We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Your own Chateau for a night”
Review of Chateau de l'Hoste

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chateau de l'Hoste
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Your own Chateau for a night”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

On a recent business trip to the region, with a developer who works for me, I was recommended to this hotel by a local estate agent. There was only one other elderly couple staying there. It was regrettable that my wife was not with me. If that had been the case I would have chosen one of the top suite/rooms, rather than 2 classic rooms. The developer would have remained in a classic room! But the classic rooms were large, immaculately clean, and combined modern conveniences with the classic lines and features of the Chateau.

I had dinner on the Terrace, but prior to that I was invited to the wine room to choose a wine. It was a a gem of a room with a considerable choice of local wines from the Cahors area and regional wines.

After some gastronomic excesses the night before at the Charbonnel Hotel in Brandome, I limited my meal to a main course and a desert. The first was an assembly of seafood. The meal was prepared by the owners daughter who is under chef at the hotel. The presentation was delightful. The fish was cooked to the exact point where it is tender and succulent yet not sashimi. In a shot glass on the plate was a sea food mousse with some green roe incorporated within it. Again it was perfect. On the plate there was a a third assembly which had been prepared in a pot and then inverted to leave a small compressed tower of fish with red peppercorns and fish row. The combination of flavours with the different textures and the crunch of the mild pepper corns worked well for me.

The desert was local seasonal fresh fruit with raspberry dust and sorbet with a thin chocolate sail. A delight to the ice and delicious.

All the staff from the owners who I was able to spend time talking to, to the restaurant and hotel staff were well trained, friendly and efficient. This is a wonderful hotel to take a wife or girlfriend to make them feel special.

Room Tip: Both the Classic rooms and the Suite rooms are very good. For a longer visit I would choose the suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregwar888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    32
    9
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
88
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
138 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

This hotel is located in the south of France, but far from the beaten track
Sorrounded by beautiful fields, that you can explore via renting bicycles at the hotel , an experience I fully recommend
The hotel is a country house full of character . It would need some updating , though, as rooms and bathrooms are not very modern , and its decoration is so so .
On the plus side, the location is great, the swimming pool really nice, and the best of all: dinner at the hotel restaurant : fantastic food .
I remember fondly sitting outdoors and watching the sun set among the trees of the hotel park, while sipping champagne .
So if you look for tranquility, a charming place, and great food, while ignoring dated decor, this is your place

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naza2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jinghong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

We haven't been in the hotel, only in the restaurant and it is very good.
Very good food, very nice people, very nice place, esspecially the terrace!'
The serve the typical food of the area but they bribg it in a special way. They also combine new thing together.
We definetly go back!

Room Tip: Also the New Years evening meal was very good, with 2 people making music and singing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
york, england
Level Contributor
102 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

Chateau de l'Hoste is quite close to our French holiday home and is a splendid restaurant for special occasions. Unfortunately I am not an 'omnivore' and sometimes struggle with French rural cuisine so always check the evening menu before booking a meal. This is a faultless precaution and I have never been disappointed with the presentation or quality of food here. On this occasion we celebrated my wife's birthday with champagne on the terrace followed by a superb dinner of sophisticated dishes, imaginatively created and beautifully served in their very convivial restaurant. Accompanied by a top quality Cahors wine we were happy to pay the price for such an individual dinner. There are several other quality restaurants in the area but this is our favourite and is highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank talkingpics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlothian, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

When you picture a chateau, perhaps something grander comes to mind. Neveretheless, this doesn't disappoint. It's a lovely old property with plenty of charm. Our room was comfortable and quirky though perhaps the bathroom was a little out of keeping with the chateau image! Dinner on the terrace was very atmospheric and we enjoyed the food unlike other reviewers. Breakfast was also very nice, served in a beautiful dining room. Unfortunately, we were only staying one night so we didn't have time to explore the area.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geckotale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

We stayed for a week in August at this hotel and did several hiking tours on trails nearby. We enjoyed the food and found the staff attentive and very professional. The hotel itself is beautifully located, has a lovely garden, a small but well kept pool area. We had booked a deluxe room, which was large and comfortable, but situated under the roof in the second floor, without airconditioning it got a bit hot in August :-) Also the windows in the roof make it impossible to enyjoy the view of the garden from the room. Nevertheless we had a wonderful time in this lovely small hotel and can recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marieken1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orinda, Ca
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

We just spent two nights here last month, and would go back in a heartbeat. The room was beautiful and very quiet, the food was beyond expectation and well-priced, and the service was friendly. Our room was on the second floor of the wing facing the parking lot, and the stairs up were steep and tricky with luggage (no elevator). For walkers or cyclists there are interesting routes all around the neighborhood, including the small town next door, Rocque Cor. Now that we've found it, we hope the remote location preserves this gem from the hordes of tourists who might "discover" it.

Room Tip: 2nd floor room by parking lot is quiet, spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ahardy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Beauzeil
18.3 mi away
Le Moulin de Moissac
Le Moulin de Moissac
#1 of 8 in Moissac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hotel le Belvedere
Hotel le Belvedere
#1 of 2 in Lauzerte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
7.5 mi away
Le Stelsia
Le Stelsia
#1 of 1 in Saint Sylvestre sur Lot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel Le Moulin De Madame
Hotel Le Moulin De Madame
#2 of 9 in Villeneuve-sur-Lot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
13.9 mi away
Le Manoir St Jean
Le Manoir St Jean
#1 of 1 in Saint-Paul-d'Espis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
11.9 mi away
Hotel La Residence
Hotel La Residence
#1 of 9 in Villeneuve-sur-Lot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de l'Hoste? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de l'Hoste

Property: Chateau de l'Hoste
Address: RD 656, 82150 Saint-Beauzeil, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Tarn-et-Garonne > Saint-Beauzeil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint-Beauzeil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de l'Hoste 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 17th century castle, today a charming Hostellerie, is set in a beautiful Park of 4 hectares with centenary trees and a forest.The white stone building and its courtyard looks like a fortification with its two Pigeon tower.The Chateau is situated in the heart of the Quercy Blanc region, nearby you can find many medieval bastion villages and the river Lot, at 22 km north of Agen, direction Cahors and 30 minutes from Villeneuve-sur-Lot, on the way to "St-Jacques de Compostelle" (GR 652 and 65).The nearest airport and train station is in Agen (30 minutes) and in Toulouse or Bergerac (1h to 1h30)22 rooms (1 family room, 10 Superior room, 8 classic and 3 standard rooms) on two floors with view to the Park or the courtyard.On the second floor, the cozy rooms are equipped with beautiful wooden roofing.TV, direct telephone.Restaurant of excellent quality offering a traditional and refined cuisine, elaborated with fresh products from the region as well as our own organic garden. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chateau de l'Hoste reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De L'Hoste France/Saint-Beauzeil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing