We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This site is a must if you are touring in this area of France”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ustou
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Le Montagnou
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

We stayed on this delightful site for three weeks in June/ July, 2013. We were made very welcome by Yannig, Isobella and their family, who all take great pride in looking after their guests and maintaining the site and facilities to a high standard. We have a large caravan and the roads to and access onto the site were no problem. Pitches are of good size. We enjoyed simple meals on the terrace surrounded by stunning scenery, and we'll always have fond memories of the communal BBQ,and the warmth of our fellow campers.
The site is in an ideal situation,in a beautiful valley,close to the high Pyrenees and Spain.There are many low and high level walks with stunning scenery in all directions.
It was a great holiday and we hope to return soon. Harry and Eileen (North Yorkshire)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EileenSyson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (94)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 94 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

This is a beautiful location in a stunning valley. The campsite is immaculately clean. Fabulous walking whether for families or the more hardy. Very helpful and polite owners. It is a small campsite, so if you are tempted, you need to book in advance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lantouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

Stayed here for two weeks in July/August 2013. Will be going back without a doubt. The French owners were so friendly and welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for them - even delivering the fresh cooked home baked pizza that they make on site - to our tent.
The site is really spacious with excellent sized pitches and all facilities exceptionally clean (being thoroughly cleaned at least twice every day). The pool is now open and provides a very welcome relief from the heat. Fresh bread and croissants are delivered daily in time for breakfast which is a great start to your day. There are plenty of walks both directly from the site and from a short drive away with varying degrees of difficulty. After two weeks we still had not covered all that we wanted to but this was partly because the site was such a peaceful place to while away our day and forget about the 9 - 5 back home. There is no noisy club house with music blaring or slot machines robbing you of your Euros, no great big water park with slides and the like. What you do have is a perfect place for families of all ages as well as couples on their own. There is a communal decking area near the pool where you can sit and talk over your day with the other guests or just sit and enjoy a nice cold beer as you unwind and enjoy your surroundings.
If you want to get as much in as possible then prior planning is a must, walks are plentiful but if you are prepared to drive then there is a world of different activities waiting for you from white water rafting to canyoning and caving with Andorra a couple of hours drive away for some tax free shopping. As a word of advice the electric hook up uses the round two pin style of plug - we were fortunate enough to have an adapter from our own 3 pin thirteen amp plug so make this an essential when you go.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adie_Walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for three nights in July loved it fab location for mountains.

Toilet and showers were clean and well maintained.

Just a couple of things which let it down, there was no fridge or freezer so we couldn't re-freeze our ice packs.

Also it was scorching whilst we were there and the swimming pool wasn't usable for whatever reason. The owner was unable to explain to me why.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Gemma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle L, Propriétaire at Camping Le Montagnou, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Hello
I just read the message you posted.
I'm sorry you could not enjoy the pool, it is true that the work was a little late.
We have a fridge (free service) for guests and we manage to make ice packs on request. It is a shame that you could not enjoy it.
Cordially.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My Husband and I spent part of our 25th Aniversary here last year and loved it. We have again booked for July this year. The owners were extreemly kind and thoughtfull letting us borrow a little camping ring to cook outside.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank REMcNee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Stayed for 5 days in this peaceful campsite loved the area lots of walks.Walked into Spain on the col de pause fantastic . Perfect base for all valley routes and towns. Great hosts very clean campsite highly reccommended

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank troutgray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Our family of 4, with 2 teenagers, stayed for a week in one of the new mobile-homes in late June 2010. The mobile home was very clean, well equipped and comfortable. Our hosts were very welcoming, helpful and friendly, on our final evening the whole site were invited to a 'fete' with local people in a big marquee - we had a lovely paella... and wine of course - good fun. We loved sitting on the 'deck' to have breakfast and for BBQs in the evenings, before we played boule down by the river until it got dark! During the days we went on some fabulous walks through the beautiful beech woods to the Cirque de Cagateille, Etang de Garbet (where we swam - it was freezing!) and Cascade d'Ars, and we hired bikes at nearby Massat. The local town of Seix has all that is needed, including a market and tourist information. A lovely week, and we plan to return.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
Thank Nick A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Camping Le Montagnou? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Le Montagnou

Address: route de Guzet, 09140 Ustou, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Ariege > Ustou
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Ustou
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camping le Montagnou is a small, relaxing campsite in the beautiful Ustou Valley run by an english family. The site is bordered by a river and the breathtaking, snow capped mountains of the Pyrenees. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Camping Le Montagnou France/Ustou, Midi-Pyrenees

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing