We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Eurostars Monumento Monasteiro de San Clodio
Nearby Hotels
US$89
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Pazo O'Rial(Vilagarcia de Arousa)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Castelao(Vilagarcia de Arousa)
US$94
US$91
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Vialmar(Pontevedra)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rosita(Cambados)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A Marina Hotel(Cambados)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (105)
Filter reviews
105 results
Traveller rating
52
38
8
3
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
38
8
3
4
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 105 reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2013

It really does pay to get to get off the beaten track in Spain. This beautiful old building was once a monastery in the 12th century. Built of granite blocks 1.5 meters thick made by hand and now lovingly restored by the local Provincial Government. The rooms are situated on the first floor around two cloisters and most have splendid views of the surrounding countryside,the gardens with a plunge pool or the village. We had a suite with a four poster bed which was very comfortable and tastefully decorated.
We dined in the hotel which was a very pleasant experience as the food was excellent. The chef Danni Garcia was also the waiter for breakfast which included scrambled eggs and bacon. Superb. He also recommended a visit to a local winery Casal de Armans which was very good advice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This is absolutely a great hotel. Nice rooms within an historical monaster.
As monaster, it is bit isolated and far from the closest main city of ourense.
However, there are good street indication to arrive there.
rooms, inside court, rural landscape and small pool and breakfast are good.
To be improved to get to excellet possibly the reception (1 person handling clients and phone calls) and the decoration details.
Good ratio quality/price.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Franchinii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013 via mobile

We just stayed at the Monasterio de San Clodio for two nights. The hotel is a renovated monastery dating back from the 12th century, and the renovation is done with great respect to the original architecture.

The rooms are simply stunning. Our "basic" double room was well over 30m2 and the ceiling height was over five meters. The bathroom was great and all in all the room was extremely clean and well kept.

There is a nice little swimming pool in the backyard of the monastery. You can easily relax there inside the stone walls.

The hotel also has a restaurant and as ther really were not too many other options close by, we decided to have dinner there the first night. We were the only guests in the restaurant, which is always a bit strange, but then again it was in the middle of the week and only a couple of other rooms were occupied at the time in the hotel. The young waiter was very nice and treated us really well. The food was decent, but the prices weren't high either, so the value was pretty ok.

The breakfast was served to tables, which is a nice thing. They served tea/coffee, freshly squeezed orange juice, toasted bread with jam, pastries and upon request also scrambled eggs, jamon, lomo, cheeses and fruits.

The ladies at the reception were not the most service oriented ones and were not able to provide too much information of the area. They should at least be able to recommend some wineries in the area, as is in the middle of wine region.

If you want to experience something totally different, don't hesitate to book a stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jouluhauki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

This hotel is one of the great revitalized properties in Spain, where they took an old structure with so much history and turned it into a modern marvel.

It's one of my favorite places in the world - not the hotel experience itself, but the fact that you are getting such great history along with your stay.

It's somewhere that you might want to visit just to see the structure itself, but then you can actually stay in a room there too - which is amazing.

Don't go expecting a luxurious accommodation, as it’s a basic room and basic amenities. But, it’s like staying in an old castle – but in this case, it’s an old monastery.

Wonderful place, quiet countryside, feels like a place you might want to go and meditate, with a few paths around the property to explore.

Best of all, their rates are reasonable.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravlAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

We were very fortunate to be looking for a hotel and wedding venue in the immediate area and came across the Monasteiro de San Clodio. We fell in love with the hotel as soon as we walked through grand entrance and into the cloisters. The Monasteiro is surrounded by vineyards and amazing picture postcard views.

My wife and myself both from London with relatives in Spain were left to organise our wedding from abroad. We met the manager Ruben who assisted with every detail. They wedding day was unforgettable, the food and wine amazing, all our guests from London had the best day.

The rooms are spacious and are of a very high standard. Perfect for a weekend away.

If you are thinking of having a wedding in Spain and like wine, food, amazing views, and beautiful location then this is the place to have it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank galicia1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews