We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent budget hotel”
Review of Escal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Escal Hotel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Etaples
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Decent budget hotel”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Rooms are very small, but comfortable and clean. Breakfast is simple and unexciting. All in all this little hotel gives you pretty much what would expect, including private bathroom, from one of the cheapest places around!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmsterdamOyster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    20
    12
    9
    4
See reviews for
13
20
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leicester
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

Easy to park outside which is good if you have luggage showing. We had a room for four which was bunks and a double bed which were all very hard but the room and hotel were all very clean. They supply towels and shower gel but nothing else which you would expect. The breakfast in the morning was very good and a good selection of everything. Its also well positioned.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JobozLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Pouring rain, 2 dogs to excercise and a town in April that seemed to be shut.
But,,, the location was close to the motorway but far enough to be a reasonable price. The owners were very welcoming and gave us a lovely garden room, there was also a lovely stroll down to the river close by. The owner spoke some English which helped in the restaurant as the waitress looker terrified, possibly new.
Would visit again, not necessarily as a pass through as I'm sure there was a lot we missed

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 503933Margaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We took a school party to France on 2 November, and I booked this hotel for our coach driver, as it was close to the Le Touquet airport. The hotel is excellent value for money, warm and comfortable. Etaples is a very good location, close to Le Touquet and Montreuil, and even closer to the motorway network. It also has an excellent, traditional French market. There are some decent cafes, and the well known 'Aux Pecheurs D'Etaples' restaurant close by. Our driver particularly recommended the Welsh fish and chip shop a few doors down from this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TonbridgeJollyyolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We had been holidaying in central France and thought of Etaples as it wasn't too far from the ferry at Calais the next morning. We stayed one night at this hotel and I found the staff very friendly and helpful. With my little French, and the receptionists little English we got on well. The hotel is central, and we found it to be very clean and well presented. The room was ideal. As we were leaving early, we did not have breakfast, but noted the room and the fare looked lovely. This is a small hotel that I would recommend to anyone and would use again. But, if you like a cuppa, make sure you pack a travelling kettle.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor but found no problems at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

The hotel is conveniently next to the town centre and the small harbour. An easy walk to the town square. Although there was parking on the street outside the hotel this was full so we used a small car park just around the corner.
The hotel was clean throughout. We where given a small room at the back of the hotel. A compact bedroom with a shower/bath toilet and sink. The walls dividing us from the next room where quite thin and we could here the couple talking in the next room. Overall a decent stop although a little overpriced for the facilities available.
Situated about 30 mins along the motorway from the channel tunnel, this makes a great stop off when just entering or leaving France.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluesmanphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We booked this hotel via "Hotels.com" back in January for one night this August as a 1 night stopover on our return from Spain. Due to an unforseen problem whilst in Spain we were travelling much later than we expected, so at about 9pm when we were still about 150 miles South of Paris I rang the hotel to tell them that we would be arriving, but it would be about 1am when we got there. I got a recorded message which I couldn't fully understand, I can get by in French but not enough to understand the message.
I then phoned hotels.com to ask them to relay the message, the operator asked me to hold whilst he did so, when he got back to me he explained that he had ( after a few attempts ) managed to speak to the owner who told him that she closes the reception at 10pm, she had already decided not to answer the phone at 9, and that, NO it would not be possible to check in after 10pm!
We have travelled abroad by car many times, and sometimes you get delayed, but we have never had this happen before, always, there will be somebody there, or they will give you the code to enter the building or the safe code to get your key.
I hope this hotel goes bust and gives the owner a lifetime of misery.

Room Tip: The best room would be any other hotel if you don't want to be in bed by 9.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Z1a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Etaples hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etaples
7.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Berck sur Mer
2.3 mi away
Auberge de la Renaissance
1.3 mi away
Kyriad Le Touquet - Etaples
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Mister Bed Berck - Rang du Fliers
1.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
722 reviews
2.7 mi away
Les Pelouses
Les Pelouses
#1 of 2 in Stella-Plage
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Escal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escal Hotel

Property: Escal Hotel
Address: 9 rue du Rivage, 62630 Etaples, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Etaples
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Etaples
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Escal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Escal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing