We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmerizing river view in truly hospitable hostellerie”
Review of Hotel La Flanerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel La Flanerie
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Mesmerizing river view in truly hospitable hostellerie”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our room, with its canopied bed, superb mattress and gilt wall sconces, looked through its wrought iron railing and opened glassed doors to a spectacular view of a bend in the Garonne river, fields and the sunset. Similar views below from the large glass windows of the library and from the patio. Attentive service by the Irish owners and genuine concern for the comfort of our stay made this a memorable experience. Moreover, the relatively modest cost made this an excellent value proposition.

Sadly for us, the pool does not open until May.

A good base from which to access Carcassonne, Albi, Cordes and, at only fifteen minutes away, central Toulouse.

A favorite of local French businessmen.

This place is a real find.

Room Tip: Room 22 included a three-room bathroom, consisting of separate toilet, bath and shower/vanity rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RittSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    45
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
15
49
7
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I had a day to spend for the flight next morning. Having stayed in Toulouse city a few times...decided to be in the countryside to absorb the views of Garonne river. I must say the evening walk in the hotel complex and the views of the river from room were outstanding. The rooms were comfortable; the fire place ; the library with a bottle of wine...created magic.

Room Tip: Must have a GPS to guide!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vijay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sedona, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We planned to meet my wife's uncle, a former Catholic bishop now retired in the country near Toulouse, this week. So we scheduled a 2 night-stay at Hotel la Flanerie a 3-star country hotel about 5 miles south of the city overlooking the Garonne river near the original Celtic settlement called la Vieille Toulouse (not much there but a lovely park atmosphere).

Hotel La Flanerie ("Flanerie" means "Loafing" in French!) has just 12 rooms on 2 floors (no elevator but they took our bags to our 2nd floor room immediately) in a 18th Century country manor house built on a remote hillside overlooking the Garonne river south of Toulouse. The Irish family that took the place over some ten years ago have renovated it extensively, added A/C to all the guest-rooms (much appreciated this August 2013 - it was quiet and did NOT blow on the bed), furnished each room with historic French antiques or collectables furniture (ours reminded my wife of her great-aunt's country home in Champagne province) and upgraded the mattresses and bedding etc. And, yes, this hotel has REAL SHEETS and blankets with a white coverlet that matched my mother-in-law's!! It is a no smoking inside establishment and so smells great.

Downstairs there is a magnificent "great room" with modern fire-place, English-leather sofas and complete bar and breakfast tables that opens onto a beautiful terrace that overlooks the Garonne down below across a rolling, very-green lawn. An outdoor swimming pool is about 50 yards away from the house, down the lawn a bit and there are lounge chairs and pool umbrellas to spend a lazy afternoon with a good book and occasional dip to cool off from the August heat (31 C = 80s F when we were there).

Yes, as one other reviewer noted, there is a small "fly in the ointment" in that there are some electric wires that soar over part of the property - mostly out of view but you can see them above the Garonne and over to one side of the house/hotel. Unless one is very sensitive to electricity, however, I don't think this will detract from anyone's stay. We did not notice any reaction to them when in our room, on the terrace or at the pool (and it's at the opposite end of the property). Both of us are pretty sensitive as dowsers etc. Definitely NOT like being directly under the high-tension electric wires that we've experienced driving on some highways either in the US or Europe.

The hotel does not have a restaurant (too bad - especially in winter) but the small town of Lacroix-Falgarde - just a few miles down the D-4 road along La Garonne away from Toulouse - has two great ones that we enjoyed on our 2 evenings there: La Verte Campagnarde and Le Bellevue. The hotel will book you a table at no charge - wonderful service. There is also a Carrefour City supermarket and other city-like necessity shops there.

The breakfast buffet was OK (we've seen more creative places) and only 9 Euros apiece AND the VIEW from the terrace where you eat is breath-taking in the morning. It made "loafing" at Hotel La Flanerie while we waited for the lunch invitation - that finally got postponed - from my wife's uncle seem like just the way to spend a couple of lazy, warm and humid summer days in La Douce France.

Oh yes, please don't be put off by the entry drive into the property from the D-4... It is steep and narrow but the rewards at the top of the hill outweigh any driver's remorse in making that climb. I cannot recommend it for January, however!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Garonne river. They are larger and a bit more expensive but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arizona-Senior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

we stayed here on the last night of our anniversary holiday and were very pleased with this choice. the irish owner was very friendly and helpful.
The building is lovely, the grounds a luxury extra and our room was graced with a comfortable bed. If you have read any of my reviews you will know that comfort is a major theme. At this hotel I left my memory foam topper in the car because the bed was absolutely fine! Both of us slept well. My quibble is that the lights were not very helpful for reading but it was great to have chairs and a table.
Breakfast was fine too in the dining room.
We paid extra for a river view, look at our photo, you will see it is worth it.
It is not far to the restaurants but too far to walk

Room Tip: river view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank persistent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stopped off on the way from mid-Spain to Paris on a Saturday night. We were made very welcome and a table at a very nice local restaurant was already booked for us. Spacious and stylish rooms with comfortable beds.
Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the Garonne Rover was a very relaxing and calming prelude to the drive to Paris. Would recommend it heartily.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cromagnumal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Ballinderry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This little hotel is a special place. Our room was originally decorated and very comfortable for us and our 8 yr old son with a fantastic view of the river. The staff were very welcoming and helpful. There is not a restaurant on site but we were directed to two within 4 km. the pool was good and breakfast was excellent on the terrasse. Lovely gardens with fruit trees.it was a very pleasant end to our holiday on the way to the Airport 20 minutes away.

Room Tip: Ask for room with over view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue1545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Builth Wells
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2012

More of an upmarket bed and breakfast that hotel but all the better for that. Great position overlooking the river. Friendly welcome and help with local info. Dog friendly. Do book a room with river view - worth the extra

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caerberis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieille-Toulouse
Le Grand Balcon
#7 of 130 in Toulouse
547 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#6 of 130 in Toulouse
657 reviews
Pullman Toulouse Center
#2 of 130 in Toulouse
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#5 of 130 in Toulouse
884 reviews
Residence de Diane
#29 of 130 in Toulouse
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Flanerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Flanerie

Property: Hotel La Flanerie
Address: Chemin des Etroits | Route de Lacroix Falgarde, 31320 Vieille-Toulouse, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Vieille-Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vieille-Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Flanerie 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel la Flanerie is located high on a wooded hill surrounded by seven hectares of gardens and woodland. Enjoy breathtaking views of the river Garonne from the outdoor terrace, swimming pool or even by the fireplace in the breakfast room.Relax in the peaceful and quiet surroundings of this elegant country home while only being 10 minutes' drive from the centre of Toulouse. The hotel provides 12 individually styled air-conditioned guest rooms. Six of our rooms have magnificent views of the river GaronneFor business or pleasure, it is the ideal place to explore the sights of Toulouse and its surrounding areas in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.There is a large nature reserve within 500 meters of the hotel and an 18-hole golf course within 2 km. Toulouse Airport is 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel La Flanerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing