We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visiting the Le Mans classic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
L'ermitage hotel & restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saulges
Certificate of Excellence
camberley
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Visiting the Le Mans classic”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Even though Saulges is a 1 hour drive from the circuit, on balance it is probably worth it. The hotel is very comfortable, attractive and good food. The village itself is made up of a few homes and one bar which was shut most evenings. The hotel has secure car parking, heated pool and comfortable seating areas.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are away from the church clock, an important point after too many bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank premiercrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    51
    8
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
45
3
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, England
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We used l'Ermitage as our base during our regular visit to 24 hours of Le Mans. The location is delightful, very secluded and in a tiny village. The restaurant is of exceptionally high quality with a very adventurous Chef - mixing tastes, flavour and textures in a way I have never experienced before - each course is a culinary adventure. The Chef has to be congratulated for his creativity and expertise.
As for the rooms - they were "acceptable" - not the best I've experienced and all slightly tired... but this will not stop me from returning to l'Ermitage for a summer break and much wanted peace and quiet.
One final point is the Manager (Owner) - who has to be commended for his great sense of humour and efficiency.

All in all - a wonderful find and a great place to stay for a few days.

Room Tip: Try and get a room that looks out over the rear gardens! (I din't, but wish I had asked)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tullidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Next September it will be the 6th time we overnight at this wonderful Hotel. We spend our vacations in September in Brittany and with discovered this Hotel through our navigator the 1st time we were travelling there. We fell totally in love with its location, atmosphere, the rooms, the exquisite dinners, the environment and the owner's kindness. Saulges is a wonderful place to be discovered, offering gorgeous ancient buildings, prehistoric caves and the canyon. The Hotel has on its side a fabulous merovinge church, St. Pierre, that is absolutely worth a visit. Even if passing through Saulges makes our trip to Brittany about 100km...we would never give up a visit at the Ermitage, enjoying the atmosphere, the delightful food and a heavenly sleep in its rooms!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oswestry, shropshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We recently spent one night here on our way north to the ferry. Saulges is a delightful pretty peaceful village with lovely walks right from the hotel doorstep. The front of the hotel is lovely, very old and characterful and the welcome from the gentleman at the desk was very friendly, but unfortunately when he took us to our room we were taken to a very ugly annexe with unappealing stairwell and very anonymous corridor leading to our room. I had paid extra for a premium room and was expecting something special,in fact it was a very average room which could have been in any hotel, to be fair there was a nice view over the fields but it was all just a little tired around the edges. There was everything you need for an overnight stay but certainly nothing special. This was a shame as when we went down to the restaurant this was superb! Excellent food of classic French style, beautifully presented and with service to match. Breakfast was also excellent, a good choice of continental breakfast with a few little extras. Thought overall the room was overpriced but was very pleased with the restaurant.

Room Tip: Probably not worth paying extra for a 'premium room',
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanna23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2011

This is a lovely Relais de Silence in a peaceful village not far from the main Laval - Le Mans road.
Setting is rural. The relais rooms are very well furnished and they have lovely views over the countryside.
There is a nice piscine which can be covered in poor weather.
Meals are of a good quality and there is an excellent choice at breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobpol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saulges
15.2 mi away
Au Relais Du Gue De Selle
Au Relais Du Gue De Selle
#1 of 1 in Mezangers
119 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hotel du Commerce
Hotel du Commerce
#1 of 1 in Vaiges
60 reviews
11.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Ricordeau
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Aubin
Hotel Le Saint Aubin
#1 of 1 in Cheville
74 reviews
18.0 mi away
Perier du Bignon Hotel
17.9 mi away
Parc Hotel
Parc Hotel
#2 of 3 in Chateau-Gontier
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'ermitage hotel & restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'ermitage hotel & restaurant

Property: L'ermitage hotel & restaurant
Address: 3 Place Saint Pierre, 53340 Saulges, France
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Mayenne > Saulges
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saulges
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'ermitage hotel & restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your L'ermitage hotel & restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing