We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”
Review of Lys Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lys Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halluin
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I was in this area during the world war "celebrations" and finally found a room at this hotel.

I was very pleasantly surprised. The rooms were clean and reasonably large (for France), breakfast was good. Parking is secure (you have to get the security sorted out to ensure you get in!) and the staff friendly and helpful.

All this for a very good price.

The hotel is perhaps 1 km from the commercial centre. Halluin is the French part of a single town that stretches the French/Belgian border. Whilst irrelevant now, the town has retained its past border characteristics with bars, fast food, and lots of people in the evenings. Worth a walk down for a meal (although not sure I would walk back in the dark!).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank suriChristchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 90 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Stayed in the hotel with my brothers and sisters because we had a wedding in Wervik, Belgium.
The rooms are quite small and basic, but everything needed is there and the rooms are spotless.
Also available is free wifi , a free parking place and good breakfast. But what really is great is the service. They arranged taxis (where we made a mess off, sorry for that) and helped us with the choice and reservation from a restaurant (thanks again).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinusfaasen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013 via mobile

Very friendly, clean and accomidating. Lobby and dining are beautifully decorated. They have alot of beautiful antiques to give it a comfortable atmosphere. The hotel offers a european style breakfast. There is a Patio and garden area out back which is very well maintained. Beautiful flower boxes in each room window with a butterfly decoration in each box. There is No A/C in the hotel so you rely on the window breeze. The hotel is pet friendly. Nice Gated parking lot. Rooms are small but clean. A short walk down the street are several restaurants, chocolate stores and shopping. The town is small so dont expect alot but do expect a enjoyable stay. I felt very comfortable and very welcome during my stay. The only bad thing about my stay was i smelled cigarette smoke in the hallways. Dont let that detour you from staying here because you will be missing out on a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Polishedfingers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Very comfortable clean basic hotel, no frills just good service, the hotel has a 10pm curfew when after that time you need the entry number to access hotel and car park, seems to work OK, the car park is very secure, make sure you know where you are going as the hotel is dark on the outside and needs alight on the sign, I would stay there again. there are some good restaurants about half mile away in town.........

Room Tip: quiet at back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank curatokid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My stay here was of one night,as a result of all Kortrijk hotels being unexpectedly full.Halluin is a very ordinary small town in the Lille/Kortrijk/Tournai metropolitan area,and seemed quite lifeless on this occasion,being a Monday when many shops stay closed,especially in August.All but one of the restaurants within walking distance were closed.Fortunately,this one(Italian) was very good.
The location,on a dusty main road well out of the town centre,is not inspiring,but there is a warm welcome from one or other of the two proprietors.For a two star hotel,there is a good level of service,with reception being staffed all day until 2200,and also all day bar service,including soft drinks and tea/coffee.Some care has been taken with the decoration of the reception area and bar/breakfast room,and both these areas,and our room,were very clean.
At this price,only a small,simple room can be expected,but the beds were comfortable,and there was even a proper blanket and good quality sheets.The basic furniture was all serviceable,with plenty of hanging space.There was a modern flat screen TV,but no fan in a west facing room which could get warm.The bathroom has a real enamel bath of generous length.
The only real annoyance was traffic noise,including wild people on motorbikes.A room at the back,overlooking a neat garden and good size car park,would be quieter.

Room Tip: Away from street is advisable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YorkshireAviator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

Having read the reviews I was expecting something more that a good average hotel. Nothing major to complain about. Room booked for two, towels supplied for one. Corrected next day without being asked. Clean, tidy and efficient but in no way extraordinary.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheBillWalsall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Reviews were right. This Hotel is absolutely wonderful. Very quiet area of the city and also within walking distance of many restaurants and pattiseries. Hosts were wonderful. Large room, very clean and quiet. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tr33man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Halluin
1.8 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant des Acacias Lille Tourcoing
Hotel-Restaurant des Acacias Lil...
#1 of 2 in Neuville-en-Ferrain
206 reviews
1.9 mi away
Altia Hotel
Altia Hotel
#2 of 2 in Neuville-en-Ferrain
190 reviews
4 mi away
Comfort Hotel Garden Lille Tourcoing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hotel Premiere Classe Lille Nord
6.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Lille Wasquehal
5.3 mi away
Premiere Classe Lille Nord - Tourcoing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lys Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lys Hotel

Address: 130 rue de Lille, 59250 Halluin, France
Region: France > Hauts-de-France > Nord > Halluin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Halluin
Price Range: £53 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lys Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Lys Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing