very worth a visit, such great architecture.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank moojw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel is best accessed with a car for sure, because you have to drive out to get to Salamanca. Reception was basic, and we only realised later when we were in Salamanca that we were not offered a city map, as we often are in city hotels. The room is a reasonable size and the bathroom was also good. Wifi was often dropped.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripchoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed one nite on road trip from Pau (France) to Porto (Portugal) with a boy and a baby. After a long tired ride, we got a big room, big bed and a free extra bed and luxury bathroom. Dont need to walk around to find good food, The hotel also have a restaurant. They also have swimming pool, gym etc but closed during winter. Hotel area is big, we also found out that they have camping area and bungalows. Breakfast was generous. They have bacon, egg, jambon, cheese, sausage, croissant, cakes, many kind of cereal in box for kids, fresh orange juice, milk, yogurt. Everybody was nice too, and i really like the quiet ambience, far from the crowd, so relaxing. One dissapointing thing is the room was a liltle smelly because of humidity.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank HennyKheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed here in a caravan for a few nights in early November and I guess that the Regio campsite would be a very different place in summer. It is a big site with well over 100 places so the large rooms in the shower block were quite eerie with only maybe half a dozen caravans/motor homes in winter.
On the plus side, the site is very conveniently placed for exploring Salamanca and has an hourly bus service right to the door. The shower block was always clean and the bilingual staff in the hotel reception were always polite and helpful.
On the negative, the wifi didn't reach across to the camping and we weren't allowed to use the tennis court - even though we had our own racquets & balls and the net was still up - because there weren't any staff available to supervise the swimming pool which was in the same area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephjb2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Marta de Tormes
1.7 mi away
Hotel Horus Salamanca
Hotel Horus Salamanca
#2 of 2 in Santa Marta de Tormes
295 reviews
2.0 mi away
Emperatriz III
Emperatriz III
#50 of 70 in Salamanca
190 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tryp Salamanca Montalvo Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Hotel Dona Brigida
Hotel Dona Brigida
#27 of 70 in Salamanca
446 reviews
3.3 mi away
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
Vincci Ciudad de Salamanca
#8 of 70 in Salamanca
741 reviews
2.5 mi away
Ibis Salamanca
Ibis Salamanca
#13 of 70 in Salamanca
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Regio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Regio

Address: Carretera Madrid Km. 4, 37900 Santa Marta de Tormes, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Salamanca > Santa Marta de Tormes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Marta de Tormes
Price Range: £41 - £69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Regio 4*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Regio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamanca Regio Hotel
Hotel Regio Province Of Salamanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing