We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat
Stuttgart
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Holiday Inn Express San Cugat is located approx. 20km outside of Barcelona's city centre close to the AP7. Travelling as a family, the hotel was the perfect location for us for our stop-over on our way to Malaga. The service was very good. Just the size of the family room was smaller than expected. It was a standard room, just the sofa was turned into a bed. So there was no space to sit down on the desk to work on a laptop.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robtraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    139
    79
    14
    15
See reviews for
133
48
7
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carpentras, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

ok, but, awful. location was great for Barcelona; a metro was quite nearby. the female evening receptionist was kind of creepy... not a nice experience. I couldn't believe you had to pay for WiFi! Then, after entering the room, and the lights didn't work, I had to return to the receptionist and asked if I had to pay extra for that, too. She made a snotty remark about some local process no one could know about a-priori, and snickered to the next person in line as I left. food, bland, but passable, wine inexpensive, surprised by the e8.00 charge per person for breakfast. the shower handle bracket was broken; had to be handheld. If I were in xxx, it would even be expected, but not w/ a snotty receptionist in a 0.8929rd-world country!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear michael g,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is unfortunate that we were not able to deliver based on your expectations on this visit especially with the service received from our staff and if you were unhappy with the Wifi charges. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in a family room - bed and sofabed. Was ok just for the night but any more than that I would've got another room for the children. Sat nav & googlemaps found it hard to pin point the hotel however once you get to the 2 or 3 roundabouts before the hotel is sign posted. Breakfast was a little hectic with long queues for cereal but as long as you're patient there's not a big problem. There were the usual pastries and a few cold meats in plentiful supply however juices were disappointing. What was being passed off as orange juice was nothing short of an embarrassment - water with an orange tint is a more apt description. I would stay for 1 night again (using the corporate rate) but I would take my own juice. Finally a big thanks to the lovely Anna on reception for all her help.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_O_M_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sierra Vista
Level Contributor
100 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2013

We chose this hotel because it was outside of the normal rumble-tumble of Barcelona proper and we wanted some sleep -- not dump trucks at 3am or teenage hostelers shooting off fireworks. The hotel is conveniently located right by the Sant Joan FGC stop (railroad), which goes all the way into Pl. Catalunya and you can connect anywhere in the city from there. A ride costs 2.80 one-way.

While the location *is* quiet, the management seems to have some issues to work out. As a PriorityClub Gold member, we booked online and stayed with points. However, when we arrived at the hotel, the room we initially received had two twin beds instead of one queen. The night manager was able to swap us into a different room - albeit a handicapped one with a non-standard shower - but we were able to get a good night's rest. The next morning we took our luggage down (again, on his instruction) for transfer to our new room - except we didn't know what room that would be. We just left our luggage in the hotel hold. That evening when we went to claim it, we were asked for tickets, but no tickets were ever issued. It wasn't a problem, but illustrates some lack of communication among the management team.

The worst was returning our second night. There was only one night auditor on duty, and she had a particularly troublesome family trying to check in. A long line full of frustrated people was building behind her, but rather than put them "on hold" and only have 1 frustrated family she build up a line of 3 or 4.

Another issue was the breakfast; while offering a pretty broad selection of foods, the new product seemed to come out at odd times and generally disrupted the line. However, I can't blame that on the hotel; I think the "line etiquette" may be different among all the different nationalities staying there.

All in all I don't think I would return to this hotel, but it served it's purpose in that we had a place to put our heads for the nights we stayed in Barcelona.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Dear Matthew F,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review about our property. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guest. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into and that your comments will be used to monitor future improvements needed.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel in 2011 July...holiday inn is same everywhere globally ........no taste in there breakfast whatsoever......... I agree that there room price is cheaper compare to other hotels, only reason I stay because it's American chain and I feel comfortable. Nearest metro is 10 min walking and you have to walk because the walkway is right behind the hotel........its little scary at night so be careful.. Avoid late night travelling

Room Tip: choose city hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priti j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this review, 23 May 2013
Dear priti j,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. It is good to know that you found our room accommodations to be sufficient for your needs. I regret however, that the breakfast served during your visit did not live up to your liking. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

I sincerely hope that the next time you are in the area, you give our hotel another try.

Regards,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

I stayed here for two weeks while I spread my fathers ashes around Spain. I chose the hotel because of the price and location to Barcelona. It's about 20 minutes from the city. I felt welcomed every time I walked though the door and the staff always remembered my name. I was given great recommendations for all I asked. The breakfast is small. I loved this though! I lost 5lbs being on a Spanish diet due to portions and natural bases to the food though out the country. I would recommend to the traveler looking to explore or who is on business.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OhLaLaZahzah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel 4 nights during eastern period, it is very far from the city center and takes nearly 35min by regional train-s2 To go to palaça de katalonya station bercolana. The breakfast is weak, only bread, tomato souce,ham,cheese.. Realy week, every day they serve same breakfast.. Nearly there are 3 trains in one hour from city center to the hotel..

for me it is not a good place to visit barcelona city center..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neslihan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Neslihan B,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. I am truly sorry to hear that the breakfast options served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Thank you again for your review and we hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.


Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Cugat del Valles
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#286 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
AC Hotel Sant Cugat
#1 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
H2 Sant Cugat
#6 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sant Cugat
#2 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
BlueBay City Barcelona Sant Cuga...
#5 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat

Property: Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat
Address: Avda. De Can Fatjo Dels Aurons S/N | Parc Empresarial A7, 08174 Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sant Cugat del Valles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sant Cugat del Valles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, IHG, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat Hotel Sant Cugat
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat Sant Cugat Del Valles, Province Of Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing