We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable, affordable, friendly” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel des Vignes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel des Vignes
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Julienas
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Comfortable, affordable, friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

My wife and I stayed there last week with our 12 month old son. The hotel provided a cot, very helpfully. Bedrooms and bathrooms are straightforward but clean and comfortable. Plenty of parking. There is a large garden and a small unheated (I think) swimming pool. Great for the hot days of Summer. Breakfast was plentiful and generous. Overall recommended for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank businesstraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    61
    10
    5
    2
See reviews for
21
69
4
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Chantilly, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We arrived late at about 10:30PM and was greeted with warm understanding from the owner. The room was very clean, quite and comfortable,. We sleep very well. In the morning, they served a typical Continental breakfast with breads, cheese, meats, coffee, tea and much more. In the daylight the grounds of this hotel were very beautiful, clean and well maintained. We forgot something in the room and they called us and helped recover the missing item we forgot. This is a wonderfully little hotel in the heart of France Wine country. They contacted a local neighbor and arranged for a private tasting of there wines.

Room Tip: Call them they are wonderful people and will help you in every way they can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LesKent_USA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sugar Land, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2011

This hotel was like an oasis in the middle of the desert for me and my family. We had gotten lost in the Julienas/St. Amour/Macon region with our four kids in tow, when we stumbled upon Hotel des Vignes. The monsieur and madame were very warm and welcoming. We wanted to get two adjoining rooms because our kids are ten and under, but since they had just rented them out before we arrived, they gave us two rooms side by side. The rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable, and the bathroom amenities luxurious, with herbal bath salts, too! The breakfast was great: croissants, baguettes, cheeses, yogurt, fruit, confiture, spreads, coffee, oj, etc... Although we didn't take advantage of this, they do have a pool, which is right across the building. The view was magnificent. Vineyards as far as the eye can see! I'm so glad we got lost!!

Room Tip: Although all rooms will provide the traveler with a fantastic view of the vineyards, I would prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrmaLeticia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
193 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

Based on website photographs, I had fairly low expectations for this hotel -- I thought it would be like Motel 6 in the US -- bare bones furnishings, poor condition, tiny rooms. Well, the hotel may be a little more modest than we normally stay in, but it was really very nice in every way. (Plus, I never saw anything better in the Beaujolais region...not on line or in person.)

The property is located on a hillside above Julienas and most of the rooms have a beautiful view of vineyards and hillsides and village. It is a lovely 10 minute walk into the village where you will find 2 excellent restaurants, if you don't want to drive. (We liked Le Cog so much, we ate there twice!) The area is much quieter than I thought, so there is virtually no traffic at any time and even less in the evening and night . I was worried about having no air conditioning but we could sleep with our large windows open and lots of cool breezes flowing in. (Admittedly, if they had a heat wave, it could be a problem.)

We were able to get the room that has a balcony (with chair and table) which meant we had an even better, bigger view and a lot of fresh air when the doors were opened. The room is small, but we managed. There is a decent closet area when you first enter the room, so that gives a little more space for clothes and bags. The bathroom was much better than I anticipated -- fully updated with a big, new pedestal sink -- in good condition (even if the shower stall is quite small). Plenty of hot water and plenty of water pressure too. We slept well, although with windows open, you do hear any guests coming back late at night (our room was above the front door), but you don't hear noise between rooms (although you do hear people in the hallway).

We spent the daytime bicycling the gorgeous hilly slopes of Beaujolais and were very happy to spend some late afternoons with the balcony doors open, sitting on chairs, watching the French Open tennis finals. (One note -- having at least one TV channel in English would be a plus, although I think we were the only native English speaking guests that weekend.) The only other funny thing about the TV is that it would not go above a certain volume, no doubt to reduce noise between rooms, but I'm not sure how you would hear the dialogue in a drama show. There is a patio in front of the hotel that some other guests used to while away the later afternoons.

The breakfast room is quite spacious and the buffet is very good -- plenty of cereals, cheese, meat, yogurt and fruits to accompany the basket of fresh breads and croissants. Service was good and things were replenished quickly.

The owners are very friendly (he and my husband shared a passion for motorcycles) and helpful, chatting with everyone and smiling with my poor attempts to communicate in French. They helped with maps, happily got us Diet Cokes when we came back from a bike ride, and in a most charming touch, offered us a plastic bag when we left so we could pick and take away cherries from the big tree in front of the hotel.

The Beaujolais area is very beautiful and not crowded; well worth some time. I'd love to find a somewhat more deluxe boutique hotel, but until then, the Hotel des Vignes is not a bad choice and it represents very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank efpatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ceret, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I stayed here with friends on a wine tasting and buying tour. The welcome was very warm and prompt and the proprietors and staff very pleasant and helpful. There is no restaurant but a good breakfast is served in the dining room. I did not find the lack of a restaurant inconvenient as there are many in Julienas and the surrounding villages. The proprietors have some excellent recommendations from village bistros to haute cuisine and will book a table for you. We found them to be invariably very good indeed. I had a studio room that has a small kitchenette and an outside terrace. Very agreeable for a self-catered light lunch in the sunshine after a morning's degustation!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Key Largo
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2010

What a delight this hotel(inn style) was. Beautiful gardens, friendly family staff, lovely view of the surround vineyards , clean tasteful rooms, and good fresh air. We stopped here after a flight from Paris on our way to Lyon. I love this region and this was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Agoldst228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
exeter, england
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2008

This an excellent country hotel about 400 metres from Julienas on the road to St Amour. It has a small but well maintained swimming pool, a breakfast room but no restaurant. There is an excellent restaurant in the middle of the village called Le Coq at Julienas.
It is easy to hire bikes or simply walk through the countryside and vinyards. Each domaine will be delighted to let you taste the wine and it is very diffiult not to enjoy yourself.

  • Liked — its situation surrounded by vines
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bobmoodydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Julienas
1.7 mi away
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
Le Moulin de Saint Verand
#1 of 1 in Saint-Verand
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.4 mi away
HOTEL-RESTAURANT LA ROSE
1.6 mi away
Auberge du Paradis
Auberge du Paradis
#1 of 1 in Saint-Amour-Bellevue
5.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Les Maritonnes
Les Maritonnes
#1 of 1 in Romaneche-Thorins
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.2 mi away
Chateau de la Barge
Chateau de la Barge
#2 of 3 in Charnay-les-Macon
3.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Des Grands Vins
Hotel Des Grands Vins
#1 of 1 in Fleurie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel des Vignes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Vignes

Property: Hotel des Vignes
Address: les Capitans, 69840 Julienas, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Rhone > Julienas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Julienas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Vignes 2*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Vignes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing