We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bollezeele
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 4 November 2008

This was our third stay at St Louis. We were knocked out by the incredible food on our first visit and the standards have not only been maintained but have improved in some areas.
Friendly hosts and great ambience make it worth crossing the channel for.

  • Liked — The food
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Bramejat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    95
    10
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
248
4
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Londres, Royaume-uni
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2008

This was a last minute booking and having read good reviews on this site, I tried my luck (we needed 3 rooms for one night only) and was well rewarded for doing so. I speak French, which made it easy to book directly with the hotel, but the staff speak good English and I would advise anyone to do as I did. the contact over the phone was more than helpful and extremely friendly. I managed to book 2 standard rooms in the modern aisle of the hotel and a superior one in the old part of this attractive 18th century building. The hotel is in the village of Bollezeele, near 40 minutes from Calais and 20 from St Omer or Dunkerque. It is very quiet and the rooms are clean, comfortable and very good value for money. But what first attracted me (and my friends) was the reputation of the restaurant, rated as one of the best in the area. And we were not disappointed. The food is very inventive, of very high standard, reasonably priced (as are some of the very good wines on the list) and served with charm and great professionalism. Although we stayed and dined on a mid-week evening in October, the restaurant was packed and the hotel looked fully booked… and rightly so as this place deserve to be patronized by and advertised to anyone looking for a short break in the charming area surrounding beautiful St Omer.

  • Liked — Very quiet
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westerham
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2008

Visited September 2008. The service. accommodation and food were all outstanding and excellent value at very reasonable rates.
Bob Dexter

Helpful?
Thank rad39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2008

You will see that I have reviewed this hotel about 3 years ago.Maybe I'm biased !.......BUT
(Since my wife & I don't do long haul and are content with UK,France,Italy.....and Spain ?????) I really must say that,in any of our travels,this hotel does BY FAR the best food...and I mean BY FAR.If they were in Venice,Bruges or Carcassone,Paris or Rome,Seville or Bellagio (and there are some terrific restaurants in Bellagio !) they would make a FORTUNE !!! Tried Chateau Tilques (that's good) and Hotel Clery (good as well) but NONE compare - foodwise - with St Louis.This chef is a master......and DESERVES to be richly recommended.Somebody else will probably say they have eaten just as well.....but at what price ? This guy is culinary heaven !!! And so proud of what he achieves.And he has reason to be ! The food IS superb.By writing this review,I'm actually shooting myself (and others who already know the place - sorry !) in the foot ! But the standards of the restaurant are top drawer and deserve to be recognised.
The rooms ??? They're fine but not opulent or sumptious.A restful night - no grandeur.Appears as a good standard hotel without any particularly redeeming features UNTIL YOU EAT !
My only moan is that they are closed on Sundays.......but.......If I had to save my last sou during this credit crunch I'd swim to this place for a seat in their restaurant.(NO....I don't work there.....even their English ain't this good !!)
And,actually,it's also a very interesting place,Flanders !

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank mulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2008

What a lovely hotel!!
First of all, when we arrived, we noticed that they respected everything we requested when we booked the room (colour, bathtub...). And it's really rare in a hotel..
The staff was really friendly, the room (SAVOIE) was lovely: bright, very spacious, newly redecorated, we simply loved it!
And the bed was soooooo comfortable!
In the morning we were brought breakfast in the room. It was excellent, delicious croissants and baguette, juice and tea.
As we were running late, we asked for a late check-out that we were offered.
we will definitely come back!

  • Liked — bed
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LouParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2008

We have stayed at this hotel before and it seems to get better every time. The rooms are simple but more than adequate. The real advantage of staying here is the superb quality of food and helpfulness of the staff. The menus are excellent value and the food as good or better than any higher priced hotels anywhere in France. It is a pity we tend to stay here on our way to and from our final destination in Europe.

  • Liked — the food
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flinny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2008

Encouraged by the positive reports about this hotel on Tripadvisor, we booked to stay 3 nights at the beginning of May - and we were not disappointed. The hotel is in a lovely old building with later additions. We had a 'superior' room ('Alsace') overlooking the beautiful gardens, 2 windows, lovely light, plenty of place, immaculately clean with a pristine bathroom.
The owners and staff were very welcoming. The food was delicious and all in all very good value. The hotel is in a quiet and relaxing setting. Didn't get the chance to speak French as the owners and staff were speaking English!
The purpose of the trip was to visit WW2 places of interest and Commonwealth War Grave Commission cemeteries. It was an ideal base, the roads were very quiet.

  • Liked — lovely surroundings, clean, relaxed and welcoming
  • Disliked — nothing!
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank arromanche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bollezeele
11.9 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
459 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Chatellerie du Schoebeque
8.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.4 mi away
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
Inter-Hotel L'Haut'Aile
#1 of 7 in Coquelles
310 reviews
8.3 mi away
Au Tonnelier
Au Tonnelier
#1 of 1 in Bergues
130 reviews
12.0 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Dunkerque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint Louis

Property: Hostellerie Saint Louis
Address: 47 rue de l Eglise, 59470 Bollezeele, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Bollezeele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bollezeele
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint Louis Bollezeele
Hostellerie Saint Louis Hotel Bollezeele
Hostellerie St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing