We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Campsite!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping Les Ecureuils
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Just back from 7 night stay in les ecureuils campsite. Drove 4 hours from Roscoff on excellent roads. We booked direct with the campsite which was much cheaper and also the mobile homes were much nicer. Very modern accommodation with lots of storage. Our 2 bed home had a wonderful covered deck. We requested a fan as temp got up near 30 degrees when we were there. Our mobile was near the park and it was very safe for our kids to play. The whole campsite is very safe. We used the onsite bakery each day....you filled in an order the night before. There was a super u near by and also a hyper u. Wines were very cheap and delicious. I did think 3.50 euro for glass of wine was dear at campsite as bottle in Super u was 4 euro. There was nite time entertainment some nights which were packed and the kids enjoyed the fun. The real hit of the park was the water slides and lazy river.... Even our grandmother went on a slide!! The kids could happily spend all day there. Also very very easy to get subbed or sun chair. We ate one night in Amy's House which although dear was fab. Wifi was dear and only really worked at the bar area after 10pm. The campsite location was fab. Short stroll to beach and also to some nice restaurants. We cycled to Jean de monts with our 6 and 9 year old no problem. Lots to do in the area. Quad bikes, feeling forest, water park, amusements.....so plenty of fun. Went to pay du fou. Also great day out. Overall a fab campsite and we have stayed in lots along vendee region.

Room Tip: Book direct
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank P0ts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (139)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 139 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Family of 2 adults 2 kids (11 year old & 4 year old). We are just back from staying here for past 2 weeks we stayed with eurocamp in the 2bed 2 bath static with deck outside. Accomodation fine, dishwasher etc and gas bbq supplied. Ask for a sunny spot as a lot of statics in shady areas! Eurocamp staff all friendly & helpul we didnt use the kids clubs as were just too busy as plenty to do in and around area. Lovely beach just across road easily walkable with the usual windbreakers buckets spades etc!! On site pool fab, 3 water slides lazy river both my children could use, indoor pool also great for duller days but water in all pools pretty cold but it didnt stop my 2! Childrens play park on site also fab next door to that a tennis court which is 3euro per hour to hire (take your own raquets if you can save hiring). Table tennis on site as well as gym and health suite! I definetly advise taking bikes though as everyone cycles in France and the cycle paths are great you can cycle lots of little places and have lunch or take kids to funfair etc. On site bar small but adequate with a small soft play that was nice to take children to get out the sun & enjoy a refreshment. places to visit - st jean de monts, lovely seafront lots of lovely places to eat. St Gilles lovely harbour town with lots of little shops etc. the water Taboggan waterpark is just along the road within cycling distance 80 euro for day out but my kids loved it & could go on all the slides. A much cheaper and as good place to visit is Parc des dunes in Brem- 15 minutes max away in car, fab day, water slides, loads of inflatables, ball pool, mini golf etc etc 10 euros each well worth it, take a picnic lunch to any of these outings as we didnt and food no great shakes! There are 2 supermarkets within minutes in the car and 1 smaller one at end of site road. All in all great place to stay :)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank EllenMaisie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We loved our holiday at Camping Les Ecureuils. We were in a 2 bedroom cabin with a bathroom for each bedroom. While it is obviously small accommodation it is what we expected. It was nice to have the deck to eat out on and this was plenty big enough for the 3 of us.

Our 4 year old could happily walk to and from the beach (plus play on it for hours) without getting too tired out by the walk there. The beach was a great mix, dry sand for sitting on and plenty of wet sand to build castle on and look for crabs, jellyfish and other creatures on. You'd often see locals in the shallow water looking for clams. He also adored the pools and slides. The massive bonus for us was the indoor pool which was warmer than the outdoor one. We had a couple of rainy afternoons but could still burn off energy in the pool for an hour or so.

There is a shop on site that does take out but there's a big supermarket just up the road and a pleasant bakers for those yummy early morning treats. The office gave us details of the local markets and all these are worth a visit for fresh produce to BBQ back at the campsite.

We took a trip to Puy du Fou which was 2 hours drive away but worth every Euro of the entry fee. Sables D'Olonne had a zoo which was small but had all the main animal attractions and again was compact enough for an excited 4 year old to run around without complaining of tired legs.

The onsite childrens club was popular and our son went to 2 sessions in our two weeks and enjoyed both. our cabin backed on to their site and we heard a lot of games and fun being had. The staff sounded very competent and upbeat. Children were encouraged to bring waterbottles, given sun hats and required to be already suncreamed. He took part in one of the "learn to ride" sessions for little ones. It wasn't actually about being taught anything but he still had fun on a balance bike which he's already confident on.

All in all an excellent break and we'd recommend it to a friend in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Woodyshols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

My husband and I booked 4 days at this site through an offer in the Daily Mail. The site is clean and the accommodation was fine. This is a family camp site and definitely NOT suitable for elderly couples looking for a holiday with entertainment designed to suit them. The site has limited facilities that include a small shop and a swimming pool with a very limited number of sun beds, most of these were quickly taken over by families with two or three children, towels and bags spread over the beds in case the children wanted to use them !!! Entertainment was limited to a disco on Wednesday evening and a large play cage for children was located in the centre of the one and only bar. If you are looking for a quiet drink, go to the bar in the next campsite along the road.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rousell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014 via mobile

Just back from 8 days here. We (2adults 2kids) stayed in a 2 bed mobile Hme with eurocamp. The facilties which have being mentioned before are very good. Toddlers pool keeps them occupied with there own baby slides. The lazy river and other slides are also great for the more adventurous kids. Main pool is a gd size. And the 2 indoor pools are great if overcast and a bit cooler. Bar has a great playpen area to finally get rid of any energy the kids may have left from the day. Shop hadn't much stock but it is off season and the food from the restaurant/takeaway is very gd. The only downside it has is the wifi is expensive 3€ per hr and is only available in the bar and limited in pool area. We will be going back. Eurocamp staff were excellent and the parc staff were very nice even listened to my pigeon French.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank Morganirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Had a fantastic holiday here last year (just looking on here for this year and thought I would write a review!) we stayed in a two bed caravan, fine for all three kids as bunk beds and bed in one room, immaculate caravan-fantastic pools, heated lazy river and slide pool, and indoor pool too which was fab when a little colder outside, lovely family that run the site, great euro camp staff, nice areas to visit around the area too and close to supermarkets -I would really recommend to
anyone with kids!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Gg20141234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We have visited here twice and if it wasn't for the long drive I'd visit a hundred times over. Its such a nice place to be for so many reasons:

-It is literally straight over the road from a beautiful beach
-The statics are of excellent quality (we stay with Eurocamp), really clean and well looked after
-The area as a whole is authentic and lovely to explore
-The reps are eternally helpful, nothing is ever too much trouble
-Really nice playpark onsite
-Great take away service, we had a pizza and I would definitely recommend

Okay so my only negative would be that the outside pool is absolutely freezing and the inside one isn't much better but this wouldn't put me off visiting again. The children didn't seem to mind the inside one, I couldn't stand it. The outside one is enough to take your breath away!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Layla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
0.8 mi away
La Yole
La Yole
#4 of 40 in Saint-Jean-de-Monts
248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Camping de la Plage de Riez
Camping de la Plage de Riez
#2 of 36 in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
371 reviews
3 mi away
Camping Les Biches
Camping Les Biches
#15 of 36 in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Le Hameau de l'Ocean
Le Hameau de l'Ocean
#1 of 36 in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
121 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel La Corniche
Hotel La Corniche
#2 of 3 in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Madame Vacances Les Mas de Saint Hilaire
Madame Vacances Les Mas de Saint...
#16 of 36 in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping Les Ecureuils? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Les Ecureuils

Address: La Pege, 85270 Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Vendee > Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 36 Speciality Lodging in Saint-Hilaire-de-Riez
Hotel Class:4 star — Camping Les Ecureuils 4*
Number of rooms: 215
Also Known As:
Camping Les Ecureuils Hotel Saint-Hilaire-De-Riez
Camping Les Ecureuils Saint-Hilaire-De-Riez, Vendee, France

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing