We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
SHG Hotel Catullo Verona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 24 January 2013 via mobile

Locaton great on the highway. Rooms are clean and. Pleasent. Its not in the city. Food is ok. And its in an indestrial place.
Staff was frendly. And for overnight stay its a good choice. Price was good.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Avi-lu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    157
    120
    45
    27
See reviews for
71
112
18
138
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I have always trusted The Holiday Inn name ... I loved my stay at The Holiday Inn in Madrid, and same with the one in Lisbon ... here I was seriously confused by whether it should be in line with Holiday Inn name. It did not stand up to the good service it offered. I paid for the superior room and I don't really think a robe and slippers really makes it any more superior to a standard. But that's beside the point, the reason why I was confused because there was no feeling it was a hotel. Yes, it had a bar. Yes, it had a restaurant. Yes, breakfast could be brought to the room. That's where it stopped. The bar closed just before 11 which was unsatisfactory. The restaurant was superb, and it did offer lunch, which was useful on my last day. However, here was no encouragement by the hotel to use it and was left empty. The reason for no encouragement. There was no information in the room about any of the facilities! No information on wake-up calls, no information on hotel amenities, no information on a wake-up service, no informaton on whether room service was offered. By not providing infomation made me think there was no interest by the hotel in doing anything. That's where I am confused!

The room was clean and the furnishings were average for a hotel room, but I still don't really get what I got for the upgrade. I did find the lack of power sockets annoying, for instance I had to charge my phone I had to unplug the TV! And if you do offer tea, coffee and a kettle, surely you place it near a socket? Not in this case. Oh, and when I put the 'do not disturb' sign on door that is what I want ... so why did I get a phonecall from reception early in the morning asking if I wanted my room cleaned?!

Enough said.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thetraveller089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at SHG Hotel Catullo Verona, responded to this review, 7 January 2013
Dear thetraveller089,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. It is nice to know that you found the room clean. Please accept my apologies for falling short of your expectations. Your comments are being reviewed by the hotel's management and appropriate action will be taken. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Martino Buon Albergo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012

We did not made reservation in advance.We were traveling by car and I was too tired to go on and hotel was by the highway so we stopped for a night.
Room was borderline clean. Linen had a bad smell. Industrial detergent I think. Bathroom dirty by any standard. Maybe they grow fungus as decoration but I did not liked it.
Extra charge for wi-fi. OK that is their right.
Breakfast worse I had in any hotel for a looooooong time. And biggest surprise BAD Coffee. That is big surprise because in Italy that is just not possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at SHG Hotel Catullo Verona, responded to this review, 5 December 2012
Dear Steve M,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on your stay. My apologies for the inconvenience you experienced over the cleanliness of the room and bathroom. In addition, I am sorry to hear that the food and coffee served during your travel did not live up to your expectations. Thank you for alerting us and bringing these unsatisfactory circumstances into the light as these will allow us to reflect on improving our performance. We truly appreciate your feedback and your business.

Sincerely,

Karen G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petah Tiqwa, Israel
Level Contributor
195 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

The hotel is located far from Verona center and no available public transport, but, if you have your own car, it is a good place to stay some days. a lot of free parking and it is located near the exit to the highway, therefore easy to arrive anywhere.
If you want to use the train from the local station (we did it to visit Venice) you have to buy ticket in advance! there is no ticket boot at the station.
The staff is friendly and helpfull, but do not leave nothing in the room. The staff will "clean" it.
Two private wine glasses (which we have bought in orde to have a late wine drink daily) have been "cleaned" by the room maid and nobody took responsibilty for that. Except that, it is OK.
The rooms are small but sufficient and the aircondition allow you to sleep with closed windows and to avoid the noise from the trafic which is close to the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a room as far as possible from the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tel aviv
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2012 via mobile

The hotel is nice and clean
Next to autostrada (milano - venezia)
Reception service is great !! Andrea, Bacil and etc.
Food is good ( breakfast )
But
They charge for the internet (wi-fi) 10euro per 24hr and we didnt like it
And the charge for using extra towel
It was better if they had free wi-fi i hope it will soon...

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giliber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We stayed six nights in this hotel 14-20 Sep 2012 .everything was beyond our expectaions. The stuff was very friendly and helpfull.The room was very clean and the breakfast was very good.
The hotel is located near the Alt station of the Autostrda and if you want to travel a star like way this is the best place.
We ate dinner in the hotel restaurant and the pizza was very good.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Motyzu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
144 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Stayed here for a few days at the end of August.

As others have commented, this hotel isn't in the centre of Verona, but on the outskirts, about a 10 to 15 minute drive to the city centre. You will need a car to stay here and a good sense of direction and an alert mind, as the entry and exit slip roads to/from the adjoining motorway junction aren't the easiest to master, even with sat nav. Car parking is plentiful and free.

Ignore the other reviews about the gentleman's dance club and adult store, both of which are in the same retail park. Although the former is just along from the hotel main entrance, it's not "in your face" and it doesn't detract from the area; and the latter is at the other end of the development, so unless you go out of your way to be offended, neither should cause any issues.

The female employee on duty most late afternoons/evenings is very friendly and personable. Her English is very good and she is able to join in with Anglo-Saxon humour. Check-in and out were undertaken efficiently. The other front-desk staff were OK, but not as warm and obliging. The two elevators are very small and slow. Bottlenecks frequently occurred at busy periods. Unless all the smaller spot lights were illuminated, the corridors could be quite dark too.

I was upgraded to the Executive floor, due to my Platinum Priority Club status. The rooms aren't that large and the two 4' wide twin beds did fill the the room leaving very little space to relax in the one small armchair, pushed into one corner. The air conditioning was very efficient and quite quiet - and required due to the high outside temperatures. There weren't really enough power sockets for today's traveller, though a smart switching system meant you could control all the lighting (including that in the bathroom) from your bed.

The bedding was very comfortable - lightweight and soft, with the usual choice of firm or soft pillows.

The bathroom was of a good size, though it was clear that during the group-wide updating of bathroom facilities undertaken a year or so ago, the maintenance team decided to mount the new-style curved shower rail using the previous anchor points, set inside the bath area. Consequently it was hard to avoid getting tangled up in the curtain. The shower unit itself was poorly fitted, restricting how it could be positioned. Water pressure and temperature were good however.

I have to mark the hotel down though for its petty (penny-pinching) housekeeping policies. Unbelievably - and unheard of at all the other Holiday Inns I've stayed out across the world - the two small containers of milk provided as part of the in-room tea/coffee service are only free on your first night. They aren't replenished and you're obliged to purchase a glass of milk from the hotel bar if you want any more. This was confirmed by the reception. Housekeeping also appeared to hold back on replacing the usual bathroom supplies too. Again, I can't believe this is official Holiday Inn policy. If I'm paying the same rate per night, I expect the same service items every day.

The buffet breakfast was OK, but nothing special and after a couple of days, became less and less appetising. Twice the coffee ran out and the staff had to be prompted to refill the dispenser; and the fruit juice had to be some form of mix. Tip: the grapefruit tastes better than the orange juice. The hotel seems to be popular with coach parties, so make sure you time your arrival, or you might have to sit outside in the lobby area. That said, the breakfast staff are friendly and the hotel's dinner service is much better with a good range of value for money dishes.

The in-room Internet isn't cheap: 18 Euros for a high-speed "business" service; 12 Euros for a slower "economy" service; and interestingly, a special smartphone/tablet high-speed service for 10 Euros per day. There is no free Internet service anywhere in the hotel and the one public terminal in the lobby, attached to a printer, attracts a per minute charge.

If an attempt was made to improve the breakfast offer and a sensible approach to in-room supplies restored, I would re-rate this hotel higher, but if you want a straightforward base on the outskirts of Verona, then its worthy of the three "stars" I've given it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BritTraveller68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Martino Buon Albergo
1.8 mi away
SHG Hotel Verona
SHG Hotel Verona
#54 of 79 in Verona
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Turismo
Best Western Hotel Turismo
#1 of 3 in San Martino Buon Albergo
190 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Western Ctc Hotel Verona
Best Western Ctc Hotel Verona
#1 of 4 in San Giovanni Lupatoto
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Maxim Hotel
Maxim Hotel
#51 of 79 in Verona
807 reviews
6.0 mi away
Hotel Leopardi
Hotel Leopardi
#27 of 79 in Verona
585 reviews
5.9 mi away
B&B Hotel Verona
B&B Hotel Verona
#43 of 79 in Verona
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SHG Hotel Catullo Verona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SHG Hotel Catullo Verona

Property: SHG Hotel Catullo Verona
Address: Viale del Lavoro 35-37, 37036 San Martino Buon Albergo, Italy (Formerly Holiday Inn Verona Congress Centre)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Verona > San Martino Buon Albergo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in San Martino Buon Albergo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — SHG Hotel Catullo Verona 4*
Number of rooms: 112
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Southall Travel, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SHG Hotel Catullo Verona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Verona Congress Centre Hotel Verona
Verona Holiday Inn
SHG Hotel Catullo Verona Province Of Verona, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing