We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bollezeele
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria, England
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

we stayed here as an overnight stop to Calais for the morning ferry. We didn't want to be in Calais and saw good reviews of the hotel on trip advisor. It is off the beaten track and there is little else in the area so its a bit of a captive audiance. That said, the welcome was warm and the rooms if a little tired looking, were comfortable and clean.
we had booked a table in the restaraunt which had our room name allocated on it ( all the room have names not numbers) The menu was both a la carte or set so there was a very good choice. They have a amazing sweet trolley where you have a choice of up to three different desserts.
The hotel was full and the clientel seemed to range from locals to regular guests and groups, so we took thi to be a good sign. We skipped breakfast as we had an early start but it looked very varied and would suit all. The owners are very much hands on and set the standard for service whcih we couldn't fault. Great place to finish off our holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    325
    97
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
67
252
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here after reading the reviews. We were due to stay here last year, but had to return to the UK early and so had to cancel and lose our money. However we made it this time and enjoyed our one night stay. We wanted somewhere near to Calais for our last night in France. Our room was good, but a little bit 'tired' looking, but with good bathroom. It was clean. But the food was, as reviewed, absolutely excellent, and the waiter we had was a real character. All the staff were very pleasant and looked after us well. Public areas were very comfortable. Shame about the weather, but we will not review that.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking the front of the hotel, but it was still very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, England
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We have been guests of the Hostellerie on four separate occasions now and on this last trip we travelled from Worcester simply to have a short break in France in the sure knowledge that we would have a good time here. We were not disappointed! Firstly the quality in service is second to none. Everyone from chambermaid to maitre d' seems genuinely to enjoy their job and to want you to have a good time. Madame Dubreucq is jolly and constantly checks to ensure that everything is as it should be, and then there is the food.......
We arrived on Monday when the menu is restricted presumably because the Chef has a day off! But although there isn't quite the same range to choose from, there still is a good choice and is just delicious. There is a lightness of touch in the sauces and soups. Homemade pastries with your aperitif and wonderful amuse bouches (trust I have spelled this correctly). The second night because we had enjoyed this restricted menu so much we chose the menu of the day and enjoyed, for example, a trio of fish - salmon mousse with sorrel sauce, butterfly prawns cooked in oil and garlic, and joules in a wonderfully light cream sauce. The main of rose veal in a lovely tomato sauce came with potatoes dauphinoise, a vegetable mousse and a tomato & courgette salad with a hint of cumin....just wonderful.
We stayed in a superior room which gave us just a little more room than the standard, although we have stayed in the simpler rooms and been quite happy. This time the bathroom was just that bit bigger too. Television tuned to BBC1 & 2. Bags of hot water for baths & showers, comfortable leather chairs in which to sit and read. Comfortable bed and quiet surroundings.

In the past we have stayed at this hotel on our way to other parts of France and Germany and it is ideal as it is only 20 minutes away from the port of Dunkerque. As it is a long journey down to Dover and as one loses an hour travelling to the Continent on the way out mean that this is perfectly placed to break the journey to the final destination. On return it is a final high point in one's holiday before the return to Britain.

There is also a lot to see in the surrounding countryside, albeit mostly based on the horrors of war.

Cannot recommend enough.

Room Tip: All rooms that we have stayed in have been good but if you want a little more room request a superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

From the outside it looks very nice with loverley gardens and tables outside. The rooms are large clean and have a old world charm.
The food is great we ate as a group and the staff were very accomodating to peoples different needs and arrival times. The sweet trolly is not to be missed.
Overall we would reccomend this hotel as either a stop on the way to or back from any part of France.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weybridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We have been here a couple of times, and would return.

It is situated about 30 mins from the coast, good size rooms with super food.

To get the best deals, book direct with the evening meal. The food gives excellent choice of local food and is a real treat!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The place is quiet. The rooms are comfortable, if smallish. The management are pleasant and the price is reasonable (dinner, bed and breakfast will cost about 200 Euros)

If you want an overnight stop in this region, it's a good choice

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beenaroundLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london, uk
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We stayed as a precursor to visiting the yearly Braderie in Lille. Beautifully maintained, really friendly people, great food. Near to the Channel Tunnel , near to St Omer and Lille. Having been before, I would not contemplate staying anywhere other than here in the area. Good value, attentive staff.

Room Tip: room to the front are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bollezeele
8.3 mi away
La Chatellerie du Schoebeque
8.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
715 reviews
11.9 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Au Tonnelier
Au Tonnelier
#1 of 1 in Bergues
133 reviews
23.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
323 reviews
8.9 mi away
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
Ibis Saint Omer Centre
#1 of 12 in Saint-Omer
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint Louis

Property: Hostellerie Saint Louis
Address: 47 rue de l Eglise, 59470 Bollezeele, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Bollezeele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bollezeele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint Louis Bollezeele
Hostellerie Saint Louis Hotel Bollezeele
Hostellerie St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing