We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel let down by breakfast chaos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We had a three night stay here. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised. The hotel was clean, the rooms looked brilliant, great bathroom, comfortable beds.
The only thing that let is down was breakfast, it is poorly laid out which causes long queues.
Examples: the cereal is in the first section, the milk is in the second section.
The second section starts with the toaster, so people have to wait while people cook their toast, which has to go through twice as it only cooks one side at a time.
Sort the breakfast stuff out at it would have got 4 stars.
The nearest train station is a few minutes walk away with trains every 20 mins to Plaza Catalyuna. The train trip itself is 30 minutes, So you are a bit out of the way, but the hotel does have free parking which is a plus.
The other slight negative is trying to get a drink in the bar in the evening. You have to wait until the receptionist is free, and if they are booking in lots of people then it may be some time.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MKDons66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear MKDons66,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments online. I am truly sorry to hear that you were inconvenienced with the breakfast preparation and set-up. Rest assured that your comments will be looked into and take actions accordingly. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (347)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

This hotel is just 30 minutes away from the airport by car. It's a standard Holiday Inn Express property that gives you exactly what you can expect of a HIX.

There is plenty of parking on the hotel's property, but there's also plenty of (free) street parking if the parking lot is full.

Staff was generally friendly, however we bumped into one front desk member who was a bit less caring. Other than than the hotel staff cannot be faulted for anything.

Rooms were small, but large enough to move around in, beds were a bit on the hard side for my taste, but comfortable enough to get a good night's rest (or maybe I was just really tired at the end of each day).

No noise can be heard from the street and the curtains ensured the room was fully darkened, even in the mornings when the sun was up and shining.

Breakfast can be really crowded. One day we decided to skip breakfast at the hotel and eat outside as the breakfast queue was extremely long.

As IHG platinum you are offered free internet (which was not working 80% of the time, which in our case was just fine as we were mostly not in the hotel anyway, but if you're there on business this may be an important thing) and a voucher for 300 IHG reward points or a beverage voucher for their bar.

All in all it was an average to good experience in a decent property. I would definitely return if going to Barcelona and renting a car.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stefan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear sharijono,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. It is always our goal to provide convenient and world class service to our guests. We apologize we were not able to exceed your expectations during your stay. Please be assured that these will be looked into so our team can take actions accordingly.

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we would welcome the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

FGC train (S2) from terminus (Placa Catalunya) to Sant Joan took about 30 minutes. However, the signage near Sant Joan station could definitely be improved. Fortunately I was arriving just around sunset so there was still light. There is a tiny Holiday Inn Express sign stuck to the pole outside the carpark, but nothing after that (including after passing the footbridge into the 'business park' building area). Hotel directional signage definitely needs improvement.

Rooms were as expected, a toned down budget version of Holiday Inn. Breakfast was acceptable and starts at 7am.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thetravellinghker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent four nights at the end of our Summer trip through south Spain. The hotel offer excellent accommodations with breakfast for a very reasonable price. The rooms are well equipped, clean and of reasonable size. Breakfast is more that satisfactory. This hotel is a good destination if you travel by car: parking is free and safe. Moreover, there is a very convenient connection by train to Plaza the Catalunya: 30' trip, running every 15'-20' for 6 Euro (roundtrip).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank forket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We spent four nights at the end of our Summer trip through south Spain. The hotel offer excellent accommodations with breakfast for a very reasonable price. The rooms are well equipped, clean and of reasonable size. Breakfast is more that satisfactory. This hotel is a good destination if you travel by car: parking is free and safe. Moreover, there is a very convenient connection by train to Plaza the Catalunya: 30' trip, running every 15'-20' for 6 Euro (roundtrip).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcello F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for business nearby for a duration of 3 nights.
Was a nice hotel about 30 minutes from Barcelona center.
Clean rooms with minimal amaneties, nothing to do nearby but thats the area .
Breakfast was nothing much all cakes were dry and the variety was really minimal, no eggs or vegetables , the orange juice was so sweet it was impossible to drink.
Beds were really hard and pillows pretty small.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Amitbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2014

Dear Amitbah,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to know that you found our rooms clean. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered with the breakfast, bed and pillows. Rest assured that we take all comments seriously so that we can improve and provide the exceptional service that our guests expect and deserve.

Sincerely,

Charisse V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here at the end of a trip to the area as my brother lives in Sant Cugat.
The Holiday Inn overlooks the motorway and is in no way pretty! We did however have both a massive thunderstorm and a very impressive sunrise over the mountains!
The room was fine and the breakfast free....
The service was polite and efficient and all in all this provided everything you might expect from a budget business hotel. Good value for money.
Look out for the railway sleepers in the carpark which caught us out in the dark!!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank ExeterMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Cugat del Valles
AC Hotel Sant Cugat
#1 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
232 reviews
Poblenou
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona City 22
H2 Sant Cugat
#6 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Sant Cugat
#3 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
185 reviews
BlueBay City Barcelona Sant Cuga...
#5 of 6 in Sant Cugat del Valles
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat

Address: Avda. De Can Fatjo Dels Aurons S/N | Parc Empresarial A7, 08174 Sant Cugat del Valles, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Barcelona > Sant Cugat del Valles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Sant Cugat del Valles
Price Range: £46 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat 3*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat Hotel Sant Cugat
Holiday Inn Express Barcelona-Sant Cugat Sant Cugat Del Valles, Province Of Barcelona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing