We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful site, and so much history”
Review of Fort Boyard

Fort Boyard
Book In Advance
More Info
US$233.52*
and up
Fort Boyard Helicopter Scenic Tour
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Fouras
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
FLORIDA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“beautiful site, and so much history”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We took one of the morning cruises from La Rochelle Vieux Port to Fort Boyard and had an absolutely amazing experience. We took tons of pictures. Also lots of memories from when i was a little girl.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank AmericanEagleFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    121
    41
    6
    4
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Was a fun day too, interesting experience also. My husband loved the tv show and he wanted to see more than anyone, we did not regret too and was very enjoyable. The boat tour was ok. I may advise people to look for better deals as our was not value for money:).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting Fort !”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

As a french myself, this Fort has been one iconic monument over the past decades. You are allowed to approach on a maximum of 200 meters, set by the Police rules! However, it is a monument that is incredibly respected among citizens and tourists..

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank franck887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Priors Marston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Memories of TV show but incedible history”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We were attracted by our memories of the TV show form the late 90's and decided to go on a boat tour. We took a tour from the harbour by the two towers which included the approach to Fort Boyard and a stop on Ile d'Aix. This is a great combination. Apart from the TV show the history of building the Fort is incredible spanning from the 1600's to 1800's and an enourmous cost on for it never to fulfil its purpose. A short way further on the Island of Aix is beautiful and a cyclists paradise. It has a small high street with cafes, bars and shops in a tranquil and peaceful setting. It thrip costs E25 each return and a great way to see the sights. The boat is 90 mins out and an hour back with 2 hours on the island.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TP47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plzen, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
227 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great trip on a private boat to Fort Boyard”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We rented boat with petrol engine (no permission needed) in Boyardville, which is the best location to reach the Fort Boyard. Price was $100 for 2 hours which is sufficient, journey to Fort take about 20 minutes at full throttle. Maximum distance you can reach Fort is 200 metres, we tried to get closer (50 m), but after few minutes police came to us and told us its forbidden to be so close with the boat. Recommend!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Blechaluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fort Boyard also viewed

Fouras, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
La Rochelle, Charente-Maritime
 

Been to Fort Boyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing