We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel La Corniche”
Review of Hotel La Corniche

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel La Corniche
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hotel La Corniche”
Reviewed 18 April 2013

A very pleasant hotel, with a fanatastic view out across the sea. We stayed for seven nights in a double room with a bed that was very comfortable, and for a change large enough for me. I'm two metres tall and usually have problems in this department!
There is no restaurant as such at the hotel, but breakfasts can be ordered and I believe are good value for money, with unlimited supply of croissants, cereal, toast and superb coffee.
We ate out every night and found two superb restaurants that were very reasonable, and after the usual 'pidgeon French language' exchange with the staff, they were delighted to speak to us in English.
The first restaurant in St. Hilaire de Riez is called the Cafe de la Plage. The food is excellant but be aware, it is very popular with the locals and fills very quickly.
The second restaurant we found in St Gilles Croix de Vie is called Les Voyagers. It serves all types of food and again is very good. This can be found just over the bridge going into the old town on the right hand side. I'd recommend both of these. There are several others that I wouldn't, as these left a great deal to be desired!
A superb area to visit, very relaxing and highly recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony looking out to sea, definetly worth the few extra euros.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobnLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    38
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
55
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Spent one night in October, as we were visiting cousins living in nearby Bretignolles-sur-Mer.
Hotel is very easy to find, parking at this time of the year was fairly empty. The reception staff (the owner?) was very polite and walked us to our room. We had a double with sea view, comfy bed, bathroom with nice shower, separate toilets, and enough space at the back of the bed unit for bags and clothes. The balcony was a nice little extra, especially at dusk time, and we thought it was worth the extra euros.
We didn't have food at the hotel, so can't comment on their breakfast. We found a little gem of a creperie in St Gilles Croix de Vie. It's called La Corvette Creperie. For some reason, it's not on TA at the moment, but you should try it if you're around. It's on the main street in front of the harbour, where all the restaurants are... just a bit further down the street than the other (more expensive and less friendly) ones.
We had an excellent night sleep, and checkout was quick and easy.
La Corniche is definitely a good place to stay at, but one can easily tell that during summer time it might become too busy and a bit less friendly, a bit like the Vendee coast in general ;-)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lareynette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We spent 5 nights at this modern hotel at the end of August. The hotel is in an ideal location between Sion and St. Gilles, and has clearly just been refurbished. We booked a room with double doors which opened out onto the balcony and sea view. It was an adequate size with an 'open plan' shower and washbasin and separate toilet. The hotel was clean and rooms were serviced daily with clean towels on request. A plentiful continental buffet breakfast is available with the usual selection of croissants, breads, brioche, fruits, yoghurt, etc. at a reasonable price. We made use of the car park at the back of the hotel (4 euros a day) as parking availability in front of the hotel was rarely available. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and it was good value for money. We will stay here again when we are next in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorsetview68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We have just returned from a week at this hotel, we have found the room with balcony in the small side, the staff very helpful specially Laura. The breakfast was good value for money and plentiful. There is not lift therefore I wouldn't recommend it to people with walking problems. THere is plenty of parking in the street therefore no need to pay 4 euros for parking at the hotel unless you have valuables in the car. There is a restaurant about 50 mts towards SION, however if you want to try something different try the restaurant in Sion, Hotel de Touristes. Is excellent value for money specially the 17 euros menu., Is a bit like going back 60 years in decor, a bit like faulty towers, but well cooked food, frienly service and very reasonable priced wines. Talk to the owner nicely and she might let you have table by the window overlooking the sea. For the 17 euroes you will have 5 oysters or a very nice mousse, next langoustines about 7 per person, next tournedo with chips very nice meat, and then dessert including cheesses very generous portions.
Unfortunately the weather wasn't very good.
Enjoy !

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TITOsudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

This hotel is situated an easy walk from St Gilles and Sion in one of the nicest positions on the Corniche. It appears to be recently refurbished and the rooms are simply but comfortably furnished. We had a side room with partial sea view and this was good value with a very good sea view. Breakfast was good and there are plenty of good restaurants nearby. There is no lift in this hotel which is not a criticism but could be a problem for some people. All in all a three star experience at two star prices.

Room Tip: Side rooms are better value than direct sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suffolkpunch56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2008

We booked this hotel as an over-night hotel en route to the South of France. We were truely not disappointed. The staff were very helpful - french speaking. Our room was facing the sea with a balcony and was really well appointed. The shower room, toilet and bedroom were very clean and very nicely decorated. The hall ways and the bedrooms had a real art-deco feel to them. We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment. The breakfast room was a bit more traditional and the breakfast was typically french. We would definately return to this hotel again if we needed a hotel in this region and would definately recommend it to friends, family & fellow "Trip Advisors"!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pceskew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
2.8 mi away
Hotel Vent d'Eden Park
Hotel Vent d'Eden Park
#2 of 3 in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
25 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Styles Saint Gilles Croix de Vie
Ibis Styles Saint Gilles Croix d...
#1 of 5 in Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
455 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hotel Edena
Hotel Edena
#5 of 5 in Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Ceitya
Hotel Le Ceitya
#2 of 5 in Saint-Gilles-Croix-de-Vie
70 reviews
0.9 mi away
Logis Frederic
Logis Frederic
#3 of 3 in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
41 reviews
8.4 mi away
Madame Vacances Residence Les Fontenelles
Madame Vacances Residence Les Fo...
#1 of 1 in L'Aiguillon-sur-Vie
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Corniche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Corniche

Property: Hotel La Corniche
Address: 117 avenue de la Corniche, 85270 Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Corniche 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel La Corniche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Corniche Saint-Hilaire-De-Riez, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing