We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Chateau to stay in and outstanding dinner” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chateau de la Verie

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chateau de la Verie
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Challans
Certificate of Excellence
ringwood
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Chateau to stay in and outstanding dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

We stayed here for five days after a less than successful visit to the Dordogne. We needed to arrive three days early as our previous place (see Gavaudun) was so bad we had to leave early. The staff could not have been more accommodating to fit us in and it was a pleasant relief when we arrived and the chateau appeared serene and pretty impressive when you pull up in the car. The rooms are a bit dated, but spacious and in keeping with the overall chateau. The dinner is fantastic; you wouldn't want it every night but really good French cuisine and nice winelist. Also happy to accommodate our two children aged 12 and 9.

I would have given 5 stars except the pool is a bit small and too cold and the breakfast a bit limited. Other than that the place is great for any time of visitor.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jane o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    67
    24
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
111
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Beautiful Chateau, utmost friendly staff, excellent restaurant, very comfortable and clean rooms furnished by lovely antique furniture - a romantic place for newly weds as well as for anybody who values quality, comfort and beauty.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Charlotte L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
challans
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2013

We had a lovely meal out on the terrace. Unfortunately we had trainee waitress who didn't really seem to want to be there, but the maitre de made up for her negligence. The meal was beautifully cooked and the choice of wines affordable. A lovely setting for our family meal.
I can't rate the hotel as we just ate there.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank max4max245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster
Level Contributor
411 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

This Logis-listed chateau, south-west of Challans, provided an excellent pre-and post cycle tour base(whilst we left our car here for eight days). The building and its interior have been elegantly and sympathetically restored. We were warmly welcomed initially and then later, on our return-some of the staff expressing incredulity that two relatively old codgers managed a 400km trip à vélo in blistering heat. The staff were all friendly, and professional. There is a small, and quite cool swimming pool and lovely wooded grounds to walk through. There is also a tennis court. Our room (20) was spacious, complete with tiny turret room. There is no air conditioning, so being able to open all four windows in the suite was essential for air flow. My only criticism is that the windows are directly above the staff rest area (outside) which meant that their cigarette smoke wafted into our room. Difficult, as they need their own place to unwind. It also would have been good to have had a coffee/tea-making facility in the room, as it was a lovely space in which to relax.
The restaurant offers a fine dining experience, with three menus, on a terrace overlooking the park. Why, in this modern day, is the "little lady" given a menu with no prices? I found this offensive and inconvenient, as it was I who was paying the bill. We tried two of the menus and the food was prepared with originality, presented artistically and perfectly delicious.
The Dutch couple who own and run this hotel are clearly doing something right. One pays a relatively high price for such elegance, but this is a delightful place. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bootess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

I spent 3 nights B&B here with a friend. We ate locally with friends in the evening so can only comment on the Breakfast, no service but plenty of choice .Fresh croissants, boiled eggs, ham cheese, coffee and fresh orange juice, my choice, taken in the lovely dining room. The weather was not warm enough to swim but the small outside pool looked inviting.
We had two rooms. Room 18 has a large chandelier , en suite has double basins, the furnishings and wallpaper typical of a chateau. Room 20 was slightly cheaper I think, 18 overlooks the front lawn of the chateau. I preferred 20 overlooking the side of the property. Both rooms are spacious but 20 is lighter and has a small lounge area in a turret. The bathroom has a hair dryer
There are only about 21 rooms so this refurbished place of calm gave us an ideal weekend base.
We will return. All the staff are very friendly, especially the receptionist who was very helpful and speaks great English. Minor point good toiletries but no shower cap, will take my own next time. Rooms and bathroom clean, hair dryer provided. No hot drink facility in the bedroom and as the kitchen is closed on Sundays we would have liked a warm drink on our return to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joules20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pau, France
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2013

Searching for some where to stay when all the local gites and chambre d'hotes were closed, the hotels non-existant , we finally got a friendly and positive response to our inquiry.
A handsome chateau renovated and maintained sensitively in a large park which provides an oasis from the mundane region around. Tizzy modern white sculpture in the garden which spoiled the appearance is my only criticism and I guess eventually they can all go to the tip.
The welcome was warm and relaxed, our room was lovely and comfortable with windows that ( actually) opened to a expansive view. (We had actually asked for a budget room as we were on a trip for necessity only! )
The restaurant was good too and very happy to do a simple platter of oysters for us although it was not on the menu. This place would be nice for any kind of visit. Our tow big dogs were happy too. they stayed over night in the car and had a good run in the morning, with us taking care not to disturb all the farm and park animals.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kitinthehat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
177 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

We had a two night stay here in room 20 which is airy and spacious and has a little sitting area tucked in the corner tower. In high summer this room would be hot but there are large windows for air but no a/c. I was a little cold but the central heating fixed that quickly. The bathroom was spacious and well equipped. There was a fridge and mini bar. The only criticism i have is there was a bedspread which is a continuing bugaboo of mine. I prefer duvets and in this day and age all hotels should have them. The view is over the pretty gardens and pool and we could hear a horse demanding his supper around 5 pm. This is a chateau so you have to remember its not going to have elevators and level floors. Dinner was sublime...we went the whole hog and it was served professionally and with a nice tempo without being a 4 hour affair. The portions were generous for this calibre of restaurant. Breakfast was buffet and we were late the first morning so the coffee was not the hottest. The croissants were high quality. The fruit was a little on the spartan side but there was an orange squeezer (electric) for fresh OJ. You could boil your own egg...trial and error yielded a requirement of 7 minutes for this. The cheese and ham were a little boring considering the region but the French don't do breakfast the way the Scots do for example....no fry ups. The staff were courteous and spoke good English. No warm welcome here but we were not treated badly either. On the second night, having had a lunch on our sightseeing trip, we went to the local super market and bought cheese and wine and had that in our room ....an early night in advance of a long drive the next day. For the price we thought the chateau was very good value. I would say it would be super for a small party or wedding in late June or early Sept.

Room Tip: 20! Judging by the floor plan the rooms looked fairly big and hose looking over the pool are pretti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassandra595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
receptionchat, Responsable réception at Chateau de la Verie, responded to this review, 12 October 2012
Thank you really much for your post concerning our Castle. We are really glad to learn you enjoyed your stay. We still want to improve our customers'comfort and could maybe buy some duvets in the future. We really thank you for all compliments concerning the restaurant too. I will pay more attention to the temperature of the coffee and to the fruits'maturity. I prepared a paper for the egg machine in order customers use it more easily.... I am sorry if I was not available enough on your arrival to welcome you more properly...I am happy to read you had a good time in France!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Challans
1.9 mi away
Le Manoir de l'Antiquite
Le Manoir de l'Antiquite
#2 of 6 in Challans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
20.2 mi away
Hotel  La Villa en l'Ile
Hotel La Villa en l'Ile
#1 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
21.5 mi away
Ancre Marine
Ancre Marine
#4 of 14 in Noirmoutier en l'Ile
4.5 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Thalasso
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Thalasso
#2 of 17 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,045 reviews
24.6 mi away
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa les Sables d'Olonne MGallery Collection
Cote Ouest Hotel Thalasso & Spa ...
#2 of 29 in Les Sables-d'Olonne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hotel Inn Design Resto Novo Challans
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Verie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Verie

Property: Chateau de la Verie
Address: Route de Soullans, 85300 Challans, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Challans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Challans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau de la Verie 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Restaurant Château de la Vérie is located near the town of Challans, at the route de Soullans, near Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie in a favorable entourage. The pure and mild climate of the Vendée ensures a quiet and comfortable stay in our castle. Our 17 hectares park, with a goat and sheep enclosure brings nature within reach.Enjoy a relaxing moment at our outdoor swimming pool or at our tennis court, and savour the pleasure of our haute cuisine restaurant. With its menus of seasonal and quality ingredients the gastronomic restaurant of Château de la Vérie is a tribute to French cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Chateau de la Verie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing