We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tourist trap!!!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel La Flanerie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel La Flanerie
Certificate of Excellence
The Hague
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourist trap!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The pictures on the website are extremely misleading. Maybe the hotel once used to look like this, but now it is very rundown, in need of painting and refurbishing. One can see the river below, but there are electrictiy cables in the way, and on the other side of the river is an industrial area. The pool has an ugly crooked fence around it, the plastic sunbeds and pillows look weatherworn and old. Inside the hotels smells of cheap lemondetergent and when it wears of it is plain musty. Again, maybe the rooms used to look clean and freshly painted, but our 'superior' room definately didn't. We couldn't find the owners, when we wanted to have a drink on the terrace, where nobody had bothered to put the plastic chairs down and to sweep it. After a restless night, because of the beetles we found under the bed and interrupted by numerous flies, we couldn't wait to leave the hotel in the morning. We didn't bother with breakfast, so no
comment on that. Our advice is "Don't Go!!!".

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Goofy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flannerie, Propriétaire at Hotel La Flanerie, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Thank you for having taken the time to write a review of our hotel. We are disappointed that your stay didn't live up to what you had expected of our hotel. We feel however that your comments may be related to the fact that when you arrived at 10:30 in the morning your room was not yet ready. We explained to you that our check in time is 13h as indicated on your reservation form, but that my wife and I would do everything possible to have your room ready sooner. The bar and terrace open for business at 13h and so at 10:30 am the chairs were not yet turned down or the terrace swept. We however granted your request to be allowed to wait on the terrace while we prepared your room. If you were not able to find us in order to ask for a drink it was because both myself and my wife were in the process of preparing your room. As for the pictures of our hotel they where all taken within the last 3 years. Our customers have provided pictures of the hotel with the dates of when the pictures were taken on trip advisor. It is clear to see from these photos that there is no industrial estate opposite the hotel please see photo entitled 'in the lap of nature' taken by one of our customers. The electric cables are also visible from this photo. It is the law in France that all swimming pools must have a fence around it in order to protect young children from drowning. Our swimming pool was completely renovated this year 2014 and has new sun beds available. All 12 of our rooms are decorated individually. If we had been made aware that the decoration of you room was not to your satisfaction we would have changed your room to one more suited to your tastes. The bed in you room had a base which touched the floor on all four sides making it impossible for any beetles to crawl under the bed or even for you to be able to look under the bed. Our hotel is situated in a wooded park not far from a river and so we use a citron based air freshener to help deter mosquitoes. It is very regrettable that you did not feel able to express any of your concerns directly to us during your stay. I feel that my wife and I are very approachable and would have done everything in our power to rectify any problems. Once again I apologise that our hotel did not meet with your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    42
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
45
7
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
237 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

They do not serve evening meals, but you can, and we did, bring our own food and wine and eat out on the terrace overlooking the most spectacular river view. This then is more of a B&B in an hotel than an hotel. But what a B&B! It is an old house with such charm in a splendid location. The rooms were clean, comfortable and stylish indeed and surprisingly good. It is a small hotel and hence cosy. No rush of bustle here, it was more like staying a s a house guest in the country.

We chose this hotel as an overnight within easy reach of the airport, but we would consider it as a hub from which to reach many parts of the region on a next trip. Despite its scenic location, it is close to a very good road system and to Toulouse itself.

If you want good accommodation at modest cost close to the many varied interests in the region or just and overnight on the way to the airport, it can do both.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

This hotel is tucked away on a hillside overlooking the Garrone River. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My room was comfortable but maybe not for some travelers, as it is older and does not posses all modern amenities. I was traveling alone, but it' would be a romantic place for couples. The breakfast was nice as well on the terrace.

Room Tip: If you have negative vibes from bright red, ask about the color scheme of the rooms. Although the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We picked this hotel mainly due to it's proximity to Toulouse as we had arranged to fly from there on an early flight but we were so glad that we decided to book for three nights as this place is a real find!

The location overlooking the river is superb. Our room, which was spotlessly clean and had a huge terrace , had an unbroken view of the river and was a beautiful spot for a drink and to watch the sun go down.

The gardens and the pool were beautiful and the bar and lounge area were welcoming and relaxing. The bar was open until 11pm and a good range of alcoholic and soft drinks as well as tea and coffee were available. Breakfast was buffet style but contained everything you would want from a cold buffet.

The staff and owners couldn't be more accomodating and friendly and the resident cats were a welcome bonus.

This really was wonderful value for money as well as being peaceful and relaxing even though it was only 20 minutes from the airport.

The best 'airport' stopover we've ever had!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

A little gem of a hotel, away from the bustle of Toulouse. A little step back in time with traditional French decor but up-to-date facilities and lovely pool. The bonus for us was the wonderful view of the Garonne from our French doors. Superb! Hospitable and helpful owners. A great find.

Room Tip: A river view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

I like everything about the place and stayed here for the 2nd time. The best I enjoy here are the gorgeous views of river Garonne and this time could also see some hills of Mid-Pyrennes range. Also, that it is place in nature yet...so near to the city.

Room Tip: A must to have your car to take advantage of the secluded settings. Best is to hire room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vijay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

Our room, with its canopied bed, superb mattress and gilt wall sconces, looked through its wrought iron railing and opened glassed doors to a spectacular view of a bend in the Garonne river, fields and the sunset. Similar views below from the large glass windows of the library and from the patio. Attentive service by the Irish owners and genuine concern for the comfort of our stay made this a memorable experience. Moreover, the relatively modest cost made this an excellent value proposition.

Sadly for us, the pool does not open until May.

A good base from which to access Carcassonne, Albi, Cordes and, at only fifteen minutes away, central Toulouse.

A favorite of local French businessmen.

This place is a real find.

Room Tip: Room 22 included a three-room bathroom, consisting of separate toilet, bath and shower/vanity rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RittSq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vieille-Toulouse
Taur
Hotel Albert 1er
Hotel Albert 1er
#4 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 793 reviews
Grand Hotel de l'Opera
#6 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 591 reviews
Hotel de Brienne
#10 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Toulouse Centre
#2 of 129 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,079 reviews
Wilson
Hotel des Arts
Hotel des Arts
#24 of 129 in Toulouse
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Le Grand Balcon
#11 of 129 in Toulouse
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Flanerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Flanerie

Property: Hotel La Flanerie
Address: Chemin des Etroits | Route de Lacroix Falgarde, 31320 Vieille-Toulouse, Toulouse, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Haute-Garonne > Toulouse > Vieille-Toulouse
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vieille-Toulouse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Flanerie 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel la Flanerie is located high on a wooded hill surrounded by seven hectares of gardens and woodland. Enjoy breathtaking views of the river Garonne from the outdoor terrace, swimming pool or even by the fireplace in the breakfast room.Relax in the peaceful and quiet surroundings of this elegant country home while only being 10 minutes' drive from the centre of Toulouse. The hotel provides 12 individually styled air-conditioned guest rooms. Six of our rooms have magnificent views of the river GaronneFor business or pleasure, it is the ideal place to explore the sights of Toulouse and its surrounding areas in a relaxed and friendly atmosphere.There is a large nature reserve within 500 meters of the hotel and an 18-hole golf course within 2 km. Toulouse Airport is 20 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Flanerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing