We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy stop over to south of France”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Residence du Rivage Chez Gino
Ranked #1 of 4 Etaples B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 October 2009

We travelled to the souh of France and this hotel was close by the E40, clean, simple and cheap. The small town is indeed a pleasant suprise and the location is very quiet. A plus is the safe parking place by the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Noemas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (95)
There are newer reviews for Residence du Rivage Chez Gino
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 6 February 2009

We stayed at the Residence Chez Gino for one night last Aug 08. What an awful night it was. The room was not in line with what we had been told by the Agent & Booking.com with whom we booked this.

There were 4 of us - 2 adults & 2 children. The room was described to us as a Family Room with one double bed & 2 separate beds or a bunk bed in a mezzanine level by the Agent at Booking.com. It was not. Firstly the approach to the room was scary & certainly would not be suitable for a person afraid of heights, secondly as the room is in an outer building of the hotel, it is approached via a steep & narrow staircase, which could be lethal in wet weather.

The room itself was very small with a double bed on the level you enter. The bathroom was so tiny that when one was in the shower cubicle you could not help but keep hitting the wall. There was only one glass panel on the shower enclosure. The other area was left open & caused the bathroom to floor to get very wet.

The so called mezzanine area where the other 2 beds were to be situated was an unpleasant surprise. Firstly I would certainly not call this an mezzanine area. Secondly the approach to this was via a large free standing builder's ladder. This was extremely frightening & dangerous & not what we had expected. Sadly there were no beds here either. It was just a double mattress on the floor for which linen was not provided.

It was not possible for one to stand up in this area of the room as the roof was low. My children 17 & 11 years were extremely uncomfortable & petrified by the experience. Negotiating the ladder to get to their bed was an awful experience & the fear on their faces was so evident. Given that we were only there for 1 night, I did not feel it was worth complaining and having to go & find alternative accommodation. But I hope by sharing my unpleasant experience others will be warned. It is not worth the trouble, nor the money to stay in one of these mezzanine rooms. Frankly you are better off in the comfort of your own home.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EVA15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelchezgino, Propriétaire at Residence du Rivage Chez Gino, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2011

Before quite thing(matter) Sirs and madam Internet users know that this room doesn't exist anymore in this configuration 4 persons . had too many criticisms denial in our beginning we have to delete this style of economic room for 4 which made the happiness of young people and family with teenagers who for 50€ they could come to sleep close to the Touquet in 4 ...... Today it will be necessary to pay out 85 € to have an accommodation for 4 however for this price would have you an accommodation 2 rooms of 38 m ² with kitchen area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Finding hotel rooms in Le Touquet at the weekend, with little advance notice, during the summer months is very difficult. Etaples is very close by and a busy, bustling little town on the banks of the River Canche with a thriving fishing industry. We booked this hotel for two nights as we had been invited to a party in Le Touquet and it was all I could find.

The hotel is very clean, bright with ceramic paving and peachy/orange gloss paint everywhere. The staff are friendly and helpful and even speak some English. Breakfast was delicious - they obviously get their croissants and bread from a wonderful bakery. The coffee was good, too, and there are cereals, juices, butter, jam and tea in the bright lttle breakfast room.

The bedroom itself was clean and functional, and the bed was comfortable. There was a proper fridge in the corner, which was nice, but no coffee or tea making facilities. There was no wardrobe as such, just a small hanging rail (see my photo). The bathroom was fine, and again, clean, but one of the shower doors was missing and the room was very small - couldn't possibly take more than one person standing at a time. However, for 56 Euros per night (per room, for a double), 6 Euros extra for breakast, how could you complain? Overall, it was great value for money and very centrally located in the town.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lynn of Berkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

My husband and two small children spent a long weekend here to celebrate my 40th birthday. Very friendly staff, very clean and tidy apartment with everything you could want for a long weekend. Big TV and DVD player was great too. Considering what a bustling little town Etaples is (we had no idea) the road the hotel in was very quiet yet only 5 minutes walk from the town square and nearest boulongerie. We also had not idea about the fresh fish available - everywhere. Take your cool bags to buy some to take home. Fantastic stay, no complaints! Only 40 minutes from tunnel and 10 minutes from Le Touquet, possibly 15 minutes from Bagatelle (younger kids version of Chessington).

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JudeYuill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2007

A group of us stayed in this hotel for the weekend.
It was a nice little hotel with friendly staff, near to the town centre.
The rooms we stayed in all had outside doors which I liked as you didn't invade others privacy. The rooms were basic but clean.
The breakfast was great and you could have as much as you like.
The secure parking was an added bonus.
The pizza resteraunt owned by the hotel did really good food.
We liked this hotel a lot, and my husband has returned there twice since, when he went away for weekends with friends.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lala95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank seb060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Aucune idée !
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erna-Elise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Etaples
0.1 mi away
Escal Hotel
Escal Hotel
#3 of 4 in Etaples
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kyriad Le Touquet - Etaples
0.0 mi away
Le Charles VIII
Le Charles VIII
#2 of 4 in Etaples
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
Holiday Inn Le Touquet
#4 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
740 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Red Fox
Hotel Red Fox
#5 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
668 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Residence Hippotel
Hotel Residence Hippotel
#12 of 21 in Le Touquet – Paris-Plage
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence du Rivage Chez Gino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence du Rivage Chez Gino

Address: 22 rue du Rivage, 62630 Etaples, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Etaples
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Etaples
Price Range: £70 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Residence du Rivage Chez Gino 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence du Rivage Chez Gino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing