We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Les Allues Village”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Chalet St. Joseph, Alpine Ethos
Ranked #1 of 14 Les Allues B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming Les Allues Village”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just back from a fantastic week skiing in Meribel, staying in Chalet St Joseph in charming Les Allues run by Heather and Andy. It was so refreshing staying in an independently run chalet, run by great hosts who really care about your stay. We were a mixed group of 4 so had the larger apartment, which was fantastic to give us our own space whilst coming together to eat with everyone in the main chalet - this gave us the best of both worlds. The chalet is kept spotless and the cooking is far superior to all other chalets I've stayed in with large package tour operators. Plus you get real local knowledge from Heather and Andy. Although Les Allues is a little way down the valley from central Meribel, it is a really pretty old French village that is lovely and quiet. Good for receding to after the lively Meribel apres!!!!

Room Tip: If you are 4, the larger apartment with the mezanine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Londoner-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
27
8
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Alpine Ethos lived up to expectation.
We were six 50+ year olds, five new to skiing!! Heather, Andy and Heather advised us and looked after us really well.
Everything went smoothly from the initial booking, ski hire, airport transfers, ski pass purchases etc etc - all organised by the hosts. The chalet itself was warm, great dining room and cosy bedrooms. All clean etc.
The food and wine was plentiful and tasty. Good range of dishes.
We were transported to and from the slopes as promised since the chalet is clearly a distance from the centre of Meribel. No problems. The village itself had a friendly pub, supermarket and good restaurant. All good.We even saw the torchlight descent finish there - a great sight.
It is a bit of a distance from the bus stop/gondola in ski boots and carrying skiis so the hosts organised a taxi on our request on their day off - that however was quite expensive - but worth it!
All in all, I would highly recommend the chalet to people of all ages - great hosts.
if we ski again, We would be more than happy to return.
Thanks again to the chalet team!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahW7768PS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembrokeshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I can only echo everyone else's comments: Andy, Heather and Hannah were great hosts and everything from transfers, arranging ski passes and gear hire was arranged without a hitch. One of my concerns before visiting was the distance to the slopes however the chalet is close to the free bus stop and gondola (Gondola was a bit of a walk back but the bus was fine) but by far the easiest way was to be dropped off and picked up by Andy or Heather. It was even possible to ski back! There is also a shop, savoyard restaurant and bar within 5mins walk (ideal for the night off). In short I would highly recommend staying here and would book again in a flash!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ee-n-al
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2014

Just home from a week at Chalet St Joseph. The fantastic ski conditions of the past week were matched by the warm welcome, helpfulness and great food supplied by Heather, Andy and Hannah. Thanks so much for making our much looked-forward-to ski trip the great holiday it was!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Just back from a week of being superbly looked after by Heather, Andy and Hannah in their lovely chalet in Les Allues.

They couldn't have been more accommodating and welcoming with our group of 13, and looked after us - and our individual dietary requirements - brilliantly.

They're very happy to share their knowledge of the area and pistes, and there love for food was evident in every meal. Every night was different and surpassed the night before! I second the vote for a Chalet St Joseph cookbook!

I hadn't experienced quite this level of service at a ski chalet before - organising our ski hire (dropped off and picked up, no less!), lift passes and ensuring we were always on time for first lifts.

Would highly recommend and wouldn't hesitate in returning.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJAustin78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chalon-sur-Saone, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2014

Andy, Heather and Hannah were brilliant hosts for the week and we couldn't have asked for a better stay. From the first email to leaving day, every response was quick and they helped us out with everything we needed. It was brilliant to turn up on Saturday morning with the hire kit waiting for us, our lift passes ready and the kettle on.

The food for the week was lovely; proper filing home cooked food and the cakes in the afternoon were always excellent when we weren't too full to eat them. Steer clear of lunchtime fondue overdose to make sure you can properly enjoy the food at the chalet!

Lifts up and down the mountain got us to the pistes for first lift every day and were flexible if we finished a bit earlier or wanted to stay up in Meribel for a few beers after. The jacuzzi is great, lovely and warm and a good size. Rooms are simple but clean, comfortable and warm. We ended up with the whole main floor for our party of 4 which was brilliant.

All in all, excellent value and a perfect week away. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were a party of 2 adults and 5 grown up kids plus 2 little dogs, we had a fantastic xmas and new year fornight with heather andy and hannah, they couldnt do enough for us with everything from helping us book vets appointments for the dogs passports to advising the kids on the best entertainment spots , best watering holes and places to eat there knowledge was imense! The food was fantastic with a few fussy easters in the party no one was dissapointed xmas dinner was devine we enjoyed every meal we ate we think alpine ethos should bring out their own cookery book... id buy one!! The apartments we stayed in were very clean and spacious for a large family , we loved les allures a pretty little town with a great bar and a few nice restaurants , meribel was brilliant to we enjoyed the skiing and the free new years eve party was a big hit with the whole family with buses laid on to take you home again at no cost it was very well organised and the fireworks at midnight were amazing. I would definatly stay at alpine ethos again it was great value for money and excellent service with a smile a big thumbs up from us !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bevfogg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Les Allues
4.3 mi away
Hotel Le Mottaret
Hotel Le Mottaret
#1 of 33 in Meribel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel L'Helios
Hotel L'Helios
#7 of 33 in Meribel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Le Verseau
Hotel Le Verseau
#8 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Les Ravines
1.5 mi away
Hotel Le Centre
Hotel Le Centre
#16 of 18 in Brides-les-Bains
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.3 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Premium Residence Les Fermes de Meribel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet St. Joseph, Alpine Ethos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet St. Joseph, Alpine Ethos

Property: Chalet St. Joseph, Alpine Ethos
Address: route Saint Joseph, 73550, Les Allues, France
Region: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Les Allues
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Les Allues
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chalet St Joseph is situated in Les Allues, a picturesque village in the Meribel Valley and offers flexible catered and self-catered accommodation for couples, families or large groups of up to 18 people. With its spacious rooms and self-contained suites, balconies with fantastic views and a large hot tub and sauna, this property is a true gem in a great location that offers you the chance to tailor your holiday to your exact requirements. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing