We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value for your money” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat
Herzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good value for your money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for business nearby for a duration of 3 nights.
Was a nice hotel about 30 minutes from Barcelona center.
Clean rooms with minimal amaneties, nothing to do nearby but thats the area .
Breakfast was nothing much all cakes were dry and the variety was really minimal, no eggs or vegetables , the orange juice was so sweet it was impossible to drink.
Beds were really hard and pillows pretty small.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amitbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Amitbah,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to know that you found our rooms clean. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered with the breakfast, bed and pillows. Rest assured that we take all comments seriously so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    139
    79
    14
    15
See reviews for
133
48
7
67
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Exeter
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of a trip to the area as my brother lives in Sant Cugat.
The Holiday Inn overlooks the motorway and is in no way pretty! We did however have both a massive thunderstorm and a very impressive sunrise over the mountains!
The room was fine and the breakfast free....
The service was polite and efficient and all in all this provided everything you might expect from a budget business hotel. Good value for money.
Look out for the railway sleepers in the carpark which caught us out in the dark!!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ExeterMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile


Good value for a budget trip to Barcelona. The hotel is located in a suburban office area and is just a few minutes walk to the FGC S2/S55 train station. The trains runs very frequently (no more than a few minutes wait in my experience) and I took it (about 30 minutes) everyday to their downtown terminus of Cataluna station from where I started my city tour. The hotel is in the transportation Zone 2 area so I bought a T10 Zone 2 ticket (20.30 EUR, can be shared) for ten trips. The staff was courteous. The room was basic but clean. The hot water had changing temperature but is acceptable. The WIFI signal was good for my laptop but weak for my iPhone. It looked strong on the iPhone display but kept dropping, until I used it in the bathroom where the connection was a lot better.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I stayed for one night and must say that the Hotel was very nice.
A typical Holiday Inn Express with free breakfast spanish style. Staff was helpull and the location is very convenient.
A decen tHoliday Inn Express Hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wenzl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The rooms are basic but nevertheless good quality and well designed. The beds are firm but comfortable and the total silence and lack of noise from adjacent rooms allow a good night's sleep. Given that the rooms are designed with attention to detail, it is surprising that that the hotel neglected to install any power sockets near the bed. There were no international news channels on the television in my room although the television in the bar area was showing BBC World one evening; I was told that this was a temporary fault. The water pressure was also rather low. I was pleased that a hotel of this level provided flannels but unfortunately they omitted to provide soap, only shower gel. Breakfast was good and held back my hunger each day until the late Spanish lunchtime.

The staff speak good English (and a variety of other languages) and the level of service was also good. For example, my colleagues and I all experienced a fault with the wifi and after I gave a technical explanation of the fault to the hotel, they forwarded it to their technical support people and it was fixed by the time we got back to the hotel in the evening. The wifi is free if you are member of IHG Rewards Club, the hotel's loyalty scheme which is free to join. Effectively therefore anyone can get free wifi.

The hotel bar and restaurant area is frequented by two surprising groups of visitors - several friendly cats and plenty of local police who spend their coffee breaks in the hotel bar. The almost constant police presence in the hotel makes it feel very safe, although the area feels safe anyway.

I saw in a previous review that the turkey was undercooked. I experienced the same problem here twice with chicken, although the staff took it seriously (without me making a fuss) and said they would ensure the chef didn't continue making such mistakes.

I would particularly recommend this hotel if you are visiting one of the many businesses in the area rather than Barcelona. Sant Joan FGC (light rail) station is 6 minutes' walk away which is a 30 further minutes by train to Plaça de Catalunya in Barcelona for €3 one way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
148 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

When on business trip, no time for tourism, no time for swimming. Most of the time meals are taken care of with clients. So you just need basic service from an hotel. Why to waste ?
Part of ihg group, run by gentle staff, easy access. No complains

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank XavierMelisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear XavierMelisse,

Thank you for your feedback about our property. I am happy to know that the service received from our staff met your standards and our location was easily accessible. It is always nice to receive commendable feedback from our valued guests like you.

I hope you see us soon should your travels bring you back to the area!

Regards,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 days whilst training at the HP Centre. The room was very nice and comfy but the bath was lethal. The bath is so slippy underfoot, when I stepped into the shower. My legs started doing the Scooby-doo run, I fell back nearly ripping the shower door off and landed on my back, looking up at a strange red light, in the bathroom. I will not mention the massive black hair, which was wrapped around my plug!!
Over 2 hours!! Thats how long it took me to get a drink with my meal here. I kept asking and being told that it would be 1 minute. It would have been quicker to brew the beer myself I think?? Service is not very good and its hard to communicate with most of the staff.
If you want good food and good service, then get on the cheap train and eat elsewhere. I know its quite a new hotel but they need to get it sorted out before they get a bad reputation!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sant Cugat del Valles hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Cugat del Valles
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#286 of 522 in Barcelona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,386 reviews
AC Hotel Sant Cugat
#1 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
H2 Sant Cugat
#6 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
3.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sant Cugat
#2 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
BlueBay City Barcelona Sant Cuga...
#5 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat

Property: Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat
Address: Avda. De Can Fatjo Dels Aurons S/N | Parc Empresarial A7, 08174 Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sant Cugat del Valles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Sant Cugat del Valles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, IHG, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, Ebookers, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat Hotel Sant Cugat
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat Sant Cugat Del Valles, Province Of Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing