We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Uncomfortable and poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Charpiniere
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Galmier
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Uncomfortable and poor service”
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Overpriced, the mattress was too hard, the pillow too soft. The ironing board was just big enough to iron my tie-how much more would it have cost them to provide a normal one?

Breakfast was a very poor selection and overpriced for what it was.

I would not recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EurodjBusinessman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Dear sir,
first of all we do thank you for your comment.
We apologize for the incovenient.

Best regards,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    68
    21
    12
    6
See reviews for
26
91
3
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Teddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2014

We recently stayed at La Charpiniere whilst looking for a wedding venue. Nice location down a long driveway so no traffic noise, and plenty of secure parking. We had a ground floor room which was plenty big enough and clean, although it unfortunately was on the way between the bar and the stairs to other floors, which meant lots of late night noise from people making their way back to their rooms.

To us the hotel seemed more suited to business meetings/seminars rather than a tourist hotel, and felt comparable to a Travelodge or Premier Inn (with a highly inflated price tag). The staff were not particularly polite nor forthcoming, and we had to hunt someone down every time we wanted to order a drink. Our wedding co-ordinator was 30 minutes late for our appointment and then appeared distinctly uninterested, not a good sign for customers potentially spending a fairly large amount of money. The lack of interest appeared to be common amongst the staff in general.

That said, the room was comfortable and I would stay here again for a night if the rooms were more reasonably priced. At the current rate, I would not stay. And I would definitely not hold a wedding here thanks to the 3500 euro charge for walking through the door.

Room Tip: Higher floor away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sgt385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franck A, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
We do our maximum so that the quiet of each is respected but, unfortunately, it’s not easy every day.
We are sorry that you had an impression of indifference from our staff what usually is not the case...

We however hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We chose this needing an overnight stop on the way from the Riviera to the Loire but might not have done had we read the recent reviews on this site beforehand. It is basically a new hotel built around an old round tower (now used for a couple of suites). There was plenty of parking near the hotel entrance, and it's basically in the countryside but not far from the village, so no serious traffic noise.

Our room was quite large and well equipped and had free wifi. It was on the ground floor with a small terrace to sit on in the evening sunshine, with the swimming pool just across the grass.

There are two restaurants and we booked for the "gastronomic" one. This provided us with excellent means at a quite modest price. The hotel was also hosting a wedding group and a small conference - the restaurant staff managed to insulate us pretty successfully from the noise of the groups who were dining nearby. The breakfast next morning was in the bisto area and was fair to middling..

While the decor is a bit "Novotel" (as someone said) with lots of beige and brown, the location, rooms, food and facilities were perfectly good and I'd be happy to stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank astronomer-at-large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Charpinière L, Directeur général at Hotel La Charpiniere, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you to taking the time to write your opinion of our Hotel and to compliment us. We will be happy to welcome you again at La Charpinière.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Udine, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Very quiet location in this small and nice village. The Hotel just renovated last year, all rooms are spacious and confortable,bathroom and shower clean and large.
No frigo bar.
Just a few international TV channels.
Wi-fi on payment, no good signal in the rooms far away from lobby.
Gym(small and just a few tools),SPA(by reservation) and outdoor swimming pool (for summer).
Breakfast very poor for this location and without service.
Restaurant with French cuisine.
So great location with some details to revise on service.

Price AVG with tax 100€ x night.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank illof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2012

St Galmier is not a destination (unless you are a disciple of Auguste Badoit). So this is a transit hotel. Despite the carefully angled photos on the websites, which contrive to give the impression that the buildings are quite old, this is essentially a brand-new building. To that extent, it very much resembles a Novotel, but has even less warmth or charm.
The receptionist was friendly and showed us to our room. The room itself was of a good size and with an excellent bathroom. The shower was particularly impressive. Unfortunately the large bed turned out to be most uncomfortable.
Although the hotel boasted a gourmet restaurant, we were only gIven the option of dining in the bistro. The meal was adequate, but the experience somewhat soulless.
After an indifferent night's sleep, the real low point was breakfast. One girl on duty, whose sole function was to clear tables and who made no attempt at service. Ok, this was a buffet breakfast, but this was the ultimate DIY meal - boil your own eggs, pour your own coffee from a thermos and toast your own bread - except that there was no bread suitable for toasting.
This place is not a good advert for French hotels - we've stayed in a lot of far better, much cheaper establishments. It only gets 3 blobs because of its excellent plumbing!

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Basil1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beaugency
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was our third one night stay at this hotel (we've stayed here previous years), which has been recently bought. The new owners are in the process of renovating the place and, as a consequence, there's a lot of work going on (which the hotel warned us about when we made our reservation.) As it turned out, this caused us no problem whatsover. The rooms are just as nice, the beds just as comfortable as they've always been, and the location just as quiet (its part of the relais de silence organization) in a pretty park not far from the main part of town.

Friends from the area joined us for dinner, which we all found to be absolutely excellent, with an attentive and friendly service. We all took the 25 Euro menu which consisted of a starter, main dish and dessert. My wife and I shared a half bottle of wine (our friends didn't drink) and the total came to about 112 Euros.

The room was 85 euros (off season.)

I have to say that I'm flabberghasted by the comments made by another reviewer (in French) about the food and overall poor rating that he/she gave the restaurant and hotel. Like that reviewer, my wife and I are frequent restaurant diners, and we stay at a lot of hotels during the course of the year. Our experience here was diametrically different than theirs and our stay apparently only one day apart!

On the other hand, it has to be said that the breakfast was expensive and really quite meager. Not a good value at all.

If you have a dog, it should also be noted that they charged 12 Euros extra for our little Cairn Terrier.

Because of the ongoing construction, the parking lot is a bit chewed up at the moment. However it's within the grounds of the park, in front of the hotel and I would think quite safe.

Room Tip: I would think that all the rooms should be very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pktiberius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Galmier
4.0 mi away
Actuel Hotel
Actuel Hotel
#1 of 4 in Andrezieux-Boutheon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
4.2 mi away
Best Western Saint-Etienne Aeroport
Best Western Saint-Etienne Aerop...
#3 of 4 in Andrezieux-Boutheon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
9.8 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#18 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
City Lofthotel Saint-Etienne
City Lofthotel Saint-Etienne
#2 of 25 in Saint-Etienne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
8.8 mi away
Campanile Saint Etienne Centre - Villars
11.3 mi away
Inter-hotel Marytel
Inter-hotel Marytel
#1 of 2 in Montbrison
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel La Charpiniere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Charpiniere

Property: Hotel La Charpiniere
Address: Lieu dit la Charpiniere, 42330 Saint-Galmier, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Loire > Saint-Galmier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Galmier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Charpiniere 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel La Charpiniere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing