We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“regular user”
Review of Les Dunes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Les Dunes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

stayed at the dunes twice a year on average for the last 12 years ,have always found it to be a friendly hotel with good quality rooms always clean and tidy, restaurant is good and the new decor has lightened it considerably. its always a stop on the way home before the ferry for us , there is good secure parking at the rear . breakfast is good and served with good bread . must admit the new coffee machine is not to my liking . great hotel great staff ,reccomended .

Room Tip: back rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe m, Propriétaire at Les Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Good evening dear Sir

thank you very much for your pleasant message and your fidelity

i'm happy new decor is goog for you.

no problems for coffee for next time.....

with many pleasure see you again
sincerely you
P.Mene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (87)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 87 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed here as our first choice hotel was fully booked, we were not at all disappointed the room was clean and bright the car park was secure and free and the food and wine were superb, we will be staying/eating here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PETER H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe m, Propriétaire at Les Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

good evenin
thank you very much for your pleasant message
with many pleasure see you again
regards

p.Mene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Despite its site at an intersection on a fairly busy road, we had no complaints about the two rooms we needed: traffic noise did not obtrude, the rooms were clean, the beds comfortable and the ablutions perfectly satisfactory. We dined in the restaurant on a very enjoyable meal & if we opted for one of the cheapest wines in the extensive list, we were not disappointed. The staff were all very helpful and the patron told us about Le Bar aux Vins in La Place d'Armes a short drive away where there was a substantial array of competitively priced wines & spirits (even a green Chartreuse was available). We would certainly use the hotel again if we ever have the need.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaybeesquared
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe m, Propriétaire at Les Dunes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

good evening dear Sir

thank you for your message

with many pleasure see you again
regards
p.mene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

If you have to stay in
, stay here in Bleriot Plage instead!
Les Dunes is a small friendly hotel in the Logis group.
It has good restaurant, clean rooms, free WiFi, free car parking and is only 10 minutes drive to the ferries.
Reasonably priced, with breakfast included (French style so don't go expecting bacon and eggs even though England is just over there)
I can recommend this place.

And what's wrong I hear you ask? The toilet paper! How on earth are you supposed to manage with those pathetic little squares of paper? No matter how good a hotel is it will never get 5 stars from me if it has that little caddy hanging on wall by the wc.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Franglais12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We stayed for one night and would never stay again. For a Logis de France Hotel this is not up to the usual extremely high standard. We arrived on a Monday evening, having travelled on the cross channel ferry from UK. We knew that the restaurant wasn't open on a Monday evening but that was no problem for us. After 6 pm there is no one on duty at the hotel so we had phoned to say we would be arriving just after 6 pm. The owner said the key would be waiting for us in reception which it was. The hotel was completely empty, except for us, and no staff in the hotel at all. We find this situation quite unbelievable and can't understand how French health and safety allow this. What would happen if there was a fire or we needed medical assistance? Fortunately we speak French so could manage but wonder how other people would manage. The price for breakfast was 9 euros and this we felt was overpriced. Usually one would expect fresh baguette at the very least but we were given rolls which were obviously half cooked and then reheated. These were inedible and not what one would expect from a Logis de France hotel. Our room was at the back of the hotel and so overheated. The radiator was obviously faulty as it was set at frost stat so no way could we turn it off. In the end we propped the door open to let the heat out but not a comfortable way to spend a night. Could not recommend this to anyone. The owner wasn't at all interested in our observations.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carole and Anth... H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

Like many others we stopped here for a final night before catching the morning ferry back. The first room we were offered was at the front of the hotel and was hot, cramped and noisy.We were then offered an equally small room at the rear of the hotel overlooking the parking area which was cooler and quiet which we accepted.
Dinner in the restaurant, an integral part of the deal if you want a room, was not a great experience. An expensive, and somewhat restricted, choice of menus which did not deliver:"home made fish soup" tasted suspiciously like catering bisque with no evidence of any fish having a part in the dish. Pieces of torn stale bread substituted for croutons. Mains of mixed fish brochette consisted of 3 tired and overcooked cubes of salmon interspersed with a couple of fragments of some unidentifiable white fish presented on a paste that might once have had its origins in a potato accompanied by stems of broccoli so overcooked they had turned brown. Complaints about the meal were met with a shrug but no real interest or concern. No reduction in the bill either come the morning.
There are plenty of other places near the ferry which offer much better food than Les Dunes which does not bring any credit to the Logis name. Go and find them!

Room Tip: Don't bother, find somewhere else to stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mark p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We had stayed in other Logis and had good experiences but here the food (very average) and the wine are overpriced.. Our room was very small, but just about adequate - only one small dining chair for sitting - but there is private parking. However, our experience in the restaurant was disappointing. Although there are several menus, the choice of dishes didn't match the price. My husband selected the 32 euro menu and chose steak - which was very plain and tasteless. His creme brulee had not been caremelised. However, the selection of cheeses was excellent. I couldn't find a menu where I wanted something from each of the courses so went a la carte. The cost of the wine was over the top - there is no reason why a French restaurant should not have a good vin du Patron or a good range of reasonably priced wines. Whilst we don't speak very good French, this was our worst experience in trying to communicate. The attitude of the manager (?) was not good. We couldn't face having breakfast. Go to the boulangerie a few doors down and then take your croissants to the cafe over the road and have coffee (they don't serve food).

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ellimay63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bleriot-Plage
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Calais - Coquelles
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn - Calais
Holiday Inn - Calais
#4 of 24 in Calais
487 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel De La Plage
Hotel De La Plage
#15 of 24 in Calais
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Cottage Hotel
Cottage Hotel
#7 of 24 in Calais
300 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Residence du Golf
Hotel Residence du Golf
#19 of 24 in Calais
259 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hotel de la Baie de Wissant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Dunes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Dunes

Address: 48, route Nationale, 62231 Bleriot-Plage, Calais, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Calais > Bleriot-Plage
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bleriot-Plage
Price Range: £60 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Les Dunes 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Les Dunes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Dunes Bleriot-Plage, Pas-De-Calais, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing