We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient last minute stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Abbaye de Villeneuve
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Les-Sorinieres
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel on lastminute.com and got a good rate on the day that we wanted to stay. Pluses - it's convenient, beautiful, quiet. Minuses - we hada standard room which was stuffy on a warm day and very small (we were advised in advance that the rooms were small, to be fair). The cleanliness wasn't great - bathroom a bit grubby and past its best, and taps that ran brown water - but it is a very old place so we can give it a bit of a break... The food is lovely, but not cheap, and the service leisurely. So if you're not in a hurry, don't mind the price of the menu, and can live with the quirks, this is a peaceful and beautiful place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosiestwins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (120)
There are newer reviews for Abbaye de Villeneuve
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 25 November 2012

We received a gift of an overnight stay at the Abbey as one of our wedding presents. Our entire experience with the staff of Abbaye de Villeneueve was perfect! When I called for the original reservation, we were guided to come on a Friday (rather than Saturday when a big wedding party would take place and it might be noisy) and we really appreciated that. The room was gorgeous - a very medieval, high-ceiling, kind of place with big old armoires and a very comfortable bed (not to mention the gorgeous mosaic in the bathtub!).
But we were mostly impressed by the incredibly delicious food and wine and the impeccable service (including the waiters and the sommelier). From the first contact with the reservations desk up until we were asked on leaving at 11h30 (we had enjoyed the meal and wine too much and slept in very late) if we wanted to have a simple breakfast in the salon, everyone treated us with the utmost care and hospitality.
I would highly recommend this hotel and restaurant!
Stephanie Cook

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StephanieC1789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

I used this hotel as a stop off on my way south. The hotel is charming and has real charcater. The location is also ideal within a few minutes from the main motorway. My room was lovely and was overlooking the main front garden. My one complaint was the air conditioning didnt seem to work.
The staff were very nice and friendly. The dinner was allright and breakfast ok too.
It was pretty cool to see the otters out in the front lake. All in all a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smilero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2011

service friendly and courtious.
room spacious, lovely and clean.
swimming pool o.k.
diner: terrible.
precooked, overcooked, too expensive and terrible.
nothing fresh. microwave.
wine however was good.
in short: stay there if you can't find anything else, but eat elsewhere.
it is sad. we would certainly return if they had a normal kitchen.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laravos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We stayed one night at the Abbaye.
The hotel is not easy to find even with GPS. The easiest we found: enter Les Sorinieres (downtown) in the GPS. When entering the village, look for a Villeneuve sign in one of the roundabouts you will cross and always follow Villeuneuve signs(you will leave and re-enter les Sorinieres) until you arrive at the gate of the Abbaye of Villeuneuve.
I am not sure how to express what we thought about our one night stay at the Abbaye. We did enjoy it a lot. Everything is not perfect but it’s precisely what gives an original charm to the hotel: the place, the swimming pool, the rooms, the furniture and decoration are unusual. Service is courteous. After reading the reviews, I thought the diner would be so so but it was finally a good surprised.
We were upgraded to a superior room: very spacious with antiquities furniture, view on the park. In these conditions, it was difficult not to enjoy our stay!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alja30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

This 13th century abbey is a fun 4 star rated mansion on a huge piece of property. There is an outdoor pool and a top rated restaurant. It’s located close to Nantes and close to the airport. My “premium” room was large with high beamed ceilings, queen-sized bed, flat screen TV, non working fireplace, hair dryer, tub with hand shower and a writing desk. There was no iron or room safe but both are available from the front desk. The room has opening windows, AC and free WiFi. Continental breakfast is 14 Euros. If there is a choice, choose the west side, pool side away from the traffic noises of the nearby highway to the east. This is more of a peaceful place to stop for a dinner and stay than a destination resort.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
Thank AlegreVancouverBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

My only regret is that we did not stay longer, the hotel was luxury in every aspect. Our rooms were large and furnished as you would expect an Abbaye to be. The bathroom was excellent and the whole place spotless. The food in the restaurant was fantastic and we could not fault the staff, very helpful in every way. Could not rate this hotel highly enough and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank katrinaHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les-Sorinieres
Graslin - Commerce
Oceania Hotel de France
Oceania Hotel de France
#1 of 108 in Nantes
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quintessia
#1 of 7 in Orvault
985 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbaye de Villeneuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbaye de Villeneuve

Address: Route de la Roche sur Yon, 44840 Les-Sorinieres, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Loire-Atlantique > Les-Sorinieres
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Les-Sorinieres
Price Range: £82 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbaye de Villeneuve 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Abbey was founded by Constance de Bretagne. Very important at the 15th century, the greater part was demolished Under the Revolution. Neglected since last war it was fully restored in 1977. The actual house dating from 18th century is the old Cistercian guest quarters. Now it offers all the modern tastefully luxuries with an air of nobleness and spell belonging to its past age. A side of the cloister still holds good and is open to the restaurant. Cuisine of exceptional standard on level with surroundings. Bedrooms and apartments with the genuine decoration of the wonderful framing half-timbering. The sitting-rooms have the splendor of the Great Century with their ceilings in the French style and fireplaces in stone. You will feel far from the monastic austerity of the Cistercians but quite near "a little place of the paradise" at the end of the road... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Abbaye de Villeneuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing