We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming traditional French hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bollezeele
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Good base for an overnight stop or weekend break in the Pas de Calais. Rooms are very 1970, quirky French style but nevertheless comfortable. The food in the restaurant was good and deserves its Logis de France rating. The owners are charming and very welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (461)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 461 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed 5 nights at this hotel for the first time and enjoyed the experience very much. The standard of comfort and cleanliness is very high and the welcome from the host-owners is warm and sincere. Staff are both friendly and helpful. Rooms are well-decorated and equipped -a superior room is probably worth paying a bit extra for, though the standard room I had was fine for me and very spacious.

The menus are very good and the standard of cuisine high, deserving of its Logis 3 ovens rating. My companions particularly enjoyed the varied sea-food dishes on offer. Half-board guests choose from an "Inspiration of the day" menu which is limited but good. You can of course opt to choose from any of the other three more extensive menus and pay the appropriate supplement. Breakfast is a good variety of items on offer which provide a filling self-service continental buffet, most enjoyable.

The hotel is clearly well-liked by British visitors and English is spoken by staff if required. The village is easily reached from Calais or Dunkirk and is a quiet retreat. It has some facilities including a small supermarket and pharmacy-the latter is run by a very helpful and friendly young couple. When we had some difficulty with operational matters concerning a hired wheelchair from there for one of our small group, the pharmacist, Michel, came down to the hotel and spent time demonstrating what to do-much appreciated.

You can easily drive into Belgium from here or visit St Omer or go cross-country to the Boulogne area. It's a really good base for exploration and well-suited to those who like to drive in France but not have heavy town traffic to deal with every time you set off on a trip. We would be very happy to go back to this hotel and heartily recommend it to fellow travellers.

Room Tip: There is a wing of the hotel which is on the ground floor, for those who prefer. Other rooms are ups...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard_B190744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We have stayed at the St Louis several times- mainly on the outward /inward trips to/from France.You always receive a warm welcome and the place has never fallen behind on it's own standards.The rooms are not palacial but are of a good size (worth booking a superior room for the small extra);clean;well decorated and well equipped- excellent value.
The outside terrace overlooking the garden/fountains is ideal for an aperitif and the public room areas are very nice. The restaurant serves absolutely delicious food from various menu choices and the wine list is comprehensive and reasonably priced.
Breakfasts are also lovely from a wide and plentiful choice. We expect high standards whatever price level and we have always been delighted with the Hostellerie St Louis. The owners and staff care and give you excellent service. Within easy travel distance /time from Calais and Dunkirk and is based in a quiet( except farm vehicles) rural village.

Room Tip: Book a Superior Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Greecophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed here several times over the last few years and it is always our choice when in the area.. The rooms are clean and comfortable but without a wow factor.The helpful staff are amongst the friendliest I have found. The food however does have the wow factor, I have eaten in 3 star restaurants and the food here is every bit as good. If you are a "gastronaut" you won't regret stopping here, it's worth finding-The only problem we have had is booking the dates we want as it's normally very busy.

Room Tip: It's worth going for a superior if like extra space. None of the rooms are small but the superio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calenfant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Can't fault the cleanliness of this hotel at all and the breakfast options were great - loads to choose from. Friendly staff and a lovely looking place from the outside, but ohhhhh please rip out all the decor and bring it into the 21st century - very cheesy and dated curtains, wallpaper, chairs...... We didn't stay for an evening meal so can't comment on that but overheard lots of people aying they come here specially for the food so it's a shame we weren't staying longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PheebsUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

A charming hotel with all the traditional style of a Northern France Hotel, we British love with food to match.

Hostellerie Saint Louis is located in the small village of Bollezeele in the Pas-Calais just south of Dunkirk, about 40 minutes from Calais and 70 minutes north of Lens. It is well located as a springboard into Europe after a crossing of the Channel, a good centre to visit this part of France or, as with us, a place near to the Louvre extension in Lens.

We were given a warm welcome at the informal reception desk, also serving as the restaurant reception. The rooms are simple and clean with good sized bathroom and well sized room. However, although we paid for the superior room, it was an awkward long shape with rather drab decoration. The walls were very thin (in the tradition of older hotels you hear everything going on in the corridor)) and the bathroom was rather ordinary. In addition there was a step half way along the room between the bed and the bathroom which could be dangerous if you need to get up during the night. Whoops! Our room had a window overlooking the rear car park. All the ingredients of a good traditional french Hotel we love and remember from our childhood including awkward staircases and cosy lifts.

The Hotel is a conversion of an old hospital and is very charming from the outside. We arrived mid afternoon and took advantage of sitting in the front with a glass of wine overlooking the lovely gardens with its small lake and fountains. Charming.

The restaurant is large with three areas, two large internal rooms and a third smaller room which we chose to sit in because it had windows overlooking the garden. However, it seems that rooms are allocated tables so you may not have a choice of where to sit. We spotted a spare table which the lady seemed surprised about. Directly next to one window with a view sat a man who never lifted his eyes above his laptop which sat beside his plate. Hmmm!

The food was excellent in a very good solid traditional Northern French way. The only disappointment was the dessert which was a choice of 3 concoctions from a trolley. Rather boring. On the whole good food but don't expect Michelin Stars. The service was good and friendly.

The wine list was very well chosen and reasonable with a great deal of second wines from Classified Bordeaux Chateau. We took the waiter's recommendation and it was very good.

One last point. Nearly all the other guests were English and enjoying their later years. I cannot remember many children but this may be because it was June before the School Summer break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing onto the gardens and perhaps at the end of a corridor to avoid noise from othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank FoodieArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

An excellent hotel and restaurant. A little off the beaten track but well located for both exploring the Pas de Calais area and as a stopover for trips to Belgium and northern Germany. The Hotel is quiet, clean, comfortable and well furnished and equipped with well laid out and very pleasant grounds to the front. The staff are extremely friendly, welcoming and helpful. The outstanding aspect however is the restaurant. The menu is extensive and varied and the food and service is excellent - in fact couldn't be faulted. Gourmet standard. The relaxed ambience created by the owner in serving the desserts is symptomatic of the whole experience of staying there - friendly, relaxing. Will be staying there again and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Room Tip: Most rooms I saw appeared to be spacious and quiet. The hotel is some way from the road and therefor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elsey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bollezeele
11.9 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
511 reviews
8.2 mi away
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Hotel Chateau Tilques
#1 of 1 in Tilques
773 reviews
8.3 mi away
La Chatellerie du Schoebeque
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12 mi away
All Suites Appart Hotel Dunkerque
8.5 mi away
Le Bretagne
Le Bretagne
#11 of 12 in Saint-Omer
177 reviews
9.1 mi away
Quality Hotel Dunkerque
Quality Hotel Dunkerque
#1 of 3 in Armbouts-Cappel
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Saint Louis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Saint Louis

Address: 47 rue de l Eglise, 59470 Bollezeele, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Bollezeele
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bollezeele
Price Range: £67 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hostellerie Saint Louis 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hostellerie Saint Louis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostellerie Saint Louis Bollezeele
Hostellerie Saint Louis Hotel Bollezeele
Hostellerie St Louis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing