We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,746)
Filter reviews
3,746 results
Traveller rating
1,996
1,112
386
150
102
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,996
1,112
386
150
102
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsplunge poolgarden villamain buildingkids clubmain poolcoconut pooloutdoor showervilla guestspacifica restaurantmovenpick ice creamthe penthousebeach sideswim up baran upgradefamily suitefamily holidayour honeymoon
Filter
Updating list...
2,038 - 2,043 of 3,746 reviews
Reviewed 2 March 2014

The hotel is really good. Breakfast really nice as well but the shower was the only down side. And the check out time supposed to be negotiable, they gave us extra hour. Not really a good deal. Overall the resort has a beautiful swim pool, nice restaurants and pricey. Our room, ocean view, had one of the best views we've ever seen...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sabrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansPhuket, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback on your recent experience whilst staying with us at the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket.

It is a pleasure to learn that you have overall enjoyed your stay with us. Your comment in regards to the quality of the shower has been noted and will establish the necessary repair for a permanent improvement.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcoming you again to the Moevenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket should your travels bring you back to Phuket.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

We spent one week in Mövenpick Karon in February 2014. Here are some plusses and minuses:

+ Room: good size room in Ocean View wing. We asked for a room close to the elevator and got it (4th floor, #4091)), some rooms you have to walk a bit to since it's a big hotel. Very good sea view from room balcony.
+ Breakfast: Nice variety and I could find almost everything I want at breakfast. Small minus for concentrate sweetened juice instead of fresh juice.
+ Gym: Big gym with 2 treadmills, 1 crosstrainer, 2 bikes and most important machines for working out those muscles. Lots of free weights. Opening hrs 6 am till 10 pm, well air-conditioned. Very much liked this and worked out five times during our holiday!
+ Restaurant Pacifica: We didn't try the other restaurants at all, but ate here 3 times during lunch hour. Breakfast is also served here. Good menu and good local (also international) food! Very reasonable prices.
+ Location: Hotel area is big so on the other side you have the beach and on the other the Karon road where you can find this area's best local restaurants. Don't dine at the beach road, all restaurants are run by hotels (= small portions, high prices).

- Check-in: We arrived at 3pm and had informed the hotel about this in advance. Our room wasn't ready until 4:45 and this was quite disappointing after a long flight from Finland. I asked for a room for us to go and change clothes and this was arranged.
- Cleanliness: Our room was tidied every day but not very well. Not all table tops were dusted and you could clearly see the cleaning lady had been in a hurry or just sloppy.
- Pool area: If you stay in the Ocean Wing, you can use only the main pool. There is actually another pool also but it's so lame no one is ever there... The Coconut pool is nice but only for villa guests. Big big minus at the pool are the sun beds. If you call yourself a 5-star hotel all sunbeds should be GOOD and COMFORTABLE. There are only a few of those wooden sunbeds with a mattress, others are actually painfull to lay on. Another big thing about the pool area is that there are a lot of trees. So if you're a sunseeker you need to go to the beach or look for another hotel.

I guess these are the main points from our visit. Hope this is useful to others considering this hotel :-)

Room Tip: If you stay in an Ocean View room, room #4091 has a very good sea view and is close to the elevators.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katariina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansPhuket, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfalls you encountered, particularly when it comes to the room not being ready upon your arrival and for the daily cleaning that was lacking focus and attention to details. Your comments have been passed to the Executive Housekeeper so that an emphasis is placed on the on-job training programs, in order to reach and exceed our guests’satisfaction.

We thank you for bringing these issues to our attention and for the opportunity to address your feedback. We hope we’ll have the opportunity to regain your confidence.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights. I was kind of excited when i saw the pictures of the garden view room that i had booked.Upon entering the place, we were so in awe how sprawling the garden was. The restaurant in front is super nice. We rode a cart on the way to the lobby,so we got a mini tour of the resort. We were greeted with a cute Jasmine-orchid garland and lemongrass juice. Check-in was a breeze so we were so excited to see our room. When we got to our room, i was Disappointed. Yes, the room is big so is the bed! BUT, the room looks really old like gloomy kind of old. The sofa has holes in the edges and looks dirty. Like worn out. Bathroom is just okay;(on our second night the one on the bathtub got broken). One of the lampshades is not working.The tv is strangely not on the center like its in the rightmost of the long table. Anyway, they have a lovely pool with a bar. Breakfast is typical continental. The resort is a just walking distance to the beach as in youll just cross the road. You have to pay 200 baht for a set of beach chairs if you wish to lounge.Also, its a walking distance to karon bazaar, a lot of street foods, restos, convenience stores and money changers. Always check for good rates, of course its always low in the hotel, but youll get good rates in strips of money changers in the area. Eat in Bai toey in old Phuket, its a walking distance from the resort.overall, its enough i tried this resort once.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyka J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansPhuket, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent stay with us

We are sorry that you felt our rooms did not represent a Moevenpick standard. In fact, an increased repair and maintenance program is presently in process and a progressive room refurbishment will start soon.

I have taken note of your comments in regards to the food and beverage prices compared to the local restaurants outside our resort. We are conducting twice yearly an extensive exercise on price comparison with similar hotel categories on the island, which provide the same or similar standards in quality and hygiene as well as applying higher wages and social benefits to their employees. And we can say that we are in line with our pricing strategies.

I sincerely hope that this experience has not permanently marred your opinion of the hotel and that you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to restore your faith in our hotel.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Just arrived home in Australia from a wonderful holiday at the Movenpick, Karon Beach. The whole hotel was superb from the welcome at reception until departure. The buffet breakfast at the Pacifica restaurant each day was a good start. I loved the omelettes. We got upgraded from an Ocean View room to a garden room with a plunge pool. Every night was special and the best part was there were no mosquitoes or any crawling insects. The whole hotel was clean and the grounds were well kept by very polite staff. Housekeeping was excellent as were all the staff there. It was our anniversary and we received a nice bottle of champagne, our bed was covered with red flower petals in the shape of hearts and a mud cake appropriately decorated was delivered. We could not have wished for more. Such wonderful memories.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pacific_122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansPhuket, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

I am indeed delighted to learn that you enjoyed your entire stay with us - from the time you arrived up to departure. We are happy to learn that your holiday at our Resort was memorable.

Thank you for your kind words, we shall pass it on to our Team.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We recently spent 6 nights at this hotel with our 21yr old daughter. We had booked two ocean view rooms, but on check-in we were upgraded to a 2bdr apartment at the Residences. The hotel property is huge, spanning an area in between two streets and the Residences are near the beachfront and therefore a long walk from Reception. The hotel can provide transport to and from your room by golf buggy and we took advantage of this service a couple of times. The alternative is to stroll through the beautifully maintained tropical gardens. The apartment was beachfront (room 720-third floor-no elevator and 50 stairs) and very well presented. It consisted of 2 bedrooms, the main with ensuite, a lounge/dining area and a suitably equipped kitchen (which we didn’t use). There is also a large ocean view balcony with table and chairs where we spent every evening watching the sunset prior to going out to dinner.
As the Residences are a considerable distance from the main building, we were advised that we could take breakfast (which was included in our tariff) at the nearby El Gaucho restaurant which is part of the resort. The buffet breakfast was set up there every day for guests and we were told it was the same as the buffet in the main building. We didn’t bother trying out the main buffet; we were more than happy with the breakfast supplied at El Gaucho but as mentioned by other travellers the only thing is that coffee is made for each individual guest on a 2-cup machine and can be a little slow but sitting watching the beautiful beach view more than compensates for that. We also ate dinner at the El Gaucho Restaurant on 2 occasions and found it to be quite reasonable, although a little expensive compared to the other restaurants nearby and not connected to the hotel.
We did have some maintenance problems during our stay but nothing that detracted from our holiday enjoyment. The ceiling fan in the lounge room was very loose and we didn’t think it was safe to leave it on. Despite the maintenance team attempting on two occasions to fix it, we felt it was better not to use it. We also had the glass from the balcony door split from the frame and there was a flurry of maintenance people in and out of the apartment trying to fix it. They finally resorted to patching it up until it could be permanently fixed at another time-it’s probably still in the same state. Then we had a power blackout on our last morning where we had no power or water for around 90 minutes (which we were told was “in the street”). Fortunately, it was all reinstated before we had to have final showers prior to our departure.
We found the staff to be extremely pleasant and co-operative. Even though we experienced a couple of minor hiccups, everything was quickly sorted out and life returned to normal. We always got a follow-up call and even received a complementary bowl of fruit as apology for our inconvenience. The resort has four pools scattered about the resort with the Residences having its own infinity pool which was restricted to occupants of the Residence apartments and was very convenient.
Being located directly across the road from the beach it was an easy walk to the beach itself, the market, shops and restaurants. The one drawback was that it could be a bit noisy. But every evening there was a regular procession of lanterns (which are sold on the beach) heading skyward which against the setting sun over a cold drink was a very pleasant way to spend an evening. We would certainly return to this hotel.

Room Tip: It seems that the Residences are managed by the hotel for owners (investors). The traffic on the street is quiet noisy from the balcony and when the doors are open but once the balcony doors are closed for the night, there was little disruption.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kayw49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hansPhuket, General Manager at Movenpick Resort & Spa Karon Beach Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

We sincerely thank you for your kind endorsement of the resort and for sharing your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused due to the smell pollution.

We have noted your comments on the ceiling fan and the glass door frame at the balcony. Since your departure mid-February, our Engineering team has conducted the necessary maintenance for a permanent improvement. We thank you for bringing this up to our attention.

Again, thank you for your valuable comments. We depend on our guests to let us know when there is a breakdown in the first class service we strive to maintain.

Looking forward to welcoming you and your daughter back to the resort.

Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews