We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay”
Review of Escal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Etaples
Middlesbrough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One night stay”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had been holidaying in central France and thought of Etaples as it wasn't too far from the ferry at Calais the next morning. We stayed one night at this hotel and I found the staff very friendly and helpful. With my little French, and the receptionists little English we got on well. The hotel is central, and we found it to be very clean and well presented. The room was ideal. As we were leaving early, we did not have breakfast, but noted the room and the fare looked lovely. This is a small hotel that I would recommend to anyone and would use again. But, if you like a cuppa, make sure you pack a travelling kettle.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor but found no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    19
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
20
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel is conveniently next to the town centre and the small harbour. An easy walk to the town square. Although there was parking on the street outside the hotel this was full so we used a small car park just around the corner.
The hotel was clean throughout. We where given a small room at the back of the hotel. A compact bedroom with a shower/bath toilet and sink. The walls dividing us from the next room where quite thin and we could here the couple talking in the next room. Overall a decent stop although a little overpriced for the facilities available.
Situated about 30 mins along the motorway from the channel tunnel, this makes a great stop off when just entering or leaving France.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesmanphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We booked this hotel via "Hotels.com" back in January for one night this August as a 1 night stopover on our return from Spain. Due to an unforseen problem whilst in Spain we were travelling much later than we expected, so at about 9pm when we were still about 150 miles South of Paris I rang the hotel to tell them that we would be arriving, but it would be about 1am when we got there. I got a recorded message which I couldn't fully understand, I can get by in French but not enough to understand the message.
I then phoned hotels.com to ask them to relay the message, the operator asked me to hold whilst he did so, when he got back to me he explained that he had ( after a few attempts ) managed to speak to the owner who told him that she closes the reception at 10pm, she had already decided not to answer the phone at 9, and that, NO it would not be possible to check in after 10pm!
We have travelled abroad by car many times, and sometimes you get delayed, but we have never had this happen before, always, there will be somebody there, or they will give you the code to enter the building or the safe code to get your key.
I hope this hotel goes bust and gives the owner a lifetime of misery.

Room Tip: The best room would be any other hotel if you don't want to be in bed by 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Z1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Etaples hotels

Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Used the hotel as a base for a golfing week with 3 friends. Very clean hotel and a friendly owner. One of the rooms was a ground floor studio which proved plenty big enough to store golf clubs overnight. Good buffet style breakfast. We would definitely stay again if we re-visit for golf.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AFOaOFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Rooms in this friendly hotel are small but super clean, and the tiny bathrooms have been upgraded in the last year or so. The location is ideal - central, but quiet. The breakfast buffet is relatively modest, but much better than the standard bread and jam offering of cheap hotels in France. We have stayed here several times and it just keeps getting better. If you want room to swing your cat, go somewhere else; for a warm welcome and a no frills place to stay, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LonewolfNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etaples
1.3 mi away
Kyriad Le Touquet - Etaples
7.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Berck sur Mer
0.1 mi away
Le Charles VIII
Le Charles VIII
#2 of 4 in Etaples
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Auberge de la Renaissance
7.0 mi away
Mister Bed Berck - Rang du Fliers
2.9 mi away
Hotel Les Sables d'Or
Hotel Les Sables d'Or
#2 of 2 in Stella-Plage
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escal Hotel

Property: Escal Hotel
Address: 9 rue du Rivage, 62630 Etaples, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Etaples
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Etaples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Escal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Escal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing