We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Not a bad hotel - it's ideally located for staff/visitors to the HP building, and is within walking distance to the train station providing easy access to Sant Cugat town centre and Barcelona.
The rooms are pleasent, and world news channels are provided on all televisions in the rooms. The bathrooms are clean and modern, and coffee making facilities are provided too.
A continental breakfast is included, and is perfectly adequate.
We did however try the hotel restaurant once for an evening meal - which wasn't great. The turkey I ordered came under cooked, and was therefore inedible and service was quite slow.
Overall, not bad - housekeeping, location, and comfort were all perfectly reasonable.

Room Tip: Would recommend travellers ask for a room on a lower floor so as to spend less time waiting for the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

Hotel is brand new with a really good value for money.
Rooms are comfortable and clean and those at the 5th have nice view.
Wi-fi is included in the rate.
Restaurant with a basic offer, globally correct anyway.
Not far from Barcelona, accessible only by car.
If you want use GPS refer to geographical coordinates because address is not known.

Room Tip: Ask for 5th floor rooms, some have a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninopoliti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Booked this hotel on business as it was reasonably close to my customers and generally speaking I know what to expect from this chain of hotels. I don't expect a lot, mind you. Cleanliness, polite staff and a reasonable nights sleep.

The hotel is clean, but when I got to the room it was exceptionally cold. The air-conditioning unit was set so that it would automatically switch off if you tried to make it blow out hot air. I soon found out why.

I called reception and told them that the room was freezing and could they provide a heater. The staff said, "Can't you use an extra blanket?" I asked for heating again and was told they would not provide any. I told them about the air con, they informed me that the heating in rooms was not activated until the end of October. It was the last week of October already, but that didn't matter. I was told to wrap up in a blanket two more times before I gave up.

The bed was about as soft as a piece of wood with foam on it and the 'hot' water for the shower/bath was lukewarm.

Eating facilities are down to bare basics here as well, so you need to find somewhere else to eat.

Overall, this place is a bit of a disaster.

Room Tip: Just avoid this place at all costs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryoma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Ryoma C,

Thank you for your review regarding your recent visit at our hotel and for providing us with your valuable feedback. I am sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. This is definitely not up to our standards and we are constantly working on improving the quality of service provided. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Rooms were clean and comfortable and staff were professional and helpful.
Location of hotel seemed a little isolated yet convenient to metro Barcelona
by a 20-minute train ride. Front desk associate Eva was particularly amicable
and helpful. A great no-frill stay you'd expect from Holiday Inn Express.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The Holiday Inn Express San Cugat is located approx. 20km outside of Barcelona's city centre close to the AP7. Travelling as a family, the hotel was the perfect location for us for our stop-over on our way to Malaga. The service was very good. Just the size of the family room was smaller than expected. It was a standard room, just the sofa was turned into a bed. So there was no space to sit down on the desk to work on a laptop.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robtraut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

ok, but, awful. location was great for Barcelona; a metro was quite nearby. the female evening receptionist was kind of creepy... not a nice experience. I couldn't believe you had to pay for WiFi! Then, after entering the room, and the lights didn't work, I had to return to the receptionist and asked if I had to pay extra for that, too. She made a snotty remark about some local process no one could know about a-priori, and snickered to the next person in line as I left. food, bland, but passable, wine inexpensive, surprised by the e8.00 charge per person for breakfast. the shower handle bracket was broken; had to be handheld. If I were in xxx, it would even be expected, but not w/ a snotty receptionist in a 0.8929rd-world country!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear michael g,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel. It is unfortunate that we were not able to deliver based on your expectations on this visit especially with the service received from our staff and if you were unhappy with the Wifi charges. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

We would welcome the opportunity to serve you again and make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night in a family room - bed and sofabed. Was ok just for the night but any more than that I would've got another room for the children. Sat nav & googlemaps found it hard to pin point the hotel however once you get to the 2 or 3 roundabouts before the hotel is sign posted. Breakfast was a little hectic with long queues for cereal but as long as you're patient there's not a big problem. There were the usual pastries and a few cold meats in plentiful supply however juices were disappointing. What was being passed off as orange juice was nothing short of an embarrassment - water with an orange tint is a more apt description. I would stay for 1 night again (using the corporate rate) but I would take my own juice. Finally a big thanks to the lovely Anna on reception for all her help.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark_O_M_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Cugat del Valles
AC Hotel Sant Cugat
#1 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
235 reviews
H2 Sant Cugat
#6 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
173 reviews
Hotel Sant Cugat
#3 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
BlueBay City Barcelona Sant Cuga...
#5 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
105 reviews
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat

Address: Avda. De Can Fatjo Dels Aurons S/N | Parc Empresarial A7, 08174 Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sant Cugat del Valles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sant Cugat del Valles
Price Range: £55 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat Hotel Sant Cugat
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat Sant Cugat Del Valles, Province Of Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing