We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay and eat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Julienas
USA
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good place to stay and eat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Julienas is a small village a little off the beaten track, but not unreasonable for visiting the region. The Hotel Chez la Rose is a collection of buildings around the main square of the village. We stayed in an apartment less than a 100 yards from the hotel main building and restaurant. The bistro was not open the two nights we were there so we ate in the main restaurant. Service and food were above average, about what you would expect for a Logis three pot restaurant. Overall a good experience and we would return if travels take us to the region, but we would not likely make a special trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pealringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    44
    9
    4
    0
See reviews for
15
64
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This hotel is in the middle of a small village in the Beaujolais. It is an old building that expanded progressively and offer different type of rooms. Ours was large, very nicely furbished in a modern style and very quiet. The hotel has a restaurant in house and a separated bistrot , but we did not try them. The location is very good for a wine testing visit in Burgundy and Beaujolais. Reception was warm and helpfull.

Room Tip: We had a "superieure room"
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nils D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

We stayed at La Rose & Le Coq with 7 other couples for 5 nights for a 4 day wine tasting visit in Beaujolais in October 2013. It was the perfect centre for our activities. Julienas is a small sleepy village right in the middle of the wine country. The hotel is in the middle with plenty public parking opposite. The hotel does not have its own car park. We had negotiated an excellent price for bed, breakfast and dinner with Monsieur Alizer, the owner for our five nights.

There are five types of room spread over the hotel and two other buildings, thirteen in all. These vary from Standard 14 sq meters with Queen size bed to Superior Suite 55 sq meters 2 bedroom King size beds plus a sitting room with a convertible settee. There are three rooms just the other side of the side street and three furnished apartments including a kitchenette in each in a building about 30 meters down the main road. Members of our party stayed in these other buildings and I heard no complaints.

Our room was in the hotel itself where we had a large king size bed, a sitting room, bathroom with a bath and overhead shower and a separate toilet. The décor was modern and clean and it would appear that the rooms had recently been redecorated. All rooms are air conditioned and this worked well in our room. There is a lockable safe deposit box in all rooms. As far as we could gather the style of decoration was common throughout the buildings. There was a television set, though the only programs in English were Sky and BBC news. There was one wardrobe in our room but no drawers. There was a desk with a small fridge with some drinks inside. Pets are allowed in the rooms

Outside there was a swimming pool and terrace area which had been closed for the winter before we arrived. It looked as if it would be a nice place to sit and relax during warm weather. Other than the terrace there were limited public seating areas.

There are two restaurants - a bistro and a more formal restaurant. We eat in both and found the food to be of a very good standard. We had an excellent coq au vin one night and scallops and ratatouille another. The Crepe Suzette for desert on the first evening was excellent. Speaking to people on our wine tasting visit they indicated that the food had a good reputation locally. Breakfast was served in a small room off the kitchen and included fresh orange juice, cereals, yogurts, cheeses, pastries, homemade compote, fruit, fresh croissants and jams. Fresh coffee and various teas were served.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

We stayed here on Sunday the 29th Sept this year. We only made a late reservation, but what a great decision. We have eaten there on several occasions over many years, but hadn't stayed.
Great room, great food, great reception by Madame and her staff. Don't want to be too complimentary as we may not get a room next time we pass through!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BM42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed here for one night when driving back from Italy to France and calais. Our room was in the main building and was very good. We had our dog with us and she was welcomed too.
The rooms was a good size with an open plan bathroom. We ate in the Bistro rather than the more formal restaurant and the food was good although limited menu and not cheap.
The staff were very friendly and the breakfast was also good. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Belinda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bilthoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Every year we travel to the Provence and have made Chez-la-Rose our 2-day stopover. Never disappointed, we always take the apartment some 80 m from the hotel with a spectacular view of the Mairie and countryside behind it. One really enjoys the hospitality of Sylvette and Bertrand Alizer. Nice food and if lucky with the weather, one can dine outside. Very relaxed and quiet. And the Beaujolais is a nice area to visit some interesting places. Roche de Solutre, Cluny Brancion, all worthwhile visiting.

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DonC48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2013

We stayed one night based on the good reviews of the restaurant and were not disappointed in the slightest. Our room in the annexe was smart with an excellent shower and free wifi. The meal was one of the best we have eaten anywhere in France, the topinambour (artichoke soup) and soufflé for dessert will remain long in our memories. The accompanying wine list is extremely reasonably priced with local Beaujolais wines. The service in the restaurant was very personal and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rosamundj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julienas
0.6 mi away
Hotel des Vignes
Hotel des Vignes
#1 of 2 in Julienas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
4.7 mi away
Les Maritonnes
Les Maritonnes
#1 of 1 in Romaneche-Thorins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
#1 of 1 in Saint-Verand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Auberge du Paradis
Auberge du Paradis
#1 of 1 in Saint-Amour-Bellevue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Des Grands Vins
Hotel Des Grands Vins
#1 of 1 in Fleurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chateau de Pizay
Chateau de Pizay
#1 of 2 in Saint-Jean-d'Ardieres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE

Property: HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE
Address: | Le Bourg, 69840 Julienas, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Julienas
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Julienas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of the Beaujolais wine region, in the small town of Juliénas, Christine and Alain Bleton offer a creative cuisine Inspired by local and seasonal flavors. Thanks to their comfort and relaxing atmosphere, you will find happiness in our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing